40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I added three or four dabs of butter to my plate, and salt and pepper like it was going out of style. I also kept most of the skin on my Yukon Gold potatoes (just because I like it). Let me tell you, those Russian peasants were on to something. Chop, chop, chop. Boil, boil, boil. Eat, drink, and be sleepy. Keep life simple. Thanks, Molly. I can't wait to try your Great-Grandfather's Beef Stroganoff!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misfit July 24, 2002

I also add salt, pepper and a sliced onion to the pot.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonni July 14, 2002

We sometimes tend to forget that simple recipes can be the greatest. This is one example. Very good.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judih July 11, 2002

This was really, really good!. I added lots of pepper and salt and did the butter thing and my family loved it, I love easy, simple things that taste like much more work than it was.. I will for sure make this again. Thank you;)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna August 02, 2002

My Ukrainian mom used make it just like this! She would use any leftovers the next day and scramble them in eggs. Real comfort food!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D~ July 14, 2002

Great meal. So extremely simple and even better tasting. I added salt, pepper, and a few dashes of hot red pepper flakes. I also used smoked kielbasa. The flavor was soooooo good. This will be a regular dinner around here now. THANKS!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH August 07, 2002

I make this with red cabbage, add some sliced apple and a bit of red wine vinegar. Delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon February 03, 2007

Good comfort food! An onion was added to the potatoes and I saved that delicious broth. Each of us spooned some over the smashed potatoes on our plates, along with butter, salt and pepper...delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoSpringChicken June 05, 2003

Molly is dead-on; this recipe is nothing fancy, but surprisingly tasty for sausage, potato and cabbage. Add on that it's the quickest, easiest (and probably the cheapest) meal I've cooked in a long time, and I will definitely make it again. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added garlic, an onion, a little chicken stock, and apple cider vinegar to the water, then served it with butter. Next time I might fry the onion, sausage and garlic for extra flavour before adding the water. Freeze the leftover broth for making soups and stocks. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.scrimgeour July 17, 2011

I love peasant and poverty dishes! I also love cabbage, potatoes and sausage, LOL! So no wonder I like this. I also used chicken broth, yeah I know it made it less of a peasant dish, but I love veggies cooked in broth. This is a wonderful dish that gets back to the roots of what some peoples ancestors used to eat, as far as adding onions, garlic, celery, etc. I am very sure the peasants that created this dish did the same when they could, I bet they even used pork or chicken when sausage wasn't available. A very nice, warm meal indeed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo November 20, 2010
Kielbasa y kapusta (Kielbasa and cabbage)