24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you! We tried this today and my 5 yr old son said he had a lot of fun (until his 2 yr old sister dumped it all into the tub :-) No staining. I used generic liquid baby soap to ensure "no tears".

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GS September 29, 2009

My son (4 yr old) loves these paints. They are so expensive in the stores. Thanks so much for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustaQT July 12, 2003

Like another reviewer, I eyeballed the amount of soap. Added 1 Tbsp potato starch (what we had on hand), shook it all together in an empty mustard bottle. Divided it up into three total squeeze bottles, added 4 drops of food coloring per bottle and we went at it. Dressed the kids in their swimsuits and painted away on the side of my white car in the driveway (I was too chicken to try it on our driveway - the HOA here is pretty strict on stains, etc, but what dripped did seem to come off easily). When we were done, we washed the car, then I threw the kids in the nearest sink the clean them off. (a tiny 4 yr old and 1 yr old who's almost as big as her). Car washed, good time, and the kids clean and in PJs before dinner. For a super simple activity, that was off the chart. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 16, 2015

Awesome fun for the kiddo and I both. They did stain his skin a bit, but other then that they were awesome. Cleaned off the walls easy. My 2 year old also dumped them in the water eventually, but it was fun to watch the water change colors for him. Thanks to the people who tipped using baby wash instead. Genius idea, and I'd think it'd be better for sensitive skin. Thanks also Bekah for the awesome recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAPoGirl September 16, 2012

I made this with baby soap (Johnson n Johnson baby wash, super common) and I pretty much estimated it- about 1/2 c. soap and dumped some cornstarch in (probably like 1-2 tb) and mixed thoroughly, then scraped into an ice cube tray. I made it pretty thick (thicker than school glue) to make it easier for my kids. I used gel food color, and i recommend that you use drops, because the ones i made w food color drops didnt stain the kids but the gel did! They were really fun to make and my kids loved them, and it only took a minute of prep

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaseysospacey June 24, 2012

Awesome! Tons of fun!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momuv3princesses July 07, 2010

These are so easy to make and keep my kids busy for hours!! The first time I made these my kids stayed in the bath for 2 hours playing with it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingfiend September 21, 2009

These are GREAT! My kids had the best time with these. Note: it did stain the grout (the red anyway) but it came off after a few washings. No biggie - it was worth the fun they had! Totally easy and totally genius! EDIT: I use handwashing soap with no problem - the store brand - and even off-white. This is always a quick "look how cool your mom is" type of thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX August 04, 2008

We were really disappointed in these. They were watery, the colors separated and needed constant re-mixing, and were too wet to really draw with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dynila June 23, 2008

Hei, this is totally unknown in finland. I made this and kids are still painting in bathroom :) Thank you very much for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kotiäiti from Finland April 15, 2008
kids Bathtub Paints