Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kicked up Baked Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kicked up Baked Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2013

      Love these! I added just 1/2 tsp. of brown sugar to the mix. I baked mine in the oven on non-stick foil in a sheet pan, drizzled with a bit of oil and salt for yummy skins. 400 degrees for 1 hour. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      OH MAMA. . .I just licked my plate clean!!! OOOH Doggie is that spicy mixture awesome (I did add about a 1/4 tsp of brown sugar)! I made two HUGE sweet potatoes and baked them for 1 hour at 375 and they were completely overdone (they were mashed without having to be mashed LOL). I coated the outside with olive oil and a little bit of seasoning salt (which had garlic in it and WOW did that taste wonderful with the combo of spices inside of the tater). I made mine vegan with vegan margarine and served it aside a salad for a perfect lunch. I will certainly make this again and will actually use that spice mixture on roast veggies in the future (perhaps a mixture of sweet potatoes, russet potatoes, carrots and radishes). YUM! UPDATE: So this is one of my favorite lunches and I make it often. I use a LOT of the spice on each potato and I also started using a little stevia instead of the brown sugar and that is just as tasty with less calories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      Love the kick from the cayenne & chili powder!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      I baked my sweet potatoes in the crockpot, so the skins were not attractive looking. Spooned the potato out of the jackets and mashed with a fork and topped with the spice blend. We loved these! I added a little bit of brown sugar for my son, and he was looking around for more when he was done. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      Yummy yum!!! I cut my sweet potatoes into thick cubes and roasted them in the oven at 425 and they came out great. I also added a little brown sugar and it was a great balance between spicy and sweet. Thanks Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Reluctantly gave this a try and decidedly glad I did! All I can say is "WOW"--this exceeded my expectations and I know I will try this in the future (maybe as early as tomorrow!) I loved how the cayenne and chili powder were perfectly balanced with the cinnamon...never would've guessed that it would taste this great, but so glad I know that now. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      We absolutely loved this recipe. DH swas recently diagnosed with Type II diabetes and I'm looking for healther ways to cook. I used Smart Balance in place of the butter and just sprinkled the spice combination on each half of our potato per each of our preference. Loved the fact that this did not have any sugar in them but still tasted just great. We halved one potato between the two of us and he still has leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Thanks Hope.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      This was a great concoction for sweet potatoes. I left out the butter and salt. Loved the cinnamon taste also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2011

      Loved it! Finally an easy recipe with no sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      Used all the ingredients given, but I did change two of the amounts, doubling both the butter & the cinnamon, all for a really AWESOME sweet potato side! Ana, although my other half isn't as fond of SPs as am I, he did manage to eat the 2nd one the next day! Thanks for a great keeper recipe! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC Tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      So good, so easy. The spice mix was perfect. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This was so amazing! I love these a million times better than any potatoe jackets (not the biggest fan) All the flavours went so well together. This ones going in my recipe book TY Hope

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I loved this!! We had these last night with steaks and couldn't get enough! I served them with "Saltgrass Steakhouse Honey Butter" in place of the regular butter and I had to cook them in the microwave a lot longer than the time you posted. But I started out with some HUGE potatoes! I poked holes in them and cooked them for 10 minutes then turned them over and cooked another 10 minutes. We will be having again soon!! Thanks mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I added brown sugar also as I knew it would appeal to my kids a little more. I will make these again as they are so simple and nutritious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Very nice way to add a little something to baked sweet potatoes. Don't be afraid of the cayenne - it doesn't make the potatoes spicy at all, it's just another element of flavor. I added brown sugar to the mixture as another reviewer suggested. I think next time I will also add some cumin and see how that tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      We tried this tonight for the first time. I added 1 tbsp. of brown sugar to the spice mixture. DELICIOUS! Even my kids liked it. Thanks, Mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I usually have sweet potatoes with butter/brown sugar/cinnamon but the addition of the extra spices in this recipe is really nice. I did add about 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I was under the impression that sweet potatoes were best when baked at a low temperature for, well, all day, but these turned out perfect at 350--I had to bake mine for 1.5 hours (old oven). I'll use this spice combo from now on; the quanity if perfect for 4 potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      I usually have sweet potatoes with butter and a sprinkle of salt, but I enjoyed this recipe. Even better, try a big dollop of sour cream on top!! I don't like the sweetened version

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      The wife ate these.... that alone means these should get 10 stars as the only time I've ever seen that happen was when they had brown sugar and marshmallows on them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kicked up Baked Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.8
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    23%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.0 mg
    3%
    Sodium 253.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes