Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / KFC Original Recipe Chicken (Copycat)
    Lost? Site Map

    KFC Original Recipe Chicken (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2011

      This was awsome! My family says it's better than KFC. Don't change a thing. I tried double dipping it because some of the family like a thicker breading and I also dipped it once. Both were great! I also mixed up alot of the flour/spices and put it in a container as I never know from time to time how much chicken I will be making. This makes it easier when I need just a little more breading but not a full batch. I will keep this as one of my favorite recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Excellent! If you follow the instructions this is easy to make and delish. Everyone ate more than usual, it was that good. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This is just great - and so close to the original recipe that I couldn't tell the difference. I made the coating but didn't have any white pepper (I will definitely go get some for next time). My chicken wings had been soaking in buttermilk, and this worked great! The chicken fried up crispy and delicious. I will try the method as writtten for the next round, and there will be a next round. I have missed having KFC breading in our house, and am glad to have it back - I will use this flour when I do fish, or vegies, or any other place that a seasoned flour could be used! Thanks, saves me from deconstructing it - I don't think I could have done as good a job anyways! Very authentic job - well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Oh my goodness! This is perfect! I do remember how Kentucky Fried Chicken tasted, but i think this is even better! We ate every piece, just the two of us. I wish there were ten stars to give.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      Very good! I made a double batch and went ahead and mixed the flour mixture with it. I had 5 chicken legs and it only took 3or4 Tbsp. of the mixture to coat them real good. I did everything exact except I did`nt have mace, I had all the other spices and herbs Although I made my own self rising flour recipe from Zaar, and just used regular flour instead of the Wondra. I`m going to put the rest of the whole flour/spice mixture in a container and put in the freezer, that way I`ll be ready to go, just do the brine and dip the chicken in egg and then the flour/ spice mixture and fry. Again, we loved it and now I have the mixture ready, so, super easy next time I make it! Its going into my Favorites/ make again folder. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This was a really good recipe...better than KFC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      This is the best fried chicken I've ever had, next to the one a dear family friend made. You can find the Vanilla bean at Williams-Sonoma

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      The thing that took the longest was grinding all the spices, I ground enough for at least 4 batches. My family Loved it!! most of us like crispy so I didn't bag it as in the instructions, however I made way more than we could eat so the leftovers were just like KFC. I will try double dipping a few pieces next time to see if it's more like extra crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      When I first read the ingredients, I had my doubts that this was THE 11 secret herbs and spices. Other recipes have included paprika, celery salt, sages, thyme, seasoning salt... you name it. This one seemed more suited to a chicken tikka or something. When I smelled the fennel, I was really expecting to not have any KFC tonight, but still something quite tasty. However, I was completely wrong! Not only is this as savory as the Colonel's, but my DH says it even tastes better! Another reviewer had mentioned it tastes better too, and I absolutely have to agree now. I has the perfect amount of kick to it, and I would never in a million years guessed it was the ingredients you listed. Consider me a believer now. I made an extra batch of the spices for tomorrow morning to have a proper Chicken 'n' Waffles breakfast. Thank you for all of your diligence in deconstructing the mysterious KFC recipe, and for sharing it with us. It's perfect and lacks absolutely nothing. I'm amazed. It really is finger-lickin good. If any other doubters out there are reading this, do give this fantastic recipe a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      all who will try this recipe will not regret it best damn chicken ever!!! the only way I will fry chicken from now on thanks for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

      Amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT!!! I've always tasted 'nutmeg' in the Colonel's Original Recipe. I'm trying this tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      I did a double dip for thicker breading and also used flour instead of the egg white powder. Good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      I've been quite impressed with the recipes posted by "The Spice Guru". His gifted palette, culinary knowledge, and deft use of seasonings are unique. I'm looking forward to experiencing more of his recipes in the future. Let's hope he continues to make contributions to this community of food lovers and I recommend its readers try more of his many great recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I have not tried your recipe yet, but just had to comment on it. I have known for many years that KFC had nutmeg in the seasoning mix. Yours is one of the few recipes that I have seen that includes nutmeg in the ingredients. Good job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      The Colonol never had a liquid batter...my mother used to work for one of the franchises...One of the ingredients that nobody has mentioned.. are you ready????? Curry... ever so little..Try it you will like it.Another thing they did was soak the fresh fryer parts in a salt water bath for 10 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      over the top and not that hard to make.will always have the fixings from now on thanks.black hills

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      This recipe is pretty good but I would definitely omit the Chinese 5-spice powder the next time. The flavor was very strong and it did not match the other spices. Also, I pan fried the chicken until brown then finished in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Chicken was juicy but not greasy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      To my surprise I was easily able to find every season except savory. I don't live in an area that has many herb and spice stores, international stores, or season other than the average every day stuff in the seasoning section. I'll have to try the recipe again. I tried to follow it exactly despite not having the savory and my deep fryer unable to go below 255, but I still wan't able to get the right flavor for the skin.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2014

      STOP SHOUTING! Jeez!<br/>I will try to open my eyes and read the recipe and give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for KFC Original Recipe Chicken (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.2
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    27%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 53.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2732.9 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.4 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    morton lite salt

    Accent seasoning

    Accent seasoning

    hickory smoke salt

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes