33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hearty, thick and quick for a busy evening. A great, filling meal with lots of flavor and few ingredients. I made no changes to the recipe and it was fantastic.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 May 07, 2003

My 9 year old nephew devoured this recipe! Thank you so much, it was cheap since I already had leftover frozen kielbasa-will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cassandrajane87 June 12, 2011

We loved the flavor of this soup! I think the next time I make it I will use the crockpot to help the flavors blend better. I also think a little minced garlic would be good, but then I think garlic is good in everything, but dessert:) I served it with cornbread and that was great in MHO. This is only 4 points on Weight Watchers. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando November 04, 2009

I love this recipe! The soup is very tasty & satisfying, yet so EASY to make. And I think it's even better warmed up the next day ~ Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes June 04, 2009

Both hubby and I really enjoyed this soup. I think it would be wise to make the soup, refrigerate it overnight, then re-heat and serve. The left-overs were even better than the fresh served. I think the overnight sit made the flavors blend a bit more rather than being distinct separate flavors. Also, the kielbasa had time to give off more flavor. I'll definately make this again, but most likely will do it as a plan-ahead dish, so it has the sitting time. Very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest January 24, 2009

What a great comfort food!! I will be good on a cold snowy day or anytime you just want to feel warm inside!! I did add some salt and pepper to it, I may even try a little red pepper when I want a kick to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd April 23, 2003

Quick and delicious. My family loved it! The bean and bacon soup makes it great. Even tastier the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msmarkanic February 12, 2015

Perfect for a cold, winter evening! Easy to make (if you don't have a screaming 2 month old while you're making it like I did!) We ate toast with homemade apple butter with this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinsAm December 10, 2014

I made this for a friend who is Polish descent and she went NUTS. She is not a real creative cook or eater and she was shocked with the recipe and with the soup. I used Mirepoix from Trader Joe's to make it even easier and chicken broth instead of the water. DH and I will eat this using Turkey Smoked Sausage instead of the Kielbasa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears January 24, 2014

If I could give this soup 10 stars I would! Simple, fast and FULL of flavor! I was concerned there wasn't enough liquid even tho I used the 3 cups of water. So my only alteration was to mix the bean soup with 1/2 can of water before adding it. (oh yes, I added 1 tsp of beef bouillon too)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JWS January 22, 2014
Kielbasa Soup