Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kielbasa, Cabbage, and Onions (Low-Carb Slow Cooker Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kielbasa, Cabbage, and Onions (Low-Carb Slow Cooker Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2009

      This did remind me of grandma, but was better than my memories of her. Bua is the Icelandic equivalent of kielbasa & very close to it in taste. Larger than kielbasa, I cut it in approx 1.5 in chunks, added garlic as a pers pref & otherwise made the recipe as written (altho I admit to tossing in a few red potatoes to comply w/Icelandic law requiring them w/all meals). The crock-pot method makes getting this to the table nearly effortless & you are impatient for it as the aroma is wonderful. The cabbage flavour is excellent using Dijon for the mustard & I could not bear discarding the tasty liquid, so I added about 1/2 cup cream cheese to it & sent it to the table as a light sauce for the potatoes. Thx for sharing this keeper recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      We had this for dinner tonight and loved the ease of the recipe. For us, 8 hours was too long - the veggies were over done. Next time I will probably cook 6 to 7 hours. I cut my meat into slices verses chunks. I will defintely make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      This is a low-carb version of my Mom's Polish Stew. The addition of chicken broth brought the recipe to another level. I did add about 2 oz of Velveeta to the pot about an hour before it was done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      This recipe is awesome. I used twice the amount of mustard. My crockpot had it done on low in 6 hours. Will continue to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      Fantastic and yummy recipe. I added some perogis the last hour of cooking as well as a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. <br/>This recipe is a keeper.<br/><br/>Thanks for posting. NE Lady

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      This is a favorite of our family. Just so the kids don;t feel like they are missing something I cook up one dice up potatoe on the side for them and add to their bowl and they devour it every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      Excellent recipe. I made as directed with the exception of the mustard, wasn't sure I would like it. Next time I will try it. Made it on top of the stove; I had too much cabbage to fit in the crockpot. It took about 5 hours on very low heat. Used our home-made kielbasa. Very tasty and simple to make. Its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      I was looking for a simple meal to throw together, but this was surprisingly satisfying! I used 2-3 Tbsp of spicy brown mustard (eyeballed, not measured), and additional salt. I checked it after 6 hours on low and it was definitely done--unless you are using a very small crock pot, 8 hours is too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      This is soooo good! I made it last night with red cabbage. After 4 hours on low, when i went to check on it, it was already done...maybe even a little overcooked. I can't imagine leaving it in for 8 hours. I will definitely be making this again! I used horseradish deli mustard (totally recommended!), so next time I might cut back a little on the pepper. Even with the peppery flavor, this was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      My HB didn't think he would like it, but ended up getting a second serving. I made 1 change I didn't have brown mustard, so I empravised with some spicy mustard with mustard seed I had on hand. It turned out great with a little kick to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      I wrote my review & forgot to do the stars!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I needed to use up some cabbage and this hit the spot. I used dijon (didn't have brown mustard) and added some hot sauce to the crockpot. It was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Made this last night and it was great! Like others, I added some peeled and halved potatoes. Great dinner on a cool, fall evening!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I wasn't feeling well, but needed something easy to cook for dinner. This was so fast to put together and I didn't have to do anything else until it was time to eat. We love cabbage and this was perfect. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      This was very well received in my home! my nieces boyfriend had thirds! I added crushed red pepper flakes and a bit more salt and found this to be very satisfying and it smelled very good cooking all day too! I will make this many times again i'm sure. Oh I did add small red potatoes that I quartered.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      We loved the addition of the mustard. Made for 123 tag. Thanks for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I made this on 1/15/09 as part of mine and SO's dinner.I made this recipe as directed,except for cutting it in half.It smelled really good while it was in the crockpot,but I wished it tasted as good as it smelled.I'm sorry but, it won't be made again. But thanks for taking time to post it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kielbasa, Cabbage, and Onions (Low-Carb Slow Cooker Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 277.3
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    68%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 49.8 mg
    16%
    Sodium 974.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites