24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These biscuits rose beautifully and had a wonderful texture and flavour. I didn't have self raising flour so I added baking powder and salt as one reviewer suggested. Will definately be making these again!! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmeenaO December 20, 2006

Great, fast, easy and cheap! I also used 1T of baking powder and 1/4 t of salt added to the flour instead of getting special flour. I just finished my second for breakfast with honey, the first had butter, and the husband is eating them with strawberry jam. I'll need to make creamed something to put on the leftovers. There is a hint of KFCness to them, the muffin shape is very practical too. Mine came out of greased tins perfectly and 10 was exactly what the recipe made. Good keeper recipe. I would never mess with rolling biscuit dough again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha November 10, 2005

If I have nothing nice to say I try to keep my mouth closed but these muffins had no consistency of a biscuit. They rose nicely, they are really pretty and great with jam and butter. Unless I missed a step and not only did I check but my Mom checked too. No ingredient or step missed but just nothing like a KFC biscuit. We named them flavor carrier muffins as all the taste like is what you put on them. They didn't even get my sausage gravy. I whipped up my old stand-by. it must be a reason it is my go to biscuit recipe first. I am so sorry to leave two stars but....just not even a biscuit. Nice muffin though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen September 19, 2013

Love the biscuits, they were great but really high in sodium unless your using some kind of special flour.'Self rising flour runs 350-400 mgs of sodium per 1 fourth a cup.Add the mayo and the milk and its even higher.Somewhere around 400 or more mgs per biscuit.Do the math.Just saying,so be careful if your on low sodium like me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrs laura June 24, 2013

Because the ingredients sounded very different from other biscuits I had to try it and glad I did. Made fine biscuits from only 4 ingredients - not quite what I would call soft high rise biscuits I'm used to baking but did good for 4 ingredients. Although I baked for the requisite time, they did not brown too well or rise well. Not flat, but would like to see more rise and I can certainly taste the mayo in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rinshinomori October 31, 2009

Very good but cake-like. They pretty much double in size. Next time I'll try buttermilk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missbanjo April 07, 2009

These were simple to make and yummy, I even forgot the sugar and they were still good. The texture is moist yet not doughy. I did what Eldeevee said because I hardly ever have baking cups but always have parchment paper, turned out fine although I had a hard time getting them to brown but that could be my oven. Thanks for the quick and easy biscuits Ashley

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia March 13, 2009

These biscuits are not the same as KFC but they are good nevertheless. I made them about a dozen times now and my family loves it, also this recipe is SUPER easy for a quick addition to any meal. Like another reviewer suggested I add 1 TB of baking power and 1/4 tsp of salt to regular flour to make them rise. Also rather then using baking cups I spray the pan and the top of the unbaked biscuit with butter and garlic flavored cooking spray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mainewmn January 09, 2008

We enjoyed the simplicity and taste of these biscuits, but found that about a 1/3 of the biscuit stuck to the bottom and sides of the paper liners. I will try them again as drop biscuits on parchment paper - that should eliminate that problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee August 20, 2007

I'm not giving stars because it was my choice to use fat-free mayo (that's all I had on hand)... do not try that! The biscuits looked lumpy, like drop biscuits, and the texture was very rubbery & not pleasant. Like I said, I think that's because of my fat-free mayo, so I'm not leaving a low rating... just wanted to warn others to stick with regular mayo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS May 30, 2007
Kfc Biscuits