25 Reviews

These were a hit at a dinner party.The topping is wonderfully tart and the crust is particularly good - plan to use the crust for other goodies. Thanks.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilu August 05, 2002

Very good! Although I used regular limes, it was slightly too tart for me, (key limes definitely would have been too tart for me), so next time I'll add an extra tablespoon or so of sugar. I didn't make the crust as written, since I didn't have vanilla wafers on hand, but made a simple graham cracker crust instead. Next time I will try the original crust; it sounds really good!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meryl September 09, 2002

As you can tell from my picture, I added a little bit of green food coloring. I just liked the contrast of colors. They always get rave reviews. I like adding more cream cheese and an extra egg.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annathechef December 31, 2009

Congrats! your recipe was featured on our homepage as the "Recipe of the Day!" (7/31/11)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food.com August 01, 2011

Easy desert for a Caribbean meal. Mine was a little bitter so don't know if I put too much zest in as I didn't measure. Will try again and measure next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 24, 2011

With the exception of calling for a little too much lime, this is pretty much the perfect cheesecake recipe. Very, very creamy (especially if you use a water bath.) I think it's the tapioca/corn starch that does it. I'll definitely be making this again! (Hint: double the filling amount and adjust the cooking time to make a full cheesecake instead of bars.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TAHINAZ July 03, 2010

I would give a 4.5 if I could, since I can't I'll rate them a 5. I topped these with real whipped cream, as when I tasted them on their own, they were too sour. The Whipped cream added just the right touch. I brought these to a family reunion, the adults loved them, but they were too sour tasting for the kids. I don't know about the easy part, squeezing all those tiny key limes was a pain, LOL! I'm sure I will make this again, I may add more sugar next time though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dannygirl August 09, 2009

These were very easy to make, and disappeared at our Memorial Day get together. I made a regular graham cracker crust, but next time I will add a little more butter than stated, because the crust was pretty crumbly. It sounded like these were going to be pretty tart, by the way the reviews let on, but I didn't think they were at all. Just perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds June 06, 2009

made a crust with some cookies i had on hand and made the cheesecake with tapioca starch and substituted lemon juice and did not include the zest. however, it was way too sour for me and i honestly love sour things. i think it just didn't do it justice, but perhaps it was because lemon juice and lime juice are different? it set fine and i didn't encounter the problems that some others did. i baked it in a round 8" pan and it rose wonderfully, but slowly sank back down when it cooled down. it was still very tasty, just would decrease the amount of citrus juice by a good amount. if i wanted a more substantial cheesecake i would probably double the amount of filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyk April 28, 2009

I brought these to work for a Mardi Gras party and people RAVED about them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tera Lynn June 25, 2008
Key Lime Cheesecake Squares