29 Reviews

When I put the chicken on the table, my 10 yo DD said it was time to see if it lived up to its name. The verdit....it did! This chicken was a big hit. I used an apricot duck sauce instead of plum sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyCheryl #345095 October 31, 2008

Made & reviewed for the Kid Friendly Forum's Recipe of the Week. I'm trying to catch up on all my reviews & this one has been a while coming! My whole family enjoyed this dish very much. It is quick & easy to put together & really tasty - what more can you ask for? I left out the sherry but other than that, stuck to the recipe. Thanks Cricket* :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia October 23, 2008

really liked it! I didn't have plum sauce, so I used honey, and only really had about half of what was needed, but it still came out pretty good! great the next day too. kids loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjg August 22, 2008

I have to admit, I only made the sauce portion of this recipe, but it was so good that I simply had to give it 5 stars. I had steamed some snow peas & carrots and had stir-fried chicken from the night before, but was out of sauce and wanted something new. This was perfect! I used apricot jam & 1tsp. ground ginger as I was out of fresh. I also added a bit of red pepper flakes, but followed the rest exactly. Served all over steamed rice for hubby and angel-hair pasta for the kids - big hit with all! I'm saving this to use for my everyday stir-fry sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HotWifey March 14, 2008

This was good. My usual way of making the sauce isn't nearly as and bubbly, so I'll definitely keep that aspect in mind. My boyfriend thought it was way too sweet, and even I thought it was a bit much (I used honey). I used mirin instead of sherry (sherry's just a substitute for mirin for people who don't have access to a good asian food store.) If I'd had any green onions or good stir-fry veggies on hand, I would have added them. Still, not bad at all. With a few modifications, I think I'll probably use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeaLeavesGreen November 29, 2007

Wonderful! My kids and husband gobbled this down, and that NEVER happens! I used apricot jam, reduced sodium soy sauce, 3.3 lbs of skinless boneless chicken breasts, about 8, and doubled the sauce recipe as suggested. The chicken was swimming in sauce, nearly to the top of my wok, so I let it cook down a bit. We'll have this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 05, 2007

very good. the sauce was just right, not too sweet. i did add some pepper flakes. i used apricot/pineapple jam. i had plenty of sauce and the garlic was not overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica K March 28, 2007

It was ok, but there was way too much garlic!! Will probably make again but cut down on the garlic and ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChunkyPorkChops December 21, 2006

This was a great recipe!!! Very easy.......Kids can even make it. The sauce was awesome and we wanted to keep spooning extra over the rice. I will definately make this again. It will make a frequent return to my kitchen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin4u4 November 07, 2006

Very good teriyaki sauce with just the perfect flavor and thickness. I only used 6 cloves of garlic, but I really couldn't taste a strong garlic taste. (In the future, I would use all 8 as written in the recipe.) I used 3 chicken breasts, but made a full recipe of the sauce, so I had plenty of extra sauce. I served this with white rice and steamed asparagus, and spooned some of the sauce over the asparagus as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 04, 2006
Kid Pleasin' Teriyaki Chicken