Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kicks Like a Mule - Mexican Jalapeno and Cornbread Muffins! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kicks Like a Mule - Mexican Jalapeno and Cornbread Muffins!

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2012

    • on February 21, 2012

      These are my new "go-to" cornbread muffins. You can alter the kick, but they are very moist and not super sweet like a lot of cornbread recipes. Not a fan of sweet cornbread, thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Delicious! I made this using Greek yogurt and used 2 jalapeno peppers for tons of "Kick" they baked out lovely and moist, thanks Tartie, this was made for Kittencalskitchen forum muffin tag event game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      Made these to serve with last nights supper soup. They are a WOW. Absolutely awesome, has to be one of the best corn meal muffins we have ever tasted. Dh loved them. Didn't have the jalepenos, snipped in two of the long slim super hot Kung Paos I have growing in large pots. Knowing how hot they are I went with 1/8 th teaspoon of the cayenne. On line calculator converted the 4 ounces of butter to 8 tablespoons. With a dozen muffins on the table called and had dd pick some up for her supper to avoid further temptation! Can't wait to serve these to family and friends when doing soup and so on for appetizers as well! Thank you for sharing - recipe already in my family favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I will first have to say that I was not born with a baking gene. In fact, I break out in a cold sweat, and my heart starts pounding when I even think about making an attmept....However, the muffins turned out to be the most perfect that I have ever made or had, for that matter. Perfectly seasoned and savory. I added about 1 cup of cheddar cheese to the batter, and I used fresh chopped jalapenos. Baked for 21 minutes and perfectly browned. Made for Kittencal's Muffin Tag and enjoyed immensely!! I am forever grateful to you FT, for my first baking success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Perfect in everyway! I made these to go with Smokey Black Bean Soup, Smokey Black Bean Soup. The muffins were light but firm. I used fresh diced jalapeno pepper and yoghurt. The next day I split the muffins, spread with a dash of butter and placed in a covered pan for a few min. Ooh! So good, served with our spanish style eggs for breadfast the next day. I popped the last 2 muffins in the freezer. They can be frozen and when reheated are just like fresh baked. A "winner" recipe. Thank you French Tart

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      These muffins are really really tasty and I served the along side a Mexican Tortilla soup - a perfect combination. I omitted the cayenne pepper. We will be making these again for sure. Made for Family Picks ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Just finished making and tasting these muffins. I am not impressed with the taste...I found them a litle dry and boring. I followed directions exactly but I really thought it would have more zip. Sorry! One good thing tho' they didn't crumble which is a definite plus!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Made these little muffins to go with a big pot of chili this weekend and they are great. I added some sharp cheddar cheese to mine like some of the other reviewers and we loved them. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Awesome cornbread muffins!! I use a little less jalapenos and add in 1/4 cup or more of shredded cheddar cheese. Yumm! I've made these several times now and always get compliments on their tastiness. Thanks for adding the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Absolutely divine! We had these little delights for dinner tonight. I did add the cayenne pepper and used buttermilk. I thought I had jalapeno peppers but did not and added diced green chilies since that is what I had on hand. I made a full batch and froze in baggies for future treats. Thanks FT. Made for Ausie Swap #21.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I made this recipe twice in the last week and it was fast, easy and absolutely delicious both times. The first time, I used yogurt and put the batter in 12 heart-shaped pans for garnish to my donation to a potluck wedding reception. The batter was thick. The results were moist and I had only one "broken heart" when I carted them to the wedding. This morning, I made the recipe for breakfast and used powdered buttermilk and 1/2 cup jalepeno juice and 1/2 cup water for the liquid. The batter was thinner but equally good. I was afraid tha the muffins would rise too high if I filled the 12 muffin cups too full so I spread it across 18 cups. It doesn't expand too much in the oven ... I'll use the recommended 12 muffin cups from now on. This is a definite keeper in my over-flowing recipe file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Gorgeous muffins! Did not change a thing. I used yoghurt, that's what I had. I served it with Uncle Bill's Uncle Bill's Vegetarian Minestrone Soup. Thanks, FT, for sharing yet another one of your wonderful recipes. Definitely will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      These were great. I made mine with egg substitute, and sprinkled cheddar over mine as well. Nice kick but not overly so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were wonderful! We made the recipe exact except we put cheese on the tops of 11 of them before baking. The baked cheese really gave it a little extra flavor that complimented the jalapeños. Thanks, we will use this when we make chili again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      These muffins are excellent! I grilled some steaks last night and was looking for something with a little kick to spice up our meal and these fit the bill! I made them with the optional cayenne and buttermilk. They were super easy to put together. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Very good!!!!! I made this to go with some chili and it paired up perfectly!!! I didn't have yogurt or buttermilk, so I used sour milk (milk plus a little vinegar). Was still delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kicks Like a Mule - Mexican Jalapeno and Cornbread Muffins!

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 170.8
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    48%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 38.4 mg
    12%
    Sodium 256.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes