8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent potato soup! It is rich, thick and creamy and full of delicious flavor. I really enjoyed the bacon and sharp cheddar cheese in this soup. I will make this one again. It is now one of my favorite soups. I served "Parmesan-Basil Biscuits" with this. Made for the Photo Forum's Belly Warmers: Soup and Stews January 2009 Event.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 January 12, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing this terrific soup recipe Jill. We loved it. The soup was thick like a chowder and chocked full of beautiful flavors. It was quick and easy to make with excellent results. The flavor was just awesome and the textures were terrific. The soup was velvety and smooth. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 10, 2014

I was pretty concerned that I'd have to scrap the whole thing when it came to step 4. Rues and I have a rocky history and this experience was no different. It was separating and looked like tapioca pudding. With a call to my mother-in-law though, she helped me salvage everything and it ended up turning out great. It tastes delicious and I'm glad it all worked out. With just two of us, we will have leftovers for several days which will be nice for us to take as lunch to work or as dinner if I work late.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Attempting-to-Cook October 18, 2013

This is the second time I've made this,only this time I used ham stock that I made after a ham dinner. It came out delicious! Family loved it .I also used some of the leftover ham diced fine to make dumplings for the soup.Will definately be making this over and over. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LSchuell S. April 22, 2012

Finally have found the perfect potato soup...easy and delicious...I am making this for the third time and now and realized I haven't rated this one yet...it is awesome...thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fighting Irish #7 March 19, 2011

Made this for the church soup kitchen Sunday. It was gone in no time. I even got 3 request for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Triple BQ March 08, 2010

Fabulous soup and good for the budget too - the shredded cheese is the icing on the cake. The only change I made was to throw in 2 diced green peppers along with the celery as they needed to be used.I have enjoyed this for lunch and I know my DD's will love it for dinner - it really is a meal in a bowl - thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew March 16, 2009
Killer Potato Soup