Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / KFC Chicken Secret Spices Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    KFC Chicken Secret Spices

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2002

      This is an extraordinary find. It tastes just like it. Be careful though, this is potent. It is hard to pick which ingredients are missing because it is so close to the KFC taste, but one might be nutmeg. My dad has experimented for years trying to make us kids the KFC chicken but nothing beats this one. I will be glad after all these years to give my dad a free batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2002

      This is a very tasty spice mix. I recommend a bit more garlic if your a garlic lover like I am. It made about a cup so I have lots left over for more chicken. I pan fried the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      I don't think this tasted like KFC but it's the best chicken I've ever made! I used wings, legs, and thighs and removed the skin from the thighs. I rolled all the chicken pieces in the seasoned flour and roasted them in a hot oven for about an hour and a half turning them once during roasting. They turned out tender, juicy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Well Yooper, if you still haven't tried this yet then you should. I couldn't help it, I just had to find out for myself if it was the real thing. Well if it's not is sure is close. I had to play with the amounts of the mixture to get the flavor we enjoyed. I added 4 tablespoons to the flour and it turned out moist and flavoful. Have to admit, my fried chicken was always lacking in flavor but this time my family said I got it right. I have plenty left over for other times which makes prep time a snap. Thanks for sharing and making my family a believer in me again. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2002

      It made a nice, spicy coating for chicken , but I did not find it tasted like KFC. Did anyone else change the amount of anything in the ingredient list? I cooked it in the oven , maybe deep frying made the difference?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Excellent! Very close to the "secret spices" I remember from the early 70's KFC chicken. Also, does any one else remember that the crinkle cut fries that used to come with the chicken were sprinkled with the secret spices. After a couple of years they stopped this and served the fries plain. Too bad they used to taste great. I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to mine. Thanks for the memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      Well, I'm not sure what went wrong, I followed the recipe exactly....went to the store to buy a few spices I didn't have on hand so I would be making it exactly as the recipe called for. I even measured out one ounce of the spice mix on a food scale to put in the cup of flour. But the chicken was bland to me.. I was so disappointed! I guess I will try it again some time,since I have so much spice mix left, maybe doubling the spice amounts I add to the flour to see if that helps. I even added the 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg that Marta suggested. Hopefully I will have better luck with it the next time I try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      This was a good chicken coating, however we didn't seem to think it was like KFC. I simmered the chicken drumsticks first in milk & water (I had heard this makes the chicken tender), then coated in the mix before frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      I forgot the brown sugar and used garlic powder instead of salt, but it still turned out moist and tender. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      I really like this blend! I used it on chicken legs, didn't use the flour, just rolled the legs in the spices. I baked the chicken in the oven for 45 minutes at 350*. Next time I will try the flour. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2002

      this makes very good tasting chicken, I did add more garlic

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      In deed, its neer to the real thing of the 70's....The KFC we have now does not taste like we had at that time!!! I added some savory, nutmeg and took out the garlic and onion then cooked in low pressure cooker at 350 for 10 minutes. Many TNX

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      Wow, hubby and I loved this. I'm not sure if it tastes exactly like KFC, but it is darn close. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts to reduce the fat, then pan fried in light oil. I was extremely happy with the results. I can't wait to make it for my stepchildren sometime to get their reaction. Thanx for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Im a professional chef. This tasted NOTHING like kfc. It SMELLED similar, but once it was fried, it lost allflavor and was just decent fried chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      There is no doubt this recipe results in tasty chicken, but I didn't think it resembled KFC. Also, I found that one of the ingredients overcooked, possibly the chicken stock powder, giving a slight bitter taste to the coating.<br/><br/>Nice try though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      I couldn't find Lipton Tomato soup mix so luckily I found Tomato bouillon in the Hispanic section, it was just as good! I made it in my chicken pressure cooker (just like the colonel uses) and it came out fantastic. My DH said it was the best chicken he'd ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      I made this recipe tonight, was very disapointed after going out and buying the many spices that I did not have. This does not taste anywhere near KFC!! It was ok, but I would not make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I went against a personal predjudice and added the dry tomato soup mix. It seems to make all the difference. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      Finding this recipe made my day! I was absolutely delighted to see this recipe in your collection. For years this recipe or one almost identical was a staple in my kitchen ... then it went missing. Thank you for sharing, allowing us once again to enjoy an old family favorite. And we have been enjoying this wonderful recipe that is so easy to make and great to have on hand. I thank you and my family thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2005

      My HB and I didn't think this tasted like KFC, but I did leave out the tomato soup mix. Maybe that makes a big difference. My HB did like the coating, but I didn't think it was too different from most seasoned flour mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for KFC Chicken Secret Spices

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.9
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    12%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 2.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2996.1 mg
    124%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 57.1 g
    228%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomato soup mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites