Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kielbasa y kapusta (Kielbasa and cabbage) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kielbasa y kapusta (Kielbasa and cabbage)

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2002

      I added three or four dabs of butter to my plate, and salt and pepper like it was going out of style. I also kept most of the skin on my Yukon Gold potatoes (just because I like it). Let me tell you, those Russian peasants were on to something. Chop, chop, chop. Boil, boil, boil. Eat, drink, and be sleepy. Keep life simple. Thanks, Molly. I can't wait to try your Great-Grandfather's Beef Stroganoff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      I also add salt, pepper and a sliced onion to the pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2002

      We sometimes tend to forget that simple recipes can be the greatest. This is one example. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This was really, really good!. I added lots of pepper and salt and did the butter thing and my family loved it, I love easy, simple things that taste like much more work than it was.. I will for sure make this again. Thank you;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      My Ukrainian mom used make it just like this! She would use any leftovers the next day and scramble them in eggs. Real comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      Great meal. So extremely simple and even better tasting. I added salt, pepper, and a few dashes of hot red pepper flakes. I also used smoked kielbasa. The flavor was soooooo good. This will be a regular dinner around here now. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      I make this with red cabbage, add some sliced apple and a bit of red wine vinegar. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Good comfort food! An onion was added to the potatoes and I saved that delicious broth. Each of us spooned some over the smashed potatoes on our plates, along with butter, salt and pepper...delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Molly is dead-on; this recipe is nothing fancy, but surprisingly tasty for sausage, potato and cabbage. Add on that it's the quickest, easiest (and probably the cheapest) meal I've cooked in a long time, and I will definitely make it again. I followed other reviewers suggestions and added garlic, an onion, a little chicken stock, and apple cider vinegar to the water, then served it with butter. Next time I might fry the onion, sausage and garlic for extra flavour before adding the water. Freeze the leftover broth for making soups and stocks. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      I love peasant and poverty dishes! I also love cabbage, potatoes and sausage, LOL! So no wonder I like this. I also used chicken broth, yeah I know it made it less of a peasant dish, but I love veggies cooked in broth. This is a wonderful dish that gets back to the roots of what some peoples ancestors used to eat, as far as adding onions, garlic, celery, etc. I am very sure the peasants that created this dish did the same when they could, I bet they even used pork or chicken when sausage wasn't available. A very nice, warm meal indeed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      This was really good. I cut the recipe down to feed just hubby & I, and I added an onion & 1 clove of minced garlic, and also cooked the whole mixture in chicken broth. We both thought it tasted great, and we can definately appreciate the fact that a meal like this does not cost much to make. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      For something so easy and simple it sure tasted great. I used a "lite" keilbasa and also added fresh dill to the pot. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Excellent! The only thing I added was some baby carrots to make a whole meal in the pot. I added salt and pepper to the kielbasa and veggies before I added the cabbage. Served it with butter at the table and we loved it--thanks for a great easy supper. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      Very easy! My husband is a big kielbasa/cabbage fan and this dinner is quick. Next time I will try to add an onion to the cooking, for a little bit more flavor. And a little dash of apple wine vinegar to a serving is a must with the PA Dutch ;).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      Easy, Fast, Delicious!!! I added a little chicken broth with the water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      My husband, a Texan, had never had fresh kielbasa, hates cabbage, and generally was sceptical. He ate it all, as did my 2 year old. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      EXCELLENT! I usually only make corned beef and cabbage for St Patty's day, but my hubby came home with a cabbage and mustard greens from the farmer's market. I had everything on hand, so I thought it would be worth a try. YUM! I only used on head of cabbage, then topped with butter, s & p. I made the greens sautéed in olive oil, garlic and shallots for a side dish. Very nice change, and the kids loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      I used half a head of green cabbage and half a head of red. I also added some coriander and peppercorns for some spiciness. The dish was a great success and everyone raved about it. I was worried that my family would consider the dish too bland but they gobbled it up and loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      So easy & simple, but so wonderful! I love the way the sausage flavors infuse the potatoes & cabbage. What an economical meal--it really stretches a little meat a long way! And it's enough to feed a small army! I'd say it makes 10 hearty servings. We ate ourselves silly and still have half of it left for lunches! I used red skinned potatoes, unpeeled, and hardwood smoked chicken sausage, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. We served it with butter, salt, & pepper on the cabbage & potatoes and stone-ground mustard with the sausages. Even my fussy 7 year old liked it and asked me to be sure to save some for his lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I added veggie sausage, onions, and vinegar. Thought it was OK. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kielbasa y kapusta (Kielbasa and cabbage)

    Serving Size: 1 (378 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 434.3
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    22%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 436.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 17.2 g
    68%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes