Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kinda Like Chick-Fil-A Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kinda Like Chick-Fil-A Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2010

      I live with the biggest Chic-Fil-A fanatic in the world, and said one would be hard pressed to tell the difference between this recipe and the real thing. I did a couple of things differently though. I had heard that the trick to their flavor is that the chicken is marinated in pickle juice.
      First I flattened out the chicken breasts, and then added them to a zip lock bag with dill pickle juice. Doesn't take all that much. I originally planned to marinate them for several hours; however, once my roommates learned that I had this recipe, they wouldn't leave me alone until I made them. Soooo total marinate time - 15 minutes.
      Turns out 15 mins is perfect. I think any longer would have been too much.
      I also added Paprika to the dry ingredients for color.
      Now, the one thing I would change for next time is to just add a dash or two of salt. It was a little too salty even at 1 T. The nice suprise was that the powdered sugar didn't over power the flavor. This is a winning recipe Maibelle, & I can't tell you how much we appreciate your share. I'll be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      As close as you can get without a pressure cooker! I too marinated the chicken in pickle juice-30 minutes in my case. I dredged in the flour/sugar mixture, dipped in the egg mixture, then the flour mixture again. I did not get that soft/soggy condition another reviewer mentioned. Another tip-I pounded the breasts first which really helped in cooking time and texture. Lovely golden brown chicken packed with flavor. Thank you for posting! Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I made this last night and did the pickle marinade for 15 min like one of the other reviewers. My husband took a bite without knowing how I made it and said, "this is just like chick fil a"! The pickle juice is the way to go!!! I marinated it in the juice, dredged it in the flour, dipped in milk/egg and back in the flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Dead on!!! Now we can all have Chik-fil-A on Sundays :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      I rarely prepare deep fried foods, 2-3x a year, this was totally worth it!!! I pounded the chicken breasts and marinated them prior in pickle juice like others mentioned. Fantastic sweet/sour flavor. I am actually craving them a day afterwards..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Really good chicken. I also let the chicken marinate in pickle juice for a little while before making the chicken. Everyone could tell it tasted a little different, but loved the taste! I also double dipped the batter. Will use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Wonderful and easy recipe! Had all ingredients on hand. Tastes EXACTLY like Chick Fil A. I also added 1/4 C of pickle juice to the egg and milk and marinated about 15 mins. per the other reviews. Mine didn't come out as pretty looking as the picutres, but they tasted AMAZING! Thank you so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This chicken is fantastic!!! I absolutely love chick-fil-a and I have tried everything under the sun to replicate their recipe...although this isn't exactly like chick-fil-a, it is way closer than anything else I've tasted. I also marinated the chicken breasts in pickle juice and I agree that it gives it a more authentic taste. I only marinated mine for 15 minutes (just like another reviewer said--once everyone in the house got word of a chick-fil-a style sandwich, I was rushed to make them!!!). I looked this recipe up about 8 days ago, and since then, I've made it twice! Thank you for this recipe! It is definitely a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Wow. This is definitely some of the best fried chicken I have ever made. I think it is a little on the salty side and maybe could use some more pepper, but the texture is awesome, not stringy and dry like most recipes. I will definitely be using this recipe for any chicken I fry from here on out with a few possible modifications depending on the situation (i.e. making Chinese chicken fingers). Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I have to say that I am so happy with this recipe! We have the "real thing" when we drive to FL since there isn't one near us. My DH has diabetes type 2 so I only made this for my sons and I had a piece to check it out and he had a bite! I used a 1/4 cup of dill pickle juice in the egg/milk mixture and let the chicken fillets marinate in it for about 20 minutes. I only used 1 tsp. of salt in the flour and it was perfect. I had a package of 8 thinly sliced chicken breasts. We had them on their own, not in a sandwich. I had more than enough of the mixtures to dip and coat more chicken. My son wants me to try peanut oil next time because he heard the restaurants use it. I don't have a pressure cooker so this was just great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I have been searching the web for a decent CHICK FIL A Chicken sandwich copy cat and THIS IS IT! I absolutely LOVE THIS RECIPE. I followed everything exactly EXCEPT instead of 1tablespoon salt, I only used 1.5 TEASPOON. My chicken still came out a bit salty!! So, I think next time I will only use 1 tsp salt. Other than that, what a perfect imitation. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      My family and I love Chick Fil A, however with the downturn on the economy our trips have been cut back so I thought I would see if I could make it at home! I tried it with the dill pickle marinade like another reviewer suggest and WOW my family says I cook it BETTER than chick fil A...I have to agree...in a blind taste test I would be hard pressed to be able to tell this apart from an actual chick fil a sandwich! Thanks for posting...My family and I are in yoru debt! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I made chicken nuggets instead of the sandwich. We loved them so much!! Can't wait to make again, thanks!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Wow this is a great recipe! I marinated the chicken in pickle juice for 20 minutes like some had suggested and I used seasoned salt. I was a little scared of the powered sugar, but it balanced the pickle juice out quite well. My family is already asking for this again! I will be making this over and over again maybe as sliders next time...yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      This is a really good recipe for making chicken sandwiches. It didn't taste 100% like an authentic Chic-fil-a sandwich, but it was fairly close. The meat wasn't quite as moist and juicy as the real thing, but that is due to being pan fried instead of being cooked in a pressure cooker. I also marinated the raw chicken in dill pickle juice. It was a wise decision to alter your original recipe to reduce the amount of salt. It was still plenty salty with the 1 tablespoon. I will definitely be using this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      These were very close to Chick fil A. We really liked them, I too marinated 6 breasts in pickle juice for 15 minutes. I also used only 2 tsp of kosher salt in the flour mix and it was almost too much then too. Next time I will reduce salt. Great recipe!!! I fried in peanut oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Great recipe!! The chicken breast halves do great when, after halving, place between two sheets of wax paper, drizzle on some dill pickle juice, then flatten them in a tortilla press! Sort of forces in the pickle juice and hammers them down a bit at the same time. We live about 3 states away from the closest Chick-fil-A so we're thrilled with this great substitute!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      YUMMY! I'm a huge Chik-fil-a fan but the closest one is a good 30 mile drive...this was easy, delicious, I had everything on hand--and it was sooooo delicious. The only thing I didn't have was powdered sugar so I subbed white sugar and it was still perfect. I will be breading all of my chicken stuff in this recipe from now on! THanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I only made half a recipe but the flavor was delicious. I did marinate in dill pickle juice for about 15 min and it added great flavor. I served it with Honey Mustard and fried mashed potato patties. Great combination.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I live in Hawaii now and there are no Chick-fil-a restaurants here so I tried my luck here and am I glad I did!!! This isn't exactly the same but it sure is close enough. As others mentioned I only used about 1 tablespoon of salt and that was fine. I can't imagine using anymore. I cooked mine for 8 minutes in a home style deep fryer and also made nuggets (4 min) and they were astounding. Thanks for the great recipe babygirl65!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kinda Like Chick-Fil-A Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1760.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1565
    88%
    Total Fat 173.9 g
    267%
    Saturated Fat 24.9 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 101.4 mg
    33%
    Sodium 1838.2 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 21.9 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites