25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Now I am a kid so I will give my opnion on this drink. I loved it!! However it isn't very sweet and you have to like molasses to enjoy it. I loved the smell preparing it, and the taste afterwards too! Besides, my favorite show is Gilmore Girls and they always drink coffee, so now I can have something to enjoy when I get one of those cravings!(Which means I will be drinking this alot!) Also, the milk gives it that "coffee colour" Thanks for this recipe Roosie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef May 17, 2006

This was very good and quick to make. I only added a little boiling water to dissolve the molasses, and used heated milk for the rest. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 22, 2006

This is an interesting drink. It isn't quite coffee...isn't quite tea...not hot cocoa...it has a flavor all its own. I haven't been feeling well, but am tired of plain old tea. I love the molasses tang of gingersnaps and spice cakes, and thought that this would be worth a try. It was very good and comforting on my tender tummy. I think that preparing it with a spiced tea (instead of just boiling water) would be lovely, also.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. December 01, 2004

Great flavor and zing, if you like molasses! I was looking for a hot drink to substitute for my black tea and hot chocolate, and this does the trick (at least for a couple weeks). I'm an adult but I can't drink caffeine after 2pm. I prefer the exact quantities listed in the recipe, but if you like your hot chocolate with mostly milk, you'll want to add mostly milk to this drink too. Update: I started adding 1/2" fresh ginger to the boiling water (boil 10 min or so). This really adds to the flavor and makes it a caffeine-free, gingerbread latte. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland June 03, 2014

My 6 year old ran around the house telling everyone how good this was. "I just can't stop thinking about it and I want to drink it all up!" Hoping his 4 year old brother will catch on and try it too. I put the molasses in a coffee cup and put the water in my single serve coffee maker so it really look like I'm making him coffee. Then he gets to add the "creamer" just like mommy. Thanks for a kid-friendly recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaCoco June 02, 2012

I'm sorry, but I really didn't enjoy this one - perhaps I used too much molasses, but it had a very strong taste (used Beerenberg brand). It could possibly be weakened by using less molasses and maybe by adding more milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaitie10 December 10, 2011

i didn't really care for it... I guess I didn't really enjoy the aftertaste of the molasses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 December 21, 2009

I didn't try this but my husband did and my 4 yr old son loves it. He was always asking for coffee when we had ours and giving him tea only worked for a little while. He loves this I did add more milk but other than that I followed directions. Now we can all enjoy our morning coffee together. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha in Ut July 19, 2009

I just made this after reading the recipe and the reviews. I made it more out of curiosity. I personally will stick with my decaf coffee, but my kids 6 & 3 keep telling me this coffee is sooo good. This is a keeper for them. Thanks for posting Roosie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z April 30, 2009

Made this for my 5 little grand daughters. They loved it. Now they always ask for it when I have my morning coffee, and they are visiting. Thanks for a recipie, that will always bring back good memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mee-Mee August 12, 2008
Kids' "Coffee"