Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kimchi or Kimchee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kimchi or Kimchee

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2013

      seems pretty yummy! have wait a few months and see how it tastes then. didn't have the shrimp sauce. halved recipe and used the rice flour, siracha chile garlic sauce, maybe 2-4TBSP red pepper flakes, and a dab of ginger paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      I replaced the shrimp sauce with more shrimp sauce. Added more radish to my second batch. My exchange student from South Korea said it was better than her mom's! I make this on a regular basis. The longer it sits the better. I let mine ferment for at least 5 months before eating. Love adding it to soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Tasty, Good recipe I used old clay pots and let this recipe ferment

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Great base recipe. I also cut the recipe in half. I didn't use the shrimp sauce and was a bit short of garlic. I also salted the cabbage directly for about 15 minutes, after doing the saltwater soak bc I like mine a little more wilted. It really is a very easy thing to make just takes a bit of time. I have gotten compliments from MIL and DH which is saying a lot! The only thing I will do next time is maybe add a bit of ginger to it. Will be putting this in my recipes for safe keeping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is great! I make a smaller batch, cause this is too much kimchi for me to use in a short period of time. I didnt add radishes but also tossed in a bit of sesame oil to add a little depth in flavor. So great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Thank you for posting this recipe! I see what you mean about never making it the same way twice, but it's a great foundation. I really like the addition of the pul.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This recipe is easy n taste good but i replaced the shrimp sauce with fish sauce as i can't get it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      I made this the other day. Lots of work but worth it. I cut the recipe in half with two heads of napa cabbage. I followed the recipe almost. The result was great. I think next time I will cut the red pepper flakes in half and add some Korean hot sauce to give it more of a red color. I posted a picture so you can see not to much red in the sauce but it tastes just as good as in any Korean Restaurant. Thanks for sharing upsidedown again. Rick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kimchi or Kimchee

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 50

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.5
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    43%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7253.1 mg
    302%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    napa cabbage

    korean radishes

    shrimp sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites