8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe and it is NOT KFC mac'n cheese. Its the same recipe posted on many other sites claiming to be the same as the one used by the colonel. This one is not as cheesy and tastes kind of flavorless. Kraft dinner tastes cheesier than this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAOS64 April 16, 2012

I doubled the recipe and omitted the baking part due to the other reviewers comments. It was great. My kids loved it. I wouldn't say it was like KFC's but it was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmn94 December 05, 2007

It was looking very good before I put it in the oven. Velvety cheese, not too salty, I couldn't wait. But when I took it out of the oven, the cheese kind of coagulated, which I certainly didn't expect from the Velveeta. It didn't separate like an all "real" cheese mac. It tasted fine, and DH didn't complain, but I was disappointed visually. Don't know what I did wrong... Next time I'll omit the oven and see what we think. Thanks for the recipe, QT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sidMILB July 01, 2007

My mom always used Velveeta cheese, so when I saw the ingredients, I knew I had to try it. It is very good, although I don't think it is like KFC because I don't think theirs is baked. During the baking, the macaroni absorbs much of the sauce. Perhaps it would be similar without the baking step. Any way, it's just what I was looking for. I did make these changes: I used 1/2 cup total(or more) of milk, added 1/2 tsp dry mustard, and some cracked black pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader September 26, 2006

This is good. I just made it for a bbq and the kids loved it. I did not bake it, and it was still great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JKRunning March 13, 2006

This is really good. DH doesn't like baked mac and cheese, so I did this without the baking. It still turned out great! I was impressed. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamia Motsinger August 16, 2004

Hubby was hungry for baked mac and cheese, but I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand for my usual recipe. I added a few grinds of fresh black pepper, a little dry mustard, and a little onion powder to the sauce. I crushed Durkees French Fried Onions and combined them with unseasoned bread crumbs for a topping. The recipe does not state an oven temp, but I baked at 400 for 20 minutes. Hubby loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. March 15, 2004

Very creamy mac and cheese. I doubled the recipe and added a can of hot rotel drained. Great side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom November 10, 2003
Kfc Macaroni and Cheese