30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe gets 5 stars because it's easy, tastes great and is easily adapted to low fat. After wading through tons of key lime pie recipes, I think this is the only one I'll need. I used fat free condensed milk and no one could tell the difference. For the crust, I used 1 cup crushed Nilla Wafers, a tablespoon butter and 2 tablespoons brown sugar. The cookie crust went nicely with the lime. One suggestion. I read that adding a dash of citric acid ("sour salt") to the pie filling before cooking added a note of tartness. If you like to pucker a little bit when tasting key lime pie, then you may want to give the citric acid a try.

47 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 June 17, 2002

This is the perfect summer pie. Cool, creamy and a great lime favor. Also easy to make. If you are a lime lover, you really need to check this out. My family gave it a resounding thumbs up. Thanks Cher in Texas. This was a delightful treat.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 28, 2002

Again, another summer must have! So very easy to make and soooo very smooth. We all really enjoyed this pie and look forward to making a few more this summer!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's July 01, 2002

This was a fantastic pie. Not only did it have just a few manageable ingredients, it was extremely easy to make. The tartness of the lime was pleasant without being overwhelming. What a great idea to use the blender for mixing, making for ease of cleanup. I will be adding this to my list of essential summer recipes.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missyb33 August 25, 2002

Scrumpdillyumptious!! Oh wow. This is so yummy. A cool, creamy pie with a little tart lime flavor. THE perfect summer dessert. Easy too. Thanks Cher in Texas. This rocks!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes August 13, 2002

No reason to wait for the summer to make this. We had a winter BBQ tonight and I thought this would be the perfect dessert, and it was!! The only problem is I should have made 2 :-) Everyone LOVED this and I made 3 copies of the recipe to hand out tonight. Thanks

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana-MMH January 18, 2003

Today was our grandson's 12th birthday and I knew he'd rather have key lime pie than cake anyday, so I took a chance on this recipe. We weren't disappointed. It was as good as it was simple. The only problem I had was after baking for 20 minutes at 250F, it didn't seem firm enough so I cranked up the heat to 350F and baked it for another 10 minutes. I don't do desserts very often, but this I'll do again. Kudos Cher.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Sullivan November 25, 2002

This was great, although I didn't wait till the dog-days of summer to try it! I found Key limes in the store this week - a rare find! - so I made this for a taste of summer. We all liked it very much.Only thing my husband and I would change is to skip the Cool Whip/whipping cream next time. We thought the sweetness of the graham cracker crust was enough to counterbalance the tartness of the filling.I'm sure I'll be making this again - when Key limes are spotted. Thanks for the great recipe -and so easy!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP January 16, 2003

This is such an easy but great tasting pie. This will be on my summer picnic list.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W March 24, 2003

Thanks to receiving some graham crackers and key lime juice from our recent food swap, AND this printed recipe for Key Lime Pie my family were ooohing and aaahing over the flavours. Chilled pies arent a 'big' deal here in NZ, but they will be in this house from now on. We loved the tang of the lime juice and the crunchy crust, thanks for posting.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 10, 2002
Key Lime Pie