11 Reviews

Not sure what all the fuss is about. Made this sauce and it was ok, nothing 'Kickin" about it.. just ok. There has to be something better and I will keep looking. Sorry for the underwhelming review.. but I really do not know why this has so many highly rated reviews.. it is an AVERAGE Sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neilis May 29, 2009

We definitely enjoyed this one. Unique flavor. We don't like things too hot so we didn't add any hot sauce...Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It was just a touch too sweet so next time, I think I would leave out that tsp of sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.furay May 19, 2009

This sauce is DELICIOUS! It was my chance to use molasses for the first time, so the flavour was really unique for me and it was fun to put together. I wasn't sure if I liked the flavour of it at first when I tried it (being a molasses newbie and all) but I poured it all over my ribs and as they finished baking, the sauce got so deliciously thick and sticky and it was AMAZING! Those ribs were practically polished off in no time. I'll definitely make this one again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu February 10, 2009

I must admit I didn't measure anything but just went down the ingredient list and threw in approximations, but it turned out very good and I would definitely make it again! It's so simple yet so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Ed August 15, 2008

Loved the ingredients, because I don't care for liquid smoke. It was easy to make, the flavor was great and the ingredients were all on hand. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alyssond February 13, 2008

This sauce is excellent. I used it for the BBQ sauce in Pulled Pork (Crock Pot) Pulled Pork (Crock Pot). It turned out beautifully. Thank you for sharing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dawn's Karma May 31, 2007

Lorraine, Thank God for your grandfather. I made this last night and I thought it was missing something, it tasted a little bitter to me so I put it in the fridge overnight. Today I started with a saucepan on the stove adding olive oil with butter, then sauteing more onions and adding garlic, then adding coca- cola, honey, candied ginger, dark cane syrup, lemon juice, liquid smoke and more hot sauce. Then I added in your recipe I made last night. It cooked all day because the coke made it too thin for my taste. I put this sauce on pork spare ribs, that had been in the fridge all night with a dry rub on them, and cooked them in a little water, more coca-cola and smothered them in onions. I cooked them all day low and slow. They were really great. I will make this again. Thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Stevo September 01, 2006

Real easy to do and great tasting BBQ sauce. I think this would be good on just about anything. . . vegetables incluced. Thanks Lorraine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo July 15, 2004

Outstanding! Placed frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot with this on top. MMMMM....gooood.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M September 18, 2003
Kickin' BBQ Sauce