Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kid Friendly Veggie Muffins! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kid Friendly Veggie Muffins!

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2011

      I used a combination of whole wheat pastry flour and unbleached flour (no soy flour), salted margarine (omitted salt), white granulated sugar instead of brown sugar, no honey, one banana and the rest of the volume sweet potatoes. I added a dash of ground cloves and nutmeg too (veering towards pumpkin pie!). For the second batch, I also added dried blueberries that I had soaked in fruit juice to plump them. All of the muffins were very popular, but especially the blueberry muffins! The muffins were tasty, not too sweet (even with banana and sweet potato), and not dense. These are muffins, not cupcakes, so they're not like bakery muffins - they're better for you! These would be great breakfast muffins, but for adults I recommend adding some texture and variety with 1/3 cup dried blueberries or raisins, 1 Tbs poppy seeds (maybe with some lemon juice?), 1/3 cup rolled oats, or anything else you fancy in your morning muffin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This is a terrific recipe. For my first batch, I used pumpkin, carrots and peas. I substituted applesauce for most of the butter and used 1/4 cup of eggbeaters. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup, but used 3 T. of agave nectar instead of honey. These were very moist and no one believed I had put peas into them! I am going to add raisins next time and probably put in some flax seed. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I plan on making these in bulk and freezing for me and extended family members. I can't wait to try new combinations of vegetables!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      My kids love these! I'll make a batch & they'll be gone in 2 days! Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Kids definitely loved these! I sent them to school with them for their lunch. The only change I made was subbing some of the pureed veg for raw peanut butter because I didn't have enough veg on hand. I really like that it made about 18 muffins for me, because that is a whole week of snacks I don't have to worry about for them (when everything else usually only comes in four or six).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      These turned out awful. I followed the recipe exactly (using apple, sweet potato, peas and banana). But even when I baked them for about 35 minutes, they still remained very mushy and sticky inside. I'm hesitant to give them to my toddler because they contain egg, and I'm not sure the egg is fully cooked. But if I cook them any longer, the tops will probably burn. This recipe would probably be better if you used more flour mixture and less puree, so they have more of a bread texture than a sticky, pureed mess inside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      My 2 yr old son loves these and I have started keeping them as a staple in our house. I use whatever veggies I have on hand and he loves each batch I made. They are a bit dense for my liking but its get some green stuff into my picky child and he thinks he is getting a treat. YAY!! thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      I used sweet potatoes and all the optional ingredients. It was a bit dry so I added some orange juice, although the dough was still very thick and the muffins came out pretty dense. I may sub the butter and egg for applesauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      I had been looking for a recipe to use my whole wheat flour...they're winners! I didn't use the sweeter veggies and they still came out plenty sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Great recipe. I used sweet potato, butternut squash and corn and even pureed broccoli the first time and my 12-month-old would eat three at a time. This batch I'm using carrots, butternut squash and green beans. Hoping he likes this combo as much. Thanks for such a kid-friendly recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Easy recipe and you should have most things on-hand. Next time, I'd stay away from adding peas--which have an overwhelming taste in even small amounts--and stick to carrots, sweet potatoes and/or butternut squash for my veggie add-ins. Also, I plan on adding more cinnamon the next round, as this was a little bland. My 18-month old ate one muffin willingly, but it took some more convincing for my three-year old. For the sake of getting my older child to eat these, I may make next time with some banana or applesauce added!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      My three kids love them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I made these for my 18 month old and he loved them! I used peas, carrots, cauliflower, bananas and applesauce. I will definately make these often to have on hand for a quick snack. -- I myself didn't care for them, but I didn't make them for me! Thanks for a great way to get my baby to eat his veggies!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      The muffins are awesome. I used 1/2 the butter and they were still great. My daughter doesn't eat enough veggies throughout the day so I'm very happy to have found this recipe. She loved them. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      My five year old helped me make these, watched the peas get put in, and still ate 3 of them. My 17 month old ate one, and my husband had 3. They are very good. I'm going to start making them all the time. This is the best recipe I have ever gotten from this site, and i've gotten quite a few good ones. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      These muffins rock! I made them for my 17 mo. old who eats nothing and she loved them. Even the adults in my family and my very picky 10 yr. old niece loved them. I even snuck in some raisins in one batch and some chocolate chips for another (this got even the very picky to eat them!). Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I made these for my club's raffle table and everyone that won a dozen of them couldn't believe that they contained baby food. Many of our members are over 80 years young and have had problems digesting vegetables, so this recipe was perfect for them. My husband wants me to make them every day using different baby foods. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      This recipe was a true God-send! My daughter is 17 months old, and it was an absolute chore to get to eat anything besides sweet potatoes and carrots...then she started hating those! So, I tried it, she loves them...even the ones I made that had visible chunks of peas in them! Thank you, thank you, thank you...I cannot say it enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      omg this was awesome my son who is 15 months old HATES veggies but when i gave him these muffins he gobbled them up.i used stage 2 gerber sweet pots(2) carrots(2) and (1)peas.i mixed all ingredients in a blender. i even ate a few myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      PERFECT for my 10 month old. She loves them. I had a lot of left over baby food puree in my freezer from when my daughter would eat off of a spoon so these are great to use that up. I used all sweet potato puree and they are very good (kind of pumpkin like). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      My son loves these--I made them with Smart balance and egg beaters and splenda (husband is diabetic) and we made mini muffins. Every day he wants to make them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kid Friendly Veggie Muffins!

    Serving Size: 1 (489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.5
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    32%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 12.8 mg
    4%
    Sodium 81.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetables

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes