29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

hey a new family fav! thank you! I used apricot preserves this tm, however, I plan to prepare this dish each tm w/every selection of sauce offered up. the family is REALLY looking fwd to the plum sauce (found in the Asian isle of the supermarket). I made a few changes due to availability: ground ginger vs fresh, coconut oil vs veggie, low-sodium soy sauce vs the everyday & 4 tsp of bottled minced garlic vs fresh garlic. thanx for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tallie in Pacific NW December 13, 2011

It really is Kid Pleasin'! My two picky eaters (ages 7 & 8) loved it. I also used honey...couldn't find the plum sauce. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy645 January 10, 2011

This was really great. We had to use the honey instead of the plum sauce because we cannot find it locallly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomswife05 November 11, 2010

My family really loved this recipe. I used honey instead of plum sauce and it came out delicious. My very picky 9 year old LOVED it, she said it tasted like candy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpr711 May 20, 2010

Very, very tasty recipe. My two grandkids enjoyed this (7 &4) -- and the big kids loved it as well. I think the next time I make it I will cut back a little on the hoisin sauce. I cut up some green onions and sauted them with the chicken. I think some mushrooms would go well also. Thank you for sharing this recipe with all of us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie July 10, 2009

This chicken is absolutely pure magic. Great flavours. I can see this being a regular on our table! thank you so much for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum June 18, 2009

Excellent, and as a bonus it uses things I almost always have on hand. I cut the garlic and chicken amounts in half, but kept everything else the same. I used apricot jame with wonderful results. Maybe because I used an all-fruit jam, with no additional sweeteners I didn't find it too sweet at all. I served it with sauteed zucchini, red pepper and onion on a bed of jasmine rice. (And of course sriracha-because I'm hopelessly addicted to spicy food) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenslave03 February 05, 2009

I'm torn between 3-4 stars for this one. My seven year old really liked it but my husband and I found it much too sweet. I thought it needed some heat and my husband said possibly try with some other seasonings. I served with fried rice and egg rolls.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech February 01, 2009

A little too much ginger for my taste. I think if you cut it back to 2 tbs. it would be perfect. This was a good dish just not very teriyaki tasting. The ginger was overpowering. Thank you for the recipe. I will use again with my adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kelly Bug January 17, 2009

Mixed reviews on this one. Would like to try again and see if I can tweak it to our family's taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe November 05, 2008
Kid Pleasin' Teriyaki Chicken