Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Key Lime Cupcakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Key Lime Cupcakes

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 11, 2010

      I am ONLY rating the cake portion of this recipe. I did not make the frosting. The cake/cupcake was to DIE FOR! I had Key Lime juice and used that instead of regular lime juice - I personally think the Key Lime made all the difference in the world. MMM, MMM, GOOD! This recipe was very easy, considering I never have luck with scratch white cakes. I did omit the food coloring, and only had to bake the cupcakes for 20 minutes until done, but may check them at 18 minutes next time. The cake was dense, which I loved and it was very moist. I doubled the recipe and got 28 regular size cupcakes. I probably could have gotten 30 had I not overfilled a few of the tins. Definately HEED the warning, SCANT! The cupcakes didn't dome like I had hoped, but that's par for the course when I make white cakes, unless it's from a box. I paired this cupcake with a key lime filling and a key lime buttercream icing. Everyone at work RAVED! Thanks for posting this recipe. I saw it on the Bon Apetite website when I did a search, but came on here to see what different recipes there were. I was glad to see it was posted here and had some great reviews. This is a keeper and one I'll use for lemon cake, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      I found this recipe in a Bon Appetit issue, and I absolutely adored them, when I wanted to make them again, I lost the issue, so I looked here, and sure enough I found it. These cupcakes are so moist and flavourful. They are probably the best cupcakes I have ever eaten. No joke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      These were delightful cupcakes. They were light (kind of like a cake box mix) and had a slight hint of lime. Those who tried them only guessed they were lime because of the lime zest that was sprinkled on top of the frosting. I didn't have self-rising flour, so I simply used 1 3/4 c. flour + 1 1/8 tsp. baking powder + 1/8 tsp. salt. Everyone who tried them said they were good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      Had a last minute invite to dinner and needed to bring a dessert. This looked like a great summer cupcake and went together fast and easy. So glad I picked it as the taste was so good, just the right amount of lime tang. I followed the directions except added one drop of green food coloring to the frosting. The entire recipe came together fast, looked good and tasted even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      These were great cupcakes, but lacked a little in the lime flavor for me. The frosting was awesome and the cupcakes were moist and light. Next time, however, I might use a little more lime juice in the cupcake to make the lime flavor come through :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      This review is for the cake only (I did not make the frosting) The cake is FANTASTIC! I omitted one of the egg yolks and just used the white because I don't like dense cupcakes (1 egg 1 egg white). I used key limes for the juice and zest. I also poked holes with toothpicks in the cupcakes when I took them out of the oven and brushed them with key lime juice while they were still warm (a trick from a bakery I used to work at)...it infuses them with an extra hit of flavor. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      This review is only for the cake portion. I did not make the frosting because I didn't have any cream cheese in the house so I made a buttercream frosting adding in lime juice and lime zest. I made the cupcakes exactly as written but omitted the green food coloring and used the coloring for the frosting instead. The cupcakes turned out beautifully and tasted wonderful. The flavor of the cupcake did not have a strong lime flavor (in my opinion) but the frosting did so it all came together very nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Love the recipe. The cake was amazing. I altered the icing slightly by using have the vanilla and supplementing lime juice. It was very tasty and will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      I am rating the cake part of this recipe. I made a homemade vanilla bean icing infused with key lime zest, but the cake part of the cupcake was beautiful. I really like this recipe because I have had difficulty with other homemade recipes that came out with more of a cornbread texture. This cake was moist and it domed very well. My oven called for a slightly longer baking time at 28 minutes. The key lime was just right as it didn't overpower the vanilla bean icing but rather worked very well with it. This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      These cupcakes are great!! The lime taste was very refreshing. I used regular limes since key limes are hard to find in Qu├ębec at this time of year. I also used coconut oil instead of butter, which I think really added to the flavour. The recipe made 10 cupcakes. The icing made way more than I needed, so I froze it. Next time I am going to sprinkle the tops with freshly grated coconut. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Awesome recipe! Very easy to half and well received by all my friends. Taste like margaritas! Great for the summer. I think at Sprinkles they brush a little sweetened lime juice on tge top of the cake before frosting which I might try next time. I also found them to be dense so I might whip my egg whites separately before adding them. And I added extra zest to the frosting to make them more limey. Oh and I didn't have self-rising flour, so I also used 1 3/4 c. flour 1 1/8 tsp. baking powder 1/8 tsp salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Key Lime Cupcakes

    Serving Size: 1 (118 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.2
     
    Calories from Fat 206
    48%
    Total Fat 22.9 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 93.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 190.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 36.9 g
    147%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lime peel

    lime peel

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes