14 Reviews

This cheesecake is simply WONDERFUL! I topped it with kiwi and blueberries instead of stawberries. I'll try the strawberries next time, and there WILL be a next time. Because the texture of this cheesecake is so fluffy, it falls apart when you cut it. Consequently, it would be a good candidate for individual cheesecakes. I think I'll go with that next time, so the presentation is prettier. The flavor and light texture make this a delight to the tastebuds! I used Zylitol instead of sugar, which worked out fine. I also sub'd lime oil for the lime zest, which also was fine. (Lime oil is different than lime extract I think.) I wrapped the pan in foil and baked it in a water bath. It didn't seem done when the time was up, so I left it in the still warm oven (heat off) for an extra 15 min. or so. That did the trick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest July 02, 2010

The only thing wrong with this cheesecake is that it was FLUFFY! My family and I prefer a thick and creamy cheesecake, but that's not a big deal--next time I simply won't add the egg whites. The flavor was great, and so was the sauce! Great for summer! Thanks so much! Definitely a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candice H. June 18, 2010

Super Scrumptious! Instead of the strawberry butter I made a compote of tangelo, orange, kiwi, and mango to go on top, and let me tell you - it's to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolate Covered Mimz May 31, 2010

I just realized that I owe this recipe a review because it was my introduction to Recipezaar back in 2005. First recipe I ever made from Recipezaar and wow! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out heavenly! It did crack pretty badly on top, but I covered the whole thing in the strawberry sauce which made for a pretty presentation and was delicious! Everyone raved! A perfect end to our Mexican dinner/marguerita night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca Louise March 23, 2010

I had a customer request a key lime flavored cake so I used this recipe. Unfortunately I did not get to taste it since I was selling it but I followed the instructions to a tee and it turned out fabulous. Cooking time was spot on and I only had one small crack. I covered the top of the cake with the strawberry sauce and piped whipped cream around the edges. Then I sprinkled the top with lime rind and made a flower out of one of the key limes for the middle of the cake. Looked beautiful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C Mac January 25, 2009

Light & tasty dessert! This cheesecake compliments fish and seafood meals perfectly. This is my husband's favorite cheesecake. We have made this several times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacia Hayes September 07, 2007

This is the 2 time I've made this cheesecake.I added a bowl of water in the oven this time while it was baking and that really helped to reduce the cracking of this cake I will bake it next time at a lower oven temp.The texture is light and airy from the egg whites.The lime is very refreshing.A beautiful presentation and simple to make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oilpatchjo February 07, 2007

Made this for my Mom's birthday - I followed the recipe exactly - I even used fresh Key Limes (it took 17 of them to make 1/2 a cup of juice) except I baked it at 325 in a water bath, it took about 70 minutes and the cheesecake turned out perfect! A few small cracks but nothing that a little whipped cream and a piping bag couldn't fix. Everyone loved it - especailly my Mom!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
City_Gurl April 12, 2006

I made this cheesecake quite some time ago, and saw a review today, realizing that I needed to add mine--I did not use the egg whites nor the rind,but ended up with a very good cheesecake. No cracks, no problems of any kind. I also omitted the sauce but the cheesecake was perfect with a bit of whipped cream on top. BTW, had a slice for dessert last night--straight from the freezer-this freezes like dream. Five stars from a Cheesecake snob.----PeggyLynn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peggy Lynn October 11, 2005

This was a disaster. The cake cracked horribly(I even tried the pan of water trick), and the cake crumbled as I tried to cut it. The flavor was good, but not worth all the work. I used fresh key limes which took a long time to squeeze. It also took a long time to get all the needed peel from them. Lots of time and dirty dishes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy in Texas October 10, 2005
Key Lime Cheesecake With Strawberry Butter Sauce