25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This sounds great, although I haven't tried it. Another great coffee substitute for kids is Postum. My grandma used to give it to me as a child and she called it "coffee", even though it's some kind of whole wheat drink or something. This, and Postum, would be great for pregnant/breastfeeding women who are avoiding caffeine too:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal-Belle May 06, 2008

My kids loved this! thank you very much for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kotiäiti from Finland April 15, 2008

Thanks Roosie. I had no idea molasses had any health benefits. Made this last night for the kids. My son loved it. My daghter thought it was ok but she is in the picky stage so she doesn't count. What a fun recipe! both of my kids enjoyed making it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claidan October 18, 2007

I'm enjoying this delicious drink as I type my review. So simple and so delightful. I love the photo by Best Teen Chef. I found a brand of Molasses called Brer Rabbit Mild Flavor. I like the idea that this is good for you. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) December 12, 2006

This recipe is one you just have to try. My kids both enjoyed it over the weekend. My seven year old daughter felt very grown-up !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell December 04, 2006

My daughter can't have hot chocolate (food allergies), but this keeps her happy when it's cold outside! We make it with soy milk - either plain or vanilla flavor works well. Sixty seconds in the microwave to heat the water and you're practically done. A note to others dealing with children's milk allergies: this Kids' Coffee really does look like the real thing. If you are drinking coffee with dairy products at the same time, make sure to pour their beverage into a cup that looks different from your cup, so that no one gets confused and drinks the wrong thing. (P.S.: My other daughter thinks Kids' Coffee is disgusting, but it's not about her, is it?) Thanks, Roosie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Needs Coffee November 27, 2006

The kids loved it, taste is good. They like the idea of beiveing they are having coffee with the adults.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feather flyer June 01, 2006

ok i tried this again because i am trying to go a week wihtout eating any junkfood. i needed something sweet so i went to this. i altered the recipe just a bit,and it came out A LOT better then it did the first time i did it. so first, get around 2 teaspoons of molasses and put it in a cup. then, fill the cup 1/8 to 1/4 full with hot water just to dissove/ liquidize the molasses. after that, add milk at least half way up the cup. then just keep pouring and trying till you get your ideal taste. for me i had to pour the milk until the cup was 3/4 way full and it was PERFECT. really really really good, and an awesome substitute for sweetened coffee.. plus ITS HEALTHY!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mish27 October 04, 2005

I made this today because I have some molasses I need to use up. My 3 yr old took a sip and said it was yucky but I liked it. Tasted like a "lite" version of coffe..Will make again:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 February 22, 2005
Kids' "Coffee"