64 Reviews

I never imagined that I would start a review of baked beans by saying that I ate so much of them I made myself sick, BUT these are so good I ate enough of them to make myself sick. The flavors blend together perfectly and is the perfect balance of sweet and hot. The only minor changes I made were to fry the bacon in a skillet and saute the onions in the bacon fat and then cut the bacon into 1 inch pieces and mixed it in with the other ingredients. Although this recipe is perfect as is, next time I'm going to add some red or green peppers. By next time I mean for my very next meal since I still have some beans in my pantry. FYI: I used Famous Dave's Original Recipe BBQ sauce.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RugratMommy July 01, 2011

Killer baked beans is the word! They tasted perfect!! The only thing I did different was to add a little bell pepper and saute my cut up bacon and onion for a little. Turned out Excellent!! Thanks Dave Rudolph....

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB July 25, 2003

I made these for my moms 50th bday party, we had about 60 people there so I made enough to serve 50. Everyone just loved them, this is now my favorite baked bean recipe. I do wish I would have tried the recipe first before making it for so many people because one batch feeds more than five. I didn't think about it until I opened 40 cans of baked beans and 5 crock pots later that a serving is almost one whole can of beans and that is before adding all the other ingredients! I would say that this recipe serves 8 people very easily. Now I am fully stocked with baked beans for the summer in my freezer, I know my husband won't complain he absolutely LOVED these. Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! July 02, 2010

are you kidding me 2310mg sodium per serving!!! that will give some people a stroke. if you are going thru all this to make them make them from scratch. that amount of sodium is not good for anyone not even a child.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msorokach June 29, 2010

These baked beans were AWESOME! I made them for a superbowl party to go with our wings & my family loved them. I almost doubled the recipe & I'm glad I didn't because it definitely makes more than 5 servings!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MooseMom88 March 25, 2011

Just like the title says Killer Baked Beans! Awesome flavor and easy to make.
Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
e5i50 October 11, 2010

This recipe was a big hit at a family gathering - everyone wants the recipe! Very smoky, rather sweet, a great bbq dish. I used 2-28 oz cans of pork & beans and 1/2 lb of bacon, which I cut into pieces and mixed in.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
di.andy May 07, 2003

These beans are killer.Only thing I did different was to fry the bacon and onions in a skillet and added a small bell pepper! Will definitely be making again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CFScott September 21, 2013

These were great! I made them for our July 4th BBQ, and I made them in my 5 qt. crock pot. We had 19 people over, and I made a single recipe - it was plenty, as a side dish with all the other stuff. I Used K.C. Masterpiece, and cut the sugar to 1/2 c.I also used 5 (15 oz.) cans of VanCamp's pork and beans, and used yellow mustard. I took kitchen shears and cut up 4 pieces of thick-cut bacon, and stirred it in with everything. I started off on LOW, but the onion was still crunchy, so it ended up on HIGH, for like 3 hours or so, and they were great. Even the next day I mixed some leftovers with a couple new cans of pork and beans, and took them to another BBQ. Great reviews there as well. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 July 05, 2011

Followed this exactly. They were great, although the worcestershire was far too strong for my tastes. They got great reviews from everyone else, though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL July 23, 2010
Killer Baked Beans...