32 Reviews

YES, BUT, you need to cut down on the salt. I'd go with 3/4 tsp instead. Way too salty...but did rise perfectly and better with butter instead of shortening. Nice and flaky. Also did use buttermilk instead of milk. (I actually used no fat powdered milk mixed w/water and added 1 tblsp of vinegar)
Enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbeats June 05, 2011

Perhaps I overworked them, but they were too dry. The dough was exceptionally wet when I cut it, so I didn't add any more milk, but perhaps I should have. They also didn't rise, but maybe they aren't supposed to. The kids loved them, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy March 02, 2011

Just an FYI - The recipe posted here is word for word from the KFC website - http://www.kfc.com/tips/ky_biscuits.asp

I don't know if they'd put their original biscuit recipe on there, but these look tasty and I'm going to give them a try. They have other recipes at the site as well, but not their chicken, unfortunately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idrow December 14, 2010

Really good biscuits! I made the dough in my KitchenAid. I had to cook them about 5 minutes longer, but otherwise was by the book. We had egg and cheese on the biscuits, smothered with gravy. Mmmmm.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster November 21, 2010

I saw one review that the lady said she would like them to be softer rather than crusty on the outside. If you place the biscuits closer together, the sides will be soft, and you can brush them with melted butter when they first come out of the oven and that will help make the tops soft. I made a double batch because I have company coming. I used 1/2 Tbs. salt and that was perfect for my taste. In the single batch, that would be 3/4 tsp. I'm going to be serving them to my guests with sausage gravy. I wonder what they will think of the biscuits when they are smothered in gravy. They may not realize how good the biscuits are. I used "buttermilk" instead of milk. I didn't have any buttermilk so put 1 1/2 Tbs. vinegar in the cup before I added the milk. The longer it sits, the more like buttermilk it will be. I ate 2 when they came out of the oven. I made that lunch! I couldn't help myself. These are the best I have made as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonhansen51 September 10, 2010

Recipe turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan & LaVaughn July 07, 2010

I was just searching to see if anyone had posted this on here already (I use the shopping list feature alot on here) I found these on the site recently and they ARE KFC biscuits. Hands down. I had my in-laws come over and they had one and asked what we got when we went to KFC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Morrgian April 30, 2010

These biscuits are pretty darn good. They are the best i have made at home so far, and ive tried many recipes from zaar. I wish i could get them to be a bit more light and fluffy like kfc. Ive tried making them bigger and thicker and cooking them less, but they always seem a little crusty on the outside, which is still very good! They do have a 5 star flavor (see note about less salt), but the tecture for me was 4 stars. Still wonderful though! And VERY good for biscuits and sausage gravy! oh yeah NOTE: I took the advice of Chef #1032885 and cut the salt down to 1/2 teaspoon! ITS A MUST! The first time i made them, they were also extremely salty. And this past time, i read that review and cut down the salt and they were perfect in taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dr_kaley November 26, 2008

I was so excited to try this biscuit recipe! When they came out of the oven, I could barely wait for them to cool, and when I popped a bit in my mouth...all I tasted was SALT!! There is way too much in the dough. I threw them out and made another batch just to be sure that I didnt do something incorrectly..and again the salt was so overwhelming that I threw them away. 3rd time's the charm, cut the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and they came out moist and delicious..... I recommended fixing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Mela November 18, 2008

I was just looking through my pictures album and saw my pictures of this recipe...I totally forgot to review these a few months ago when I made them! They were so delicious. Perect for biscuits and gravy. I will be making these again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo August 25, 2008
KFC and Kentucky Fried Chicken Biscuits