Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kimchi Jjigae (Korean Kimchi Soup) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kimchi Jjigae (Korean Kimchi Soup)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      Good recipe. I used a lesser amount of kimchee (homemade, extremely spicy, and very sour at three months old) made from Chinese cabbage, Korean coarse sea salt, daikon, Korean coarse dry red chili flakes, ginger root, fish sauce, scallions and lots of garlic). Instead of pork, I made a broth using about a tablespoon of dry, granular, Korean fish base which is similar to Japanese bonito flakes except much more concentrated. I slowly stewed the kimchee in this broth using twice the amount of garlic called for in the recipe and a small amount of sesame oil, a teaspoon or so of Thai fish sauce, and some shallot when the kimchi was stewed enough. I put two handfuls of Korean rice cakes (a refrigerated rice product cut into coin-shapes available at Korean foodstores) into the rather thin broth and cooked according to package directions. Extremely hot (due to my extra spicy kimchi), sour, wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      I loved this soup! I am Korean, too, so wanted to try another recipe, as we all have different twists on our own home dishes. This one was so good and I am so glad to see that Emily is sharing her recipes for us all! Korean's DON"T use recipes and that can be really hard for us who want to learn how to make excellent, authentic Korean food! Thank you, Emily, and PLEASE keep making recipes! My mother died before I learned all her recipes, so I'll take any help I can get!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Hi Emily, this soup is to die for and it is a perfect as is. Wow! my family loves it too. Oh, I have seen this soup mentioned so many times on Korean Dramas and it looked good so I am glad I found the recipe here to try it. It is a keeper. By the way, I want to try your Japanese cheesecake recipe but the ingredients are in oz. Do you happen to have them in U.S measurements like in cups and spoons ? Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      Really loved this! The only change I made was to use an entire bunch of green onions. Next time I will use more kimchee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      I can eat this everyday!! Its sooooo good. I cant find a recipe like this anywhere. Its perfect. Thank you soooooo much for sharing this recipe! I also add a a few tablespoons of Korean Dashida (beef flavoring powder)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      This is ono (delicious)! I made enough for 8, used ground pork, chicken stock (instead of water), added cubes of eggplant, zuchinni, squash. Here in Hawaii, we eat lots of kimchee and tofu, so i added extra in the soup. I also added some bean thread noodles for my kids. These noodles fatten up in the soup, so cook them separately and add them to your bowl instead of the pot. This is my go-to soup at our local Korean restaurants when Im not feeling well, now I can make it at home. Thank you Emily!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      I just now made an account just to give this amazing recipe another 5 stars. *kisses fingers* mmwah! I went back for fourths.

      Tip for those interested in making it: freeze your tofu beforehand then thaw it. It will make the tofu even firmer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This soup is flipping good! It is now my favorite soup. I have made it twice this week. I was a little scared of how hot it was going to be but was pleasantly surprised! Just the right amount of heat. I am vegan but my husband is not ...so I prepared everything vegan and then cooked my husband some shrimp in the sake and added them to his bowl at the end. This was perfect! Fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Excellent!! I loved this soup and will definitely make it all the time now that I am making kimchi at home. I think I ended up tripling or quadrupling (!!) the recipe because I was serving a few people and I wanted leftovers. The only thing I did differently was using half of the red chili flakes and no paste because I didn't have it on hand. I didn't know how hot would be too hot for some people so I thought it would be best to let them make it spicier if they wanted to. It turned out sooo good!! I definitely recommend this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is SO This recipe can be easily adjusted to fit your taste. For instance, next time I will ditch the mushrooms, double the tofu and ditch the meat. We try to eat vegetarian but I was afraid the soup would lack in flavor without meat - I don't think that's the case! Careful with the seasoning - you can always add more to your bowl if you like it spicier than the rest of your family. This was super easy and I will make it often. I used bottled kimchi but next time I think I'll try making my own. Very inexpensive recipe that I feel could easily be frozen. I agree that serving this with a side of rice was the perfect way to cool down. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      I LOVE the tuna version of this(I am currently living in Korea and you are totally right about the Kimchi needing to be older)! It is amazing that i found the recipe. I recently made it with a korean friend but couldn't remember how much of everything to put in. Fantastic job! It truly is the best food I have had in a really long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This recipe went straight into my "box". Outstanding. Have rice on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      It was so quick and easy to make. So good too. I don't eat mushrooms or pork so I added thin strips of beef instead. Luckly I there is a Korean super market in town so I got everything I needed. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Excellent Dish. Adding vinegar to the Kim Chee added to the flavor. I added miso paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I took alot of creative license on this one, turned out brilliant, used some hot sauce instead of chilli paste/powder, skipped the rice wine, instead using a large portion of rice wine vinegar, since the kimchi had very little liquid. I also ignored all the portions and just went by taste, I loved it, but my flatmates who do quite alright with indian food apparently can't handle spicy liquids... :<

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Made this the vegetarian way ... THANK YOU! I have a new favorite soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This is fantastic! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kimchi Jjigae (Korean Kimchi Soup)

    Serving Size: 1 (444 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.6
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    41%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 791.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 17.7 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sour kimchee

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites