Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kidd Kraddick's Famous Brown Bag Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kidd Kraddick's Famous Brown Bag Turkey

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 08, 2011

      I have made our turkey like this for many years. the only difference is I spray Pam on the inside of the bag. Perfect, moist bird every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      Just a comment about this recipe. While it is true that people used to cook turkeys, chickens, roasts, apple pies and even cakes inside brown paper bags 30, 40, 50 years ago, the practice is no longer recommended or considered safe unless you are using "food grade" brown paper bags (made for cooking). Today's bags are not manufactured by the same processes that were used even 20 years ago - although eating the turkey may not make you sick, the chemicals used to make the bags are carcinogenic.
      Perhaps a better alternative would be to "make a bag" out of cooking parchment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      My mother has made turkey in a similar fashion ever since I can remember. She actually greases the inside of the bag and the turkey with margarine, not butter! It always turns out beautiful, moist and delicious. Call me superstitious, but I can't make turkey any other way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      This is how my mother ALWAYS cooked our turkeys, and now how I have done for years. The only thing we do differently is coat the entire inside of the bag and the turkey with plain old vegetable oil, so it stays moist and I guess is even less of a fire hazard. She's 85 now, and we've never burnt down the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      I made this turkey last thanksgiving for my family because of the ease of the recipe. It turned out WONDERFUL and everyone in the family loved it super moist and great flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was the best Turkey EVER!!!! I remember my Mom cooked turkey for us one year like this and it was great.I tried it today because I was so sick and tired of dry,boring turkey! When I tore open the bag today.....The turkey was a gorgeous golden brown and it was the moistest turkey ever.Thank you for posting this recipe. I will never ever cook turkey any other way again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      I've made this turkey a few times, turns out moist and delicious every single time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      Beautiful deep carmel color when I used this recipe. I made pockets between the skin and meat in the breast, thigh, and drumstick area and slipped pieces of carrots, celery, and garlic cloves. I cooked my turkey at 14 min per lb. and will reduce the time next time as I felt the breast could have been more moist. Overall, this is a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I heard this recipe on the radio a few days ago and it sounded so good so i decided to give it a try. This was the first year I have ever made a turkey and it turned out great. Everyone was skeptical and thought I was crazy for wanting to cook it in a bag but it turned out great. The turkey was very juicy ans moist and everyone loved it.I will be making this turkey again next year.. I followed the recipe exact and didnt change anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      This recipe was so AWESOME! We host Thanksgiving at our house most years but I'm usually NEVER in charge of the turkey because it always comes out dry. This year I decided to risk trying again with this recipe. Everyone (including me) was skeptical about the paper bag and, aside from the garlic, that I didn't add any seasonings, but it turned out AWESOME! This is BY FAR the best turkey I have ever had and all of my guests agreed! It was soooo moist and delicious! We will be making brown bag turkeys forever more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I learned this from my father-in-law about 30 yrs ago. I've never made a turkey any other way. The meat has always been moist and very flavorful. There has never been a problem with the bag lighting on fire but after I put the turkey in the bag, I tuck in the sides and ends. Can't wait for this years turkey in a few weeks! Happy Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I have been cooking Turkeys this for 45 years. The major difference is that I soak the Turkey for 24 hours ahead of time in Kosher or large grain sea salt water (about a pound for a 20 # Turkey). I then go ahead and stuff it before putting in the bag(s). The salt water also works wonderfully on any fowl !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kidd Kraddick's Famous Brown Bag Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (779 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1609.4
     
    Calories from Fat 719
    44%
    Total Fat 79.9 g
    123%
    Saturated Fat 22.5 g
    112%
    Cholesterol 677.2 mg
    225%
    Sodium 666.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 203.8 g
    407%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites