54 Reviews

I live with the biggest Chic-Fil-A fanatic in the world, and said one would be hard pressed to tell the difference between this recipe and the real thing. I did a couple of things differently though. I had heard that the trick to their flavor is that the chicken is marinated in pickle juice.
First I flattened out the chicken breasts, and then added them to a zip lock bag with dill pickle juice. Doesn't take all that much. I originally planned to marinate them for several hours; however, once my roommates learned that I had this recipe, they wouldn't leave me alone until I made them. Soooo total marinate time - 15 minutes.
Turns out 15 mins is perfect. I think any longer would have been too much.
I also added Paprika to the dry ingredients for color.
Now, the one thing I would change for next time is to just add a dash or two of salt. It was a little too salty even at 1 T. The nice suprise was that the powdered sugar didn't over power the flavor. This is a winning recipe Maibelle, & I can't tell you how much we appreciate your share. I'll be making this one often.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugaJ September 06, 2010

As close as you can get without a pressure cooker! I too marinated the chicken in pickle juice-30 minutes in my case. I dredged in the flour/sugar mixture, dipped in the egg mixture, then the flour mixture again. I did not get that soft/soggy condition another reviewer mentioned. Another tip-I pounded the breasts first which really helped in cooking time and texture. Lovely golden brown chicken packed with flavor. Thank you for posting! Di ;-)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's June 21, 2010

I made this last night and did the pickle marinade for 15 min like one of the other reviewers. My husband took a bite without knowing how I made it and said, "this is just like chick fil a"! The pickle juice is the way to go!!! I marinated it in the juice, dredged it in the flour, dipped in milk/egg and back in the flour.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Z November 26, 2009

Dead on!!! Now we can all have Chik-fil-A on Sundays :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fantastical Sharing June 03, 2011

I rarely prepare deep fried foods, 2-3x a year, this was totally worth it!!! I pounded the chicken breasts and marinated them prior in pickle juice like others mentioned. Fantastic sweet/sour flavor. I am actually craving them a day afterwards..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat August 08, 2011

Really good chicken. I also let the chicken marinate in pickle juice for a little while before making the chicken. Everyone could tell it tasted a little different, but loved the taste! I also double dipped the batter. Will use this recipe again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farmwife10 December 11, 2010

Wonderful and easy recipe! Had all ingredients on hand. Tastes EXACTLY like Chick Fil A. I also added 1/4 C of pickle juice to the egg and milk and marinated about 15 mins. per the other reviews. Mine didn't come out as pretty looking as the picutres, but they tasted AMAZING! Thank you so much :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymom3 August 19, 2010

This chicken is fantastic!!! I absolutely love chick-fil-a and I have tried everything under the sun to replicate their recipe...although this isn't exactly like chick-fil-a, it is way closer than anything else I've tasted. I also marinated the chicken breasts in pickle juice and I agree that it gives it a more authentic taste. I only marinated mine for 15 minutes (just like another reviewer said--once everyone in the house got word of a chick-fil-a style sandwich, I was rushed to make them!!!). I looked this recipe up about 8 days ago, and since then, I've made it twice! Thank you for this recipe! It is definitely a keeper!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lebanese Niso December 21, 2009

Wow. This is definitely some of the best fried chicken I have ever made. I think it is a little on the salty side and maybe could use some more pepper, but the texture is awesome, not stringy and dry like most recipes. I will definitely be using this recipe for any chicken I fry from here on out with a few possible modifications depending on the situation (i.e. making Chinese chicken fingers). Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire May 26, 2009

I have to say that I am so happy with this recipe! We have the "real thing" when we drive to FL since there isn't one near us. My DH has diabetes type 2 so I only made this for my sons and I had a piece to check it out and he had a bite! I used a 1/4 cup of dill pickle juice in the egg/milk mixture and let the chicken fillets marinate in it for about 20 minutes. I only used 1 tsp. of salt in the flour and it was perfect. I had a package of 8 thinly sliced chicken breasts. We had them on their own, not in a sandwich. I had more than enough of the mixtures to dip and coat more chicken. My son wants me to try peanut oil next time because he heard the restaurants use it. I don't have a pressure cooker so this was just great. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oolala January 21, 2009
Kinda Like Chick-Fil-A Sandwiches