12 Reviews

Oooh yeah!! My family loved this dish. Tasted like a milder version of red beans and rice, with beef instead of sausage. Very good and an easy to make recipe. Made a hearty meal and the left-overs were taken care of the next day with no problem. Thanks.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchengr March 12, 2003

Delicious!! In spite of not pre-cooking the rice, I still ended up with a wonderful meal! I had some celery to use up and threw that in with the onion. I couldn't find Cajun tomatoes, so used salt-free Cajun seasoning. By the time it came to adding the rice, I realized I hadn't cooked the rice. I added two cups of chicken broth to the mix, brought it to boiling and stirred in one cup of rice. Covered, reduced the heat and let it simmer for 20 minutes. It was fantastic and we enjoyed it very much! Di, thank you again for yet another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose July 31, 2013

This was pretty good and very filling. It made a lot. Could easily feed 8 hungry people. I'm vegetarian so I substituted morning star farm griller crumbles for the ground beef. I didn't have any cajun-style stewed tomatoes so I used regular tomatoes and added cajun seasoning. I didn't want it to be too salty so I left out the seasoning salt, since the cajun seasoning had salt in it. I liked the idea to use the left overs for enchilada filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misdanrs November 16, 2009

This was good! I misread that the rice should be cooked, eek. So I ended up having to simmer for quite a bit longer, adding water to get it to cook. Fortunately, I had only used one cup of rice! My husband enjoyed this, but I just thought it was okay. I used the leftovers as filling for enchilads with a chili cream sauce. Again, not earth-shattering but well received. It's not likely that I will make this again despite my blunder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brianna Storer March 05, 2009

This was really good. I didn't have the right kind of tomatoes so I just used regular and added some cayenne. It was quick and easy and the kids liked it. Kind of reminded me of red beans and rice but toned down. Thanks rather, yet another awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy November 15, 2008

I won't give this any stars as I did change the recipe a little. Instead of cajun tomatoes, I used a can of rotel, and melted shredded cheddar cheese on top before serving. Served with corn and corn bread, this was a quick, delicious meal that the whole family loved. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise in da Kitchen June 22, 2007

Excellent and easy to prepare. Very kid friendly meal. My son loved it and picked 5 stars. I substituted ground turkey since that's what I had on hand. Also used regular tomatoes, just added cajun seasoning to taste. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H C. October 14, 2006

I apperently never added my review...this has become part of our regular meal plan. This week I tried it as an oven casserole. Everything stayed the same except the rice. I sprayed my casserole dish, poured in two cups of uncooked long grain rice (non-instant), two cans of beef broth and then the remainder of the ingredients as stated in original recipe. Normally oven rice is baked for an hour, but I was distracted so I'm not sure what I messed up...it was still very soupy. Then I overcooked it a wee bit but was still very tasty. Way too much made for two adults and a preschooler so today I morphed it into a soup for a potluck. I added two cans of beef broth and a can of water, a can of black beans (drained), another can of tomatoes and a can of diced green chiles. Due to time I did it on the stove then put it in the crockpot to keep it to temp. Wanted to share so y'all could see how very versatile this recipe has become for our family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama March 29, 2006

I just can not tell you how good this is. I have been cooking for my brother and taking it to him and we had a very good meal with a bowl of salad to go with it. We still have leftovers...I just know this will freeze very well. We will have another great dinner soon. Thank You for a wonderful dinner. Hugs

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda January 19, 2006

Tasty dish and filling. I used regluar tomatoes and added more hot chile powder. Left out the salt and seasoning salt. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH March 30, 2005
Kidney Beans and Rice