104 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was never a big fan of sweet potatoes, but this recipe fixed that - it's phenomenal! I used all pecans instead of mixing the nuts and I used a little more butter in the topping than the recipe, but it was awesome. I made 2 batches, 1 for my Thanksgiving 2010 and one for a family friend who doesn't cook much to take to his - and both were huge hits! It's easy and tastes WONDERFUL! I posted a pic of the finished casserole.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy January 16, 2011

Excellent recipe! I cut the yams (4 -5 big potatoes) into cubes and boiled it first. Then I added all the ingredients. Instead of milk, I used condensed sweet milk and 1/4 cup of sugar, and pecans only for topping.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacers626 November 29, 2009

I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday based on the high rating without doing a trial run first. It was a great choice! I made it almost exactly following the directions (I had 4 cups of mashed yams instead of 3 cups of sweet potatoes). It still came out perfectly and my step-father wouldn't let my mom leave without the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. A couple people thought it was too sweet - I didn't find that at all, but I did use more potatoes than the recipe called for, so I suppose that could be the difference. I also had to cook it quite a bit longer than the recipe called for. I think the next time I make it I will cook it covered for about 1/2 the time and see if it cooks a bit faster that way. Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden's Mom November 26, 2010

AMAZING sweet potato casserole! I made it with the marshmallows and everyone was so delightfully surprised to see the pecans beneath! It was truly tasty treat that you could only indulge in once a year!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joshnjulizmommy November 30, 2010

EVERYONE is asking me for a copy of this recipe! The crunchy nut crust and the "not-too-sweet" taste makes them declare it the best they have ever had. One person who asked for the recipe said that when her mother-in-law asked her to bring anything she liked, she thought of this casserole and started drooling. Pavlov's bell had nothing this wonderful dish. Thank you Kim and Malriah!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMDG December 26, 2009

Very Good! Was a hit with even the sweet potato haters!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlocey December 25, 2009

I made this for extended family last Thanksgiving - at Christmas they invited it back (my presence was optional). I made it without the marshmallows. Even those who don't care for sweet potato loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caniac27 October 11, 2009

I made this dish but added a little dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. It was a hit at my in-laws Thanksgiving dinner!! Thank you so much. This is one recipe I will definitely make year after year. Deliciously, delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lyndabrooks04 November 28, 2008

Awesome!! I just made this recipe yesterday, tripled it and added 3 tsps. cinnamon, also I used light brown sugar in the casserole instead of regular sugar. It was the most popular dish of everything served (and we had a feast) at our family dinner. Most of the family don't like sweet potatoes but loved this. I WILL make this again for sure.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RN Cook January 04, 2008

I've been trying a variety of sweet potato casseroles and this is our absolute favorite! The only changes I made was I used all walnuts since I was out of pecans and I didn't use the optional marshmallows. I used half-and-half in place of the cream and a large can of sweet potatoes. I love how the resulting casserole was not overly sweet and yet extremely flavorful. It baked up beautifully. It had a lovely texture and wasn't runny at all. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) March 10, 2007
Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole