8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

wow this kheer was amazing... i did make some changes to make it more pakistani/indianish: I left out the nutmeg... I added a pinch of safron along with the sugar... I left out the almonds only because i didn't have them ready for when it was time to add them... and I didn't use rose water because it's too strong. Instead I used Zewra Essence (it's called Screwpine in english... you can find at almost any Pakistani/Indian grocery store) and only one or two drops of it near the end when I was transferring the kheer from the pot to the serving dish. It has a great consistency and its taste matches :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chocolatelover#1 April 24, 2009

This was delicious warm and cool. It was slightly too sweet even after cutting down the sugar a bit. It tasted sweeter hot so we ate it cool. Mine didn't thicken up properly but that may be due to my use of plain rice milk rather than regular milk. I did cover the pot when cooking the rice in water but not the rest of the time. Like Mirj, another reviewer I used orange flower water rather than the rose water though I think it's not traditional in Indian Kheer we prefer it. I added additional cardamom pods per preference and took them out before serving. I left out the nutmeg both because we don't consume any intoxicant and because I think that's not traditional in Indian rice pudding. I may make this again as the taste was delicious but it would probably be a better consistency with milk. Made for India -- More Than Just Curries Tag Game -- March 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat March 08, 2010

This was a whole new experience for me, because I usually like lots of rice in my rice pudding (& raisins, too!), but still, this was well worth the effort, 'cause the pudding turned out to be wonderfully satisfying! Also something I'd be happy to make again! [Made & reviewed in the India ~ More Than Just Curries Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 07, 2010

It's a good base recipe but I had to use double the amount of rice and I used a combination of whole milk and heavy cream. I skipped the nutmeg and rose water. I didn't have any almonds on hand either but I prefer crushed pistachios. Overall it's an easy recipe especially since I have never made kheer before. I had to cook it for about an hour on low heat after adding sugar to soften the rice and get it to the texture i wanted. Thanks for posting, my husband will be so impressed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dumbell579 September 19, 2009

This was a delicious treat. I was unable to find green cardamom pods where I live so I omitted those. I will keep this recipe so when I find the pods I can make it again. I liked the addition of the rose water to this but the rest of my family didn't. Next time, I will use orange water. Overall, this was a lovely new experience for my whole family and one we will enjoy again. MADE FOR ZWT4 for the DAFFY DAFFODILS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers May 31, 2008

It's yummy but I think it's been cooking for an hour and a half and I was stirring all the time. Did I have to put a cover on it? Cause I didn't. Maybe that's why it was longer. I was patient loll But it's worth it. Instead of nutmeg, I used cinnamon. I like the addition of almonds. And the taste of cardamom. We have to remove the cardamom pods at the end? I used 3/4 cup of sugar. It's sweet enough. Thanks Toni :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 23, 2007

Ah, the joys of living in the Middle East! My local supermarket has its very own little spice market, with spices in barrels just emitting the most wonderful smells, tempting everyone to buy kilos and kilos of the stuff. Which I do! So with a house full of cardamon pods, amonst other wonderful things, I whipped up a batch of kheer last night. For me this was comfort food with a twist, a wonderful twist! Only two changes, I used Persian rice instead of basmati, and I hate rose water, so I used orange water instead (another Mid-East staple). I used a teflon pot and cooked on a low flame over a heat diffuser, so there was very little sticking to the bottom of the pot. This was divine warm last night, and I had some leftovers heated up in the microwave this morning for breakfast. Did I say divine before? Well, I'm saying it again, divine stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj February 25, 2007

The kheer turned out to be fabulous. I made it for a indian religious holiday. the only thing different i did was add saffron to the dish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
downloadjunkie September 07, 2005
Kheer