Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      Excellent recipe! I cut the yams (4 -5 big potatoes) into cubes and boiled it first. Then I added all the ingredients. Instead of milk, I used condensed sweet milk and 1/4 cup of sugar, and pecans only for topping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      I was never a big fan of sweet potatoes, but this recipe fixed that - it's phenomenal! I used all pecans instead of mixing the nuts and I used a little more butter in the topping than the recipe, but it was awesome. I made 2 batches, 1 for my Thanksgiving 2010 and one for a family friend who doesn't cook much to take to his - and both were huge hits! It's easy and tastes WONDERFUL! I posted a pic of the finished casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday based on the high rating without doing a trial run first. It was a great choice! I made it almost exactly following the directions (I had 4 cups of mashed yams instead of 3 cups of sweet potatoes). It still came out perfectly and my step-father wouldn't let my mom leave without the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing. A couple people thought it was too sweet - I didn't find that at all, but I did use more potatoes than the recipe called for, so I suppose that could be the difference. I also had to cook it quite a bit longer than the recipe called for. I think the next time I make it I will cook it covered for about 1/2 the time and see if it cooks a bit faster that way. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      AMAZING sweet potato casserole! I made it with the marshmallows and everyone was so delightfully surprised to see the pecans beneath! It was truly tasty treat that you could only indulge in once a year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      EVERYONE is asking me for a copy of this recipe! The crunchy nut crust and the "not-too-sweet" taste makes them declare it the best they have ever had. One person who asked for the recipe said that when her mother-in-law asked her to bring anything she liked, she thought of this casserole and started drooling. Pavlov's bell had nothing this wonderful dish. Thank you Kim and Malriah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      Very Good! Was a hit with even the sweet potato haters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I made this for extended family last Thanksgiving - at Christmas they invited it back (my presence was optional). I made it without the marshmallows. Even those who don't care for sweet potato loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I made this dish but added a little dash of cinnamon and nutmeg. It was a hit at my in-laws Thanksgiving dinner!! Thank you so much. This is one recipe I will definitely make year after year. Deliciously, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Awesome!! I just made this recipe yesterday, tripled it and added 3 tsps. cinnamon, also I used light brown sugar in the casserole instead of regular sugar. It was the most popular dish of everything served (and we had a feast) at our family dinner. Most of the family don't like sweet potatoes but loved this. I WILL make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      I've been trying a variety of sweet potato casseroles and this is our absolute favorite! The only changes I made was I used all walnuts since I was out of pecans and I didn't use the optional marshmallows. I used half-and-half in place of the cream and a large can of sweet potatoes. I love how the resulting casserole was not overly sweet and yet extremely flavorful. It baked up beautifully. It had a lovely texture and wasn't runny at all. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      This is so creamy and delicious and the topping was so good I could eat it alone! I made a double batch of this for my company's Thanksgiving lunch and it was completely gone and I got lots of compliments! Perfect for anyone's Thanksgiving dinner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

      This is a great sweet potato recipe! Very similar to one my mom has made for years. I did leave off the marshmallows, and only used pecans in my pre-Thanksgiving trial run, and it was REALLY good! Will definitely be making this for Thanksgiving this year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      I love sweet potatoes, yams or whatever you want to call them, I have a staple recipe that I use to make them, but decided to give this one a try. Turned out very well, the topping was ok to me, kind of made me feel like I was eating a dessert more than a side dish (Not that it is a bad thing). However the sweet potato mixture with all that butter was delicous...next tume I think I will just try adding the marshmellows on top and see how that turns out. Overall, very good recipe...thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      this was tasty, and not too sugary-sweet like some other recipes i've tried--even with the marshmallows on top (i just used a light sprinkling).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Very good, but would decrease sugar next time. But it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      WOW! This is so good! Thanks for posting

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Yummy!! The topping is what makes this so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Great recipe! I substituted the sugar and the flour with light brown sugar and wheat flour and it tasted very good. But the casserole tasted even better the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Excellent dish! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone raved. I couldn't decide whether to make a dish with pecans or marshmallows and this one has both so everyone was pleased!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This recipe was the highlight of my Thanksgiving dinner. I didn't even need dessert. It was easy to assemble with a big payoff. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kim's Sweet Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1755.7
     
    Calories from Fat 844
    48%
    Total Fat 93.8 g
    144%
    Saturated Fat 36.5 g
    182%
    Cholesterol 325.9 mg
    108%
    Sodium 2328.3 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 216.4 g
    72%
    Dietary Fiber 17.4 g
    69%
    Sugars 134.0 g
    536%
    Protein 23.2 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites