Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2005

      Fantastic Recipe - served for Christmas dinner and was awesome. I loved the fact that it's sized for a smaller quantity but can be increased easily. I used 2 sweet potatoes and roasted in the oven till soft. I reduced the butter to 2 T and the sugar to 2 T for personal preference. It even tastes good cold for leftovers - like sweet potatoe pie but without the work of a crust! Thanks for a keeper recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I did this without the topping using the fresh baked sweet potatoes. Yams are found mainly in Africa, are large with dark brown skin and white flesh. Yams are rarely to never found in the "west." They are all sweet potatoes, merely different varieties. Someone along the way decided to call some of them yams. Just an FYI. This was lovely and I had it for my dinner with veggies. I also cut the sugar to 2 tbsp. as baking them 1st pulled out all of the natural sugars. YUMMY! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Excellent recipe! The sweet potatoes were light and fluffy and just plain perfect. I did omit the topping as DD won't eat nuts... but did top w/ marshmellows. DGD's eyes got as round as saucers when she saw those... and enjoyed the dish as well. I definitely will be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      This was the best sweet potato casserole. Not sticky sweet, but we loved the streusel topping and marshmallows together. I used fresh yams that I baked in the oven and mashed. I think that made a big difference in the flavor, I would not use canned yams.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2005

      Great recipe! Easy to make and everyone just loved it. Will use again often. Thanks so much from some happy stomachs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2004

      This was a great dish, I will definately make it again next year. My husband is quite the food critic and he loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      My husband and kids loves your recipe and my mom does to. The only thing I did different is I forgot the marshmallows so I used marshmallow creme. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2014

      I made this for Thanksgiving. It was a HUGE HIT with young and old alike. They are insisting I make for Christmas too.<br/>TIME SAVER TIP: Poke holes in and microwave the sweet potatoes until they are very mushy (about 8-12 minutes), then use them in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      Thought we'd try a different recipe for sweet potato casserole this year. This was great! Not sure it was better, but a little bit different. I liked the addition of marshmallows on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      I was asked to bring a yam dish to friend's Thanksgiving dinner yesterday. I had never cooked yams because I didnt like them. So my research the day before led me to the conclusion that Kims Sweet Potato Casserole might be a good choice. It was really perfect. I cooked yellow sweet potatoes in the microwave and then let them cool before mashing. I used brown sugar instead of white. I probably used more butter than recipe called for and only half the eggs. I topped it with the streusel topping using pecans and walnuts. It was a huge hit with everyone even those who said they didnt like yams. I will use it again everytime I need to bring a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2014

      I can't believe I've never reviewed this - it is the highlight of Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner each year. I've made this every year for the last 10 and people still request it. It is sweet and has a great crunch on top. I've never brought any home after a holiday meal and I do not change a thing (except always making a double batch). Thank you for the recipe and holiday tradition in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2013

      This recipe is phenomenal! My husband is not a fan of "mashed" sweet potatoes unless they are in a pie but not only did he say they were very good he had TWO helpings and the 2nd helping was BIGGER than the 1st!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      I'm thinking

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

    • on September 26, 2013

      Oooooh, Idk, but this did not taste good at all to me. Don't know, what I could have possibly done wrong, but....scraped off the topping and it went straight to the dogs :( Will not make this<br/>version of sweet potato casserole again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      This is the best sweet potatoe casserole recipe ever!! I have made it a few times now and everyone says that it is the best they have had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Very good recipe! I made this for Christmas dinner and was a great hit! I didn't add the marshmallows but the topping was perfect without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      I registered to leave a review, that is how good this recipe is! It was my first time making Sweet Potato Casserole, nervous, it was for my boyfriends family. It was delicious. Now I will be making it every holiday! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I did however use more nuts and butter it asked for in the topping ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      I made this for Thanksgiving for the first time and it was YUMMY!!! I really just eyeballed it with the sweet potatoes...it was probably 6 boiled ones. I doubled the other ingredients and only used pecans (w/the marshmallows on top) and it filled an 11x9 pan nicely. Everyone got seconds and thirds on this one! I will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      This is great! Not too sweet. I love the topping. The kids were fighting over the last bit. That's always a good sign.
      Update~I lost this recipe, looked for a new recipe and ended up making this one...again!! I went to post my review and discovered I'd done one already, 2 years ago!! My review still stands, but I now know that quadrupling the recipe makes A LOT!! Doubling in a 9x13 makes plenty!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1755.7
     
    Calories from Fat 844
    48%
    Total Fat 93.8 g
    144%
    Saturated Fat 36.5 g
    182%
    Cholesterol 325.9 mg
    108%
    Sodium 2328.3 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 216.4 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 17.4 g
    69%
    Sugars 134.0 g
    536%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes