Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Key Lime Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Key Lime Pie

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2002

      This recipe gets 5 stars because it's easy, tastes great and is easily adapted to low fat. After wading through tons of key lime pie recipes, I think this is the only one I'll need. I used fat free condensed milk and no one could tell the difference. For the crust, I used 1 cup crushed Nilla Wafers, a tablespoon butter and 2 tablespoons brown sugar. The cookie crust went nicely with the lime. One suggestion. I read that adding a dash of citric acid ("sour salt") to the pie filling before cooking added a note of tartness. If you like to pucker a little bit when tasting key lime pie, then you may want to give the citric acid a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      This is the perfect summer pie. Cool, creamy and a great lime favor. Also easy to make. If you are a lime lover, you really need to check this out. My family gave it a resounding thumbs up. Thanks Cher in Texas. This was a delightful treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2002

      Again, another summer must have! So very easy to make and soooo very smooth. We all really enjoyed this pie and look forward to making a few more this summer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      This was a fantastic pie. Not only did it have just a few manageable ingredients, it was extremely easy to make. The tartness of the lime was pleasant without being overwhelming. What a great idea to use the blender for mixing, making for ease of cleanup. I will be adding this to my list of essential summer recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2002

      Scrumpdillyumptious!! Oh wow. This is so yummy. A cool, creamy pie with a little tart lime flavor. THE perfect summer dessert. Easy too. Thanks Cher in Texas. This rocks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      No reason to wait for the summer to make this. We had a winter BBQ tonight and I thought this would be the perfect dessert, and it was!! The only problem is I should have made 2 :-) Everyone LOVED this and I made 3 copies of the recipe to hand out tonight. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2002

      Today was our grandson's 12th birthday and I knew he'd rather have key lime pie than cake anyday, so I took a chance on this recipe. We weren't disappointed. It was as good as it was simple. The only problem I had was after baking for 20 minutes at 250F, it didn't seem firm enough so I cranked up the heat to 350F and baked it for another 10 minutes. I don't do desserts very often, but this I'll do again. Kudos Cher.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      This was great, although I didn't wait till the dog-days of summer to try it! I found Key limes in the store this week - a rare find! - so I made this for a taste of summer. We all liked it very much.Only thing my husband and I would change is to skip the Cool Whip/whipping cream next time. We thought the sweetness of the graham cracker crust was enough to counterbalance the tartness of the filling.I'm sure I'll be making this again - when Key limes are spotted. Thanks for the great recipe -and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2003

      This is such an easy but great tasting pie. This will be on my summer picnic list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2002

      Thanks to receiving some graham crackers and key lime juice from our recent food swap, AND this printed recipe for Key Lime Pie my family were ooohing and aaahing over the flavours. Chilled pies arent a 'big' deal here in NZ, but they will be in this house from now on. We loved the tang of the lime juice and the crunchy crust, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      This was a really great, and incredibly quick, pie. I used low-fat sweetened condensed milk, and regular lime juice. I am amazed at how tasty this pie is. Worth 5 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      While this recipe is very easy - it tastes rather flat. Too creamy, not limey enough. Almost tastes pre-packaged.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2003

      This was a very good pie. Very creamy and delicious but not tart enough. The key lime pies that I have always tasted had more tartness to them. More of a lime flavor. The next time I will add more lime juice but that was the only thing wrong. Other than that, it was absolutely delicious. Thank you, Cher.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I made this for my husband for Father's Day and he loved it! I thought it was a little mild as far as the lime flavor and I even added lime zest. I will try more lime juice next time. For someone who doesn't like a tart flavor, but would still like the lime flavor this would be a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was my first key lime pie to ever make. It's my husband's favorite so I thought I would give it a try. I thought the ingredients and directions were very simple. I even used a meringue recipe instead of the cool whip for the topping. I did add a few drops of green food coloring to it though. Just a tip, if you don't cover the entire pie with meringue (seal the edges) you will end up with a liquid between the top of the pie and the bottom of the meringue. This pie was much better the next day after it had sat up longer. I will try this one again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I really liked this pie. I made it for our little St. Patrick's get-together and our friends loved it! It's super easy to make. My husband liked it so much that I'm preparing a second pie for him. He said it tastes very "limey" and fresh. We're having a BBQ next Saturday and I was thinking in making a trifle, but I think I will bring this pie instead, because is easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Not being a good baker, this was an ideal recipe for me! So simple to make and had no problems with the flavors. Would try Claire #3's suggestion of using the Tartar next time. Could have used more of the filling as Janie stated but when you realize that the cool whip fits into that space you accomodate! Wanted to share with my boys but they got here too late! I ate the whole thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      Liked the flavor and how it was easy to prepare. To me, there wan't enough for a 9" pie crust. It was just too shallow. Maybe I will try increase the recipe by one half next time. Great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I'm on a search for the perfect key lime pie recipe, and while this pie is good it's not quite as spectacular as I wanted it to be. I agree with the person who said that it tasted a bit too much like sweetened condensed milk. I'll certainly make this again if and when I'm ever in a pinch and I need a nice, quick dessert because it's SO easy though. It's just not *the* key lime pie recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      this recipe was very easy to follow and the texture of the filling was excellent but it tasted a little too much like condensed milk. next time i'll dilute it with regular milk. I might try this recipe with other fruit like mango puree....Yum!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Key Lime Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 523.2
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    35%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 141.0 mg
    47%
    Sodium 346.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 77.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 64.3 g
    257%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites