14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I usually double the recipe and use fat free milk. I omit the condensed milk and sweeten with 60ml of agave nectar. I like it with 1/4 tsp of cardamom.

This gets "sampled" straight from the pot and enjoyed when it's cooled.

It makes a terrific cool desert for after a nice spicy Indian meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ianw58 August 07, 2011

I love this recipe! It was so easy and delicious. I used 150g. rice, half whole milk and half skim, and whole cardamom pods. Thank you - I will be making this often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommycook October 04, 2010

This is even better than the kheer at our favorite Indian restaurant. My whole family loved it. I used green cardamom pods and ground my own cardamom to add as well. I just can't get over how terrific this is. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
das.schus September 11, 2010

Delicious and very easy! I reduced the milk to 3 3/4 cups, and increased the rice to 3/4, because I like it to be more ricey and less soupy. I used 1/4 tsp cardamom which I thought was perfect, but hubby found a little too much. And I added just a -touch- of rose water. I didn't find the almonds added anything and will leave them out next time. DELICIOUS!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl July 31, 2009

I made some changes to the recipe. This was a great jumping off point for creative cooking. I used a can of coconut milk along with 3 cups of whole milk. I also used about 1 and 3/4 cups of rice. I added a little bit of vanilla and used 1/2 cup each of almonds and pistachios. I used a whole tablesopoon cardamom powder. I thought it was delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muyfeliz April 03, 2009

I love this recipe!! I did tweak it because I like it much thicker. Here's what I did: I used 3 cups of skim milk for 100g of rice. I also used only half a can of condensed milk (because that's all I had) and it was plenty sweet. It was still too thin to my liking, so as I would in a rice pudding, I beat and egg that I warmed up slowly with the liquid before pouring it in. I left it on low heat and stirred until it was thick enough. Next time (because there WILL be a next time), I'll use 2 cups of milk for the same 100g of rice. Depending on the thickness, I may not add the egg. This was very nice... the only reason I gave it four stars is because of its consistency (which really is my personnal taste). Thanks for posting this :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geniale Genie February 09, 2009

Char, this was sooo yum and creamy. I used 2cups whole milk and 2 cups of skim and low fat condensed milk. I had to add 1/2c sugar extra to suit my family's tastes. I added a few drops of rose water for that 'shahi' taste. This recipe is way better than the ones you get at Indian restaurants. I found the same recipe on daawat.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisy M June 17, 2004

After years of going to a particular Indian lunch buffet on Fridays just so we could eat the AMAZING RICE PUDDING DESSERT my daughter asked the owner the name of the dessert. "It is called kheer" said he. "We should look up a recipe online when we get home" said she and we did! And this has far exceeded our expectations! This will be my 3rd time making it in as many weeks and I use a tea ball and fennel seeds and cardamom pods and a stick of cinnamon when I boil the milk. I also add pistachios at the very end and we LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgeweezie_8318418 April 22, 2010

The only change I made was to add about 8 whole green cardamom seeds to the milk in the first step (and kept them in throughout the entire process), to decrease the cardamom powder, and to add some nutmeg with the powder. The condensed milk gives this kheer a nice, gentle sweetness, and is not overpowering at all. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vengefulspectre September 28, 2009

Very tasty and so easy to make. Definitely a recipe I would recomment to anyone with sweet tooth....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabihah.mohamed September 19, 2006
Kheer - The World's Yummiest One!