11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I add a can of chicken broth instead of the beer. I also add a can of tomato sauce, plenty of garlic and 2 inch chunks of red and green bell peppers. Usually use about two or three peppers and two links of kielbasa, about four pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes and two large yellow onions, I chunk the carrots in large pieces as well. The broth and tomato sauce make an amazing broth to soak up with French bread. My family loves this dish, we call it "sausage pot."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maliengus December 04, 2010

I loved this! It has become a regular meal at our house. I substituted chicken broth for beer, and it worked out great. I love the horseradish - just enough, not overpowering.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernSusie July 27, 2009

Very Good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriskyKitty April 19, 2009

The flavors meld so well together. I did add some cabbage to this because I love cabbage and sausage so much it turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adelinkat May 25, 2007

This was really good. I made it in the crockpot with low fat kielbasa - cooked on high for about 4 1/2 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PistonsFan February 02, 2007

My first attempt doing this recipe in the oven didn't work so well. Yesterday I made it in the crockpot (cooked about 10 hours on low) and had to come back and change my review to 5 Stars. I loved it with a mix of white and sweet potatoes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta July 13, 2006

The aroma as this cooked was so tantalizing! The dish was total comfort food all the way and the flavor was delicious. I used all white potatoes, but am anxious to try it with a combination of white and sweet potatoes. I actually had to cook it about 15 minutes more than the recipe called for as it seemed to take the carrots a little longer to get tender. Thanks for sharing Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess April 22, 2006

I would agree, this is a terrific recipe for a one pot meal that has great flavor. I did use my Presto cooker rather than baking in the oven with great results. There were no left overs at my house! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate57 March 31, 2006

This is a great all in one meal that's full of flavor and so comforting. I used all white potatoes, chopped the onion, and minced the garlic. Even my husband who doesn't care for kielbasa ate a big, full plate! I am looking forward to leftovers.Rita this one is a keeper! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Asha* January 13, 2006

This was filling but, felt like it was missing something for us. We liked the flavor of the beer and horseradish together but, felt like we wanted more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RFJ October 25, 2011
Kielbasa Potatoes, Onions & Carrots