Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kidney Bean Chili, Indian Style (Rajma in Masala) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kidney Bean Chili, Indian Style (Rajma in Masala)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2002

      I can go NEWS(North, East, West, South) and beat a drum, and scream out loud, saying this is YUM YUM YUM! Seriously! I mean every word here. I made this for lunch yesterday since it was my BF's birthday(he's not here, but, my folks caught me to cook a recipe by you coz we love your recipes), and, I ended up serving this and having this for lunch and for dinner. Mom, dad and me loved it, and it's a fantastic recipe. I served this with bread(for myself), rotis(for mom and dad)and I had some with rice too topped with a dollop of chilled yogurt!! Absolutely rajma heaven and you know, I LOVE RAJMA, and so does my BF! So, you can be sure I'll be cooking this alot after I get married:) Had you to eat the rajma our cook makes, GOD BLESS YOU! You would love it allright, if you love oily food(your recipes tell me you dont and I'm so glad you post at Zaar) but, your fingers would be dripping with oil. Thank GOD you posted this, Anu, you know, I love you from the bottom of my soul for this. This will be a regular on our table if and when I'm cooking. Oh, and our cook has suddenly decided I'm not such a dummy at cooking as he thought I was. YAY! :-) THANK U, Anu! It's all because of U!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      really good. i loved this recipe the only trouble i had was i think i didn't steam the beans long enough, they were a little dry. next time i might try using canned beans to cut down on the cooking time. all in all a great recipe. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      I've been on a big Indian kick this week, and I'm so gad we tried this! Served with rice, I will have to double the recipe next time to accommodate three kids and DH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I never post recipe reviews-ever! Except for this dish, which is hands down my new favorite. It went together quickly, tasted so good I practically licked the pan. My daughter and I were fighting over who would get the leftovers for lunch. Only thing I might do differently is add a little less water next time-2 cups instead of three. Honestly, you all have got to try this!!! Thank you Anu for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Although I didn't have mango powder, green chili pepper or cumin and coriander seeds, I did used cumin and coriander powder. And since I don't love hot peppers as he did, I only used three. It turned out TERRIFIC! Husband Jeff loved it and wants it added to my list of "serve often' meals at home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Fantastic! Love how all the flavors come together. I added a couple of tomatoes since we love some tang in our food. Other than that, I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Very good. I hope I didn't change it too much by adding a few fresh tomatoes? But it was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This was really good! I didn't miss the meat at all! I didn't have mango powder... in fact, I don't know where to find that, but I'm sure that would have really added to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      Very good dish! I will be adding to our monthly menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I had to leave out some of the chillies (Ihave to consider my fellow diners sometimes!) but still very tasty. otherwise. I kept to the stated ingredients and really liked the contrasting textures of the whole and mashed beans. Comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      this was good - made as stated except i added some fatfree yogurt to it. had it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2004

      Deliciously authentic and nutritious - thanks for posting this recipe, it went really well with jasmine rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      Hi, This recipe is great! tried it and the result was very good! Thanks, Jay

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kidney Bean Chili, Indian Style (Rajma in Masala)

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.6
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    28%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 6.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 659.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    turmeric

    mango powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes