9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Its very important to let people know that the pressure cooker needs to be a low pressure not high....KFC use low pressure cooker...using a hign pressure is life threatning!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef YvesLauzon January 26, 2010

This does not give proper instruction you can not use a pressure cooker...this is meant for a pressure fryer....never use a pressure cooker to deep fry under pressure

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluemonkey September 13, 2008

We love this recipe. The only thing I changed was dropped the salt down to 1 Tablespoon & no MSG. Also, if you use boneless, skinless chicken you can use a regular deep fryer. Do everything as the recipe says, then put 2 - 3 tenders in the deep fryer. Flip them over after about 3 minutes and wait until they float. We have this at least once a month because we like it so well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWeezie September 12, 2012

DANGEROUS RECIPE! No home pressure cooker can be used for this recipe; you are better off using a deep fryer. This requires a commercial pressure fryer, which has a max pressure of 10 psi. You don't want to chance scalding oil blocking your vent. For example, Kuhn Rikon says to use a MAX of 1/4 cup oil for Light "Fried" Drumsticks - 2-Qt. Pressure Cooker and to use only LOW pressure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL February 18, 2014

This is about my 3rd re-review of this recipe. I'm not going to go into all details of what I posted first few times, but I'll give a short analysis. Basically at first I thought it was close to KFC but way too salty. I tried both cutting the salt to 1 Tbs and 1.5, and it only came out ok. No time was the texture like KFC. Then I went and bout some KFC original to compare, and I realized it was not as much like KFC as I thought. It looked like KFC but the taste and smell were not like KFC as much as I thought. I will try it again or I might have to tweak it. It was good, but more could be done to make it taste exactly or almost exactly like KFC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonic98 November 11, 2010

I can't rate this recipe,because I haven't made it. Why? because I have an electric pressure cooker, and after reading the first 2 reviews decided against trying it. (thanks YvesLauzon and Bluemonkey) This cooking method definitely needs clarification. I contacted the "chef" about this,hope to get some kind of response. My instruction manual for the cooker does not address cooking with oil, one way or the other. I was sooooooo looking forward to a KFC type of chicken, so will keep looking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arroz241_11561377 September 06, 2010

I found this to be quite salty. Is it really 3 Tablespoons salt?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datadoll November 15, 2006

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! We live 100kms away from our nearest kfc. Now I can make this treat for my family and they wont miss out. Many thanks !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieGal Tracey April 25, 2006

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur. It is from his book entitled "Top Secret Recipes". www.topsecretrecipes.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb October 13, 2004
KFC Original Recipe (Copycat)