Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kids' "Coffee" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kids' "Coffee"

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 17, 2006

      Now I am a kid so I will give my opnion on this drink. I loved it!! However it isn't very sweet and you have to like molasses to enjoy it. I loved the smell preparing it, and the taste afterwards too! Besides, my favorite show is Gilmore Girls and they always drink coffee, so now I can have something to enjoy when I get one of those cravings!(Which means I will be drinking this alot!) Also, the milk gives it that "coffee colour" Thanks for this recipe Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This was very good and quick to make. I only added a little boiling water to dissolve the molasses, and used heated milk for the rest. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2004

      This is an interesting drink. It isn't quite coffee...isn't quite tea...not hot cocoa...it has a flavor all its own. I haven't been feeling well, but am tired of plain old tea. I love the molasses tang of gingersnaps and spice cakes, and thought that this would be worth a try. It was very good and comforting on my tender tummy. I think that preparing it with a spiced tea (instead of just boiling water) would be lovely, also.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      Great flavor and zing, if you like molasses! I was looking for a hot drink to substitute for my black tea and hot chocolate, and this does the trick (at least for a couple weeks). I'm an adult but I can't drink caffeine after 2pm. I prefer the exact quantities listed in the recipe, but if you like your hot chocolate with mostly milk, you'll want to add mostly milk to this drink too. Update: I started adding 1/2" fresh ginger to the boiling water (boil 10 min or so). This really adds to the flavor and makes it a caffeine-free, gingerbread latte. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      My 6 year old ran around the house telling everyone how good this was. "I just can't stop thinking about it and I want to drink it all up!" Hoping his 4 year old brother will catch on and try it too. I put the molasses in a coffee cup and put the water in my single serve coffee maker so it really look like I'm making him coffee. Then he gets to add the "creamer" just like mommy. Thanks for a kid-friendly recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2011

      I'm sorry, but I really didn't enjoy this one - perhaps I used too much molasses, but it had a very strong taste (used Beerenberg brand). It could possibly be weakened by using less molasses and maybe by adding more milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      i didn't really care for it... I guess I didn't really enjoy the aftertaste of the molasses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I didn't try this but my husband did and my 4 yr old son loves it. He was always asking for coffee when we had ours and giving him tea only worked for a little while. He loves this I did add more milk but other than that I followed directions. Now we can all enjoy our morning coffee together. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I just made this after reading the recipe and the reviews. I made it more out of curiosity. I personally will stick with my decaf coffee, but my kids 6 & 3 keep telling me this coffee is sooo good. This is a keeper for them. Thanks for posting Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Made this for my 5 little grand daughters. They loved it. Now they always ask for it when I have my morning coffee, and they are visiting. Thanks for a recipie, that will always bring back good memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      This sounds great, although I haven't tried it. Another great coffee substitute for kids is Postum. My grandma used to give it to me as a child and she called it "coffee", even though it's some kind of whole wheat drink or something. This, and Postum, would be great for pregnant/breastfeeding women who are avoiding caffeine too:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      My kids loved this! thank you very much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Thanks Roosie. I had no idea molasses had any health benefits. Made this last night for the kids. My son loved it. My daghter thought it was ok but she is in the picky stage so she doesn't count. What a fun recipe! both of my kids enjoyed making it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2007

    • on December 12, 2006

      I'm enjoying this delicious drink as I type my review. So simple and so delightful. I love the photo by Best Teen Chef. I found a brand of Molasses called Brer Rabbit Mild Flavor. I like the idea that this is good for you. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      This recipe is one you just have to try. My kids both enjoyed it over the weekend. My seven year old daughter felt very grown-up !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      My daughter can't have hot chocolate (food allergies), but this keeps her happy when it's cold outside! We make it with soy milk - either plain or vanilla flavor works well. Sixty seconds in the microwave to heat the water and you're practically done. A note to others dealing with children's milk allergies: this Kids' Coffee really does look like the real thing. If you are drinking coffee with dairy products at the same time, make sure to pour their beverage into a cup that looks different from your cup, so that no one gets confused and drinks the wrong thing. (P.S.: My other daughter thinks Kids' Coffee is disgusting, but it's not about her, is it?) Thanks, Roosie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      The kids loved it, taste is good. They like the idea of beiveing they are having coffee with the adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      ok i tried this again because i am trying to go a week wihtout eating any junkfood. i needed something sweet so i went to this. i altered the recipe just a bit,and it came out A LOT better then it did the first time i did it. so first, get around 2 teaspoons of molasses and put it in a cup. then, fill the cup 1/8 to 1/4 full with hot water just to dissove/ liquidize the molasses. after that, add milk at least half way up the cup. then just keep pouring and trying till you get your ideal taste. for me i had to pour the milk until the cup was 3/4 way full and it was PERFECT. really really really good, and an awesome substitute for sweetened coffee.. plus ITS HEALTHY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      I made this today because I have some molasses I need to use up. My 3 yr old took a sip and said it was yucky but I liked it. Tasted like a "lite" version of coffe..Will make again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kids' "Coffee"

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.0
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    20%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 42.6 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes