Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kickass My Sacred Vegan Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kickass My Sacred Vegan Chili

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2012

      I read all the reviews and figured I have to try this recipe. It was good. A little bland for my taste but after a little tweaking, it was 4 star worthy. The cocoa powder threw me for a loop. It definitely added depth and texture to the taste buds. I added corn to my recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      I'm so confused. I expected this to be good, but I did not expect it to actually taste like chili. It is amazing. I made a half recipe, just in case I did not like it, but wow, it is good. I will definitely make this again. I used all of the optional ingredients. The only change I made was to add more spices, like cayenne pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      ALL the optional ingredients work well in this recipe and I recommend all of them. Not being a dogmatic vegan, I used beef bouillon, and I think that only 1 tsp of chili powder is being a bit meek, but both I (vegan) and my wife (non-vegan) think this is a great recipe. It's also great the second day to add almost any left-over veggie or rice thrown in with it for a quick lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Had to give this a try, even just because of the name! Never tried cocoa in chili before, it's realy good! My initial reaction was that the chili was good, but not that different from others I've made. Then I realized I had miscalculated the cocoa - works out to around 2 tbsp. So once I corrected that, it had a much more unique flavour. I used a dried bean mix (pinto/black/kidney/navy), so it's really thick. Wish I had the parsnips on hand, that would be great. Next time! Thanks, I'm going to let this sit overnight and serve it tomorrow. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      In total agreement here, this is one good chili, that is *vegan* and amazing! I didn't have parsnips either, so I just used the rest of the ingredients as directed. I did use the little courgettes, chopped as suggested and this made a nice little snap that I hadn't tried earlier. For mine, I upped the chili powder, and this is outstanding! Thank you, so much for a wonderful treat on this cold winter's night! Made for *I Recommend* Tag Game February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      A very nice chili with lots of veggies. I did leave out the parsnips but otherwise followed directions. I halved the recipe easily. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This recipe made it into Book#234320, originally reviewed 10/05/08. This recipe is so good, my meat-lovers can't wait for me to make it again, so I had to revise my rating to 5 stars. The recipe directions could still benefit from clarification: the recipe does not specify what cut is desired for onions, bell peppers, or garlic, or at what temperature the vegetables should be cooked. I cooked this for my lunch this coming week, but this household of manly meat-eaters said "give it 10 stars" for the taste. I used everything listed (including 2 quite large red bell peppers), although I chose 1 jalapeno chile, which turned out fairly mild. Note that courgettes are aka zucchini; I found some beautiful baby zucchini. The cocoa adds a wonderful mellow touch. I did my prep without any appliance, and it took "the slowest chopper in the Western Hemisphere" about 2 hours to prepare the vegetables before cooking. Barbie, please let me know what you use for your prep work. DH may force me to share, so I'll have to prepare something else for my lunches! This was worth the effort, thanks for posting your recipe, it rocks! Made for Fall 2008 Pick-a-Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      We just loved this recipe - when the kids knew it contained chocolate they were convinced and asked for seconds lol. Have never used chocolate in a chilli and it gave a wonderful flavour. It is a good dish to 'bulk' out by adding extra veggies or using some that you need to use up. I made mine in the slow cooker and it was delicious and the leftovers were just as amazing. Dont know what the previous reviewer is talking about...?? No instructions on how to chop an onion or what temperature you saute your veg at?? Bizaar! Anyways we LOVED it! Made as written except I put some sweetcorn in too. One of my favorite recipes now. Thanks Pornstarbarbie (luv the name lol) x

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      LOVED IT! 10 STARS!!! A Wonderful array of veggies and super FUN to make!!! I picked this playing "I Recommend Tag" and the recipe was brought to my attention by KatieL whom I must thank for telling me what courgettes are {{lol}}...This recipe caught my attention because of the clever name and the even more clever inclusions of COCOA &&&& THE PARSNIPS !!! {{YUM}}...I quickly lost interest in converting the recipe to "measurable memorable measurements" and just went at it with gusto :) I just wanted to celebrate the veggies and keep the beans subdued (a departure for us because often our chilli is bean or TVP based with the veggies as a co-star) I made some crazy big batch that included all the suggested veggies extra and then some{{lol}} (+++plus a yellow squash,+++ 3 peppers red, yellow and orange) & a couple of additional spices and seasonings (I just can't help myself when I get lost in the creative moment) ...I grated and rough chopped unsweetened chocolate mixed with cinnamon, nutmeg and some dehydrated chili peppers (from my summer garden), mixed in with some molasses and added that with the tomato paste (just smething i wanted to try)...loved the idea of using the bouillon cube that way (not done that before) it really heighten the levels of flavors... I like that the harder veggies kept some crunch- - loved the collection of colors and the layers of sweet, savory and spice...made for a terrifically cozy supper on a cold nite-served over cali-couscous, with crusty homemade bread and a cashew nut cream...delicious THANKS pornstarbarbie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kickass My Sacred Vegan Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 295.1
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    27%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 447.6 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.3 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 15.3 g
    61%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites