13 Reviews

I made cup cakes out of this recipe and they are delicious. I baked them at 350 deg. for 16 min. I got 36 cup cakes and sprayed the foiled cup cake tins with Pam cooking oil. Flavor is wonderful... will be making these again. Thanks Paula!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
connie w. April 04, 2015

As much as I like following a recipe right on down the first time around, I also like using a lot of the indicated citrus zest! So I was very generous with the key lime zest in this recipe (forget being subtle!), & we had a wonderfully flavorful dessert with this one! Loved the frosting, too, & will be making this cake again, for sure! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made &reviewed in Zaar Cookbook Tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 22, 2011

Horrible. The cake is about 3" tall and recipe only yields 2 9" layers not 3. Interesting no salt in recipe. Overall I had to find another recipe. Didn't like the crumb and it really lacked the lime flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djackson926 March 06, 2016

I have baked this cake twice & got great reviews!! I have a preference for the Ghirardelli White Chocolate as the frosting. It has a subtle key lime taste as described. My only problem is that the cake didn't rise & was very dense!! Any suggestions as to why!? Other than that no one really noticed & like I said before I received great reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherodsockwell August 20, 2015

Although this is a very moist and delicious cake, I did not get the key lime flavor I was looking for. I think something is missing in this recipe. If you want a good cake try this one but if you want a strong key lime taste this is not it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef LaLa #3 December 07, 2010

Delicious! A delicate, fluffy cake with a subtle lime flavor. And the icing is soooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain September 06, 2009

Awesome! I am going to make this cake for my sister who loves Key lIme!!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) July 04, 2009

Oh god, Paula has done it again. Man this lady is a genius! I swear, I have never gotten a bad recipe from her. She is amazing. You're a genius as well for posting this amazing recipe. It was so refreshing and delicious. I made it nearly a month ago, and my mother cannot stop talking about it. She's telling everyone how great it is! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
young n' fun February 18, 2009

What can I say - It a major winner. We all love Paula Deen, However we also love SweetsLady for posting it here for us. Light and yummy! This will be on our regular rotation list!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starfire (aka Wendy) December 20, 2008

This was such a great cake. I made it for my friends birthday. I had never made a cake completely from scratch before, but this was fairly easy. The cake was very moist and the subtle lime flavor was awesome. Great frosting too. Thanks so much for posting. made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo July 26, 2008
Key Lime Cake With White Chocolate Frosting (Paula Deen)