Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kevin's Best Corned Beef Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kevin's Best Corned Beef

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2001

      This recipe sounds delicious, and I'm definitely going to use it next time I make corned beef. Just a thought---Mom was Boston-bred Irish and swore that whenever you cooked corned beef, you should always put it in plain water with a tablespoon of cider vinegar; bring to a boil and then discard the water. Supposedly this cuts the grease that the meat gives off during the actual cooking. Anybody else ever heard this?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2001

      I had never cooked a corned beef before and wanted a recipe to serve family for St. Patrick's Day. Found this recipe via the Internet and tried it. Everyone at dinner raved about the tenderness of the meat and the flavor. They continue to talk about how good it was. The recipe was easy to follow and everything turned out perfect. In fact, they asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2001

      What about the creamy white sauce. Corned beef needs this to be VERY YUMMY. check out my recipes I have a recipe for white sauce that I use on corned beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      Kevin this recipe is really good! I've made the recipe several times. This time I'm trying the recipe without vegetables in the pan as they havent turned out as tasty as I have expected in previous attempts. For those who LOVE corned beef, you will LOVE this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      You're right, Kevin! This WAS the best corned beef I've ever tasted. The meat was tender and juicy and the cabbage was a good accompaniment. I found the other veggies to be a bit bland though. Next year, when we make this recipe, we will try putting all the seeds into an infusion ball (a mesh ball used by loose tea drinkers) so we don't have to pick them off the veggies and meat. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2001

      A suggestion to try: After cutting the fat off the meat (step 15), I often spread the meat with a mixture of equal parts honey and mustard and bake at 350 for about 15-20 minutes. It's an extra step but it puts a tasty glaze on the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2001

      Wow!I came here looking for a recipe for corned beef because I had never cooked one before. I had to buy most of the spices but it was well worth it. The recipie was easy to follow and my 7 other guests raved about the flavor. They said they could have not gotten a better meal in a restaurant. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2000

      easily the best i have ever had. juicy flavorful, not dry. the vegetables retain crispness as well, not bland at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      The very best flavor. Absolutely wonderful. I do think it needs to be cooked longer, though. I usually go an extra 25 minutes to ensure absolute tenderness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      YES! Dee-lishious just the way it was, in my book! Loved the mustard and horseradish side, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      Really easy and GOOD

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2001

      This is without a doubt the best I've ever eaten. I served it to someone who said they don't usually like Corned beef, but she loved this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2001

      I tried Kevin's recipe for the Corned Beef and the recipe on the package of another pre-prepared brisket. The aroma and texture of Kevin's preparation were exciting. A fine blend of liquids and spices.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2001

    • on March 17, 2012

      This is the best CB recipe I've ever made, but I've found that 15-20 minutes for the potatoes was not nearly enough. Maybe it's the size of slices of potatoes I'm using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      This was the first St Patrick's Day that I attempted corned beef and cabbage. I had bought a brisket and didn't realize that it needed to be a corned beef brisket. So, I found Corned Beef Brisket - from Scratch and brined my brisket before using this recipe to simmer the meat. That meant that we didn't get corned beef until a week after St P's day (due to brining), but wow was it worth the wait! The combination of these two recipes made the best corned beef EVER!!!! Thanks, Kevin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Very good corned beef recipe. The cabbage definitely benefited from this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      The best corned beef recipe I've ever used. I didn't have malted vinegar or dill but it was still really great. This recipe adds a lot of depth to the taste making it all to die for. My guests literally cleaned their plates of every drop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I cut the recipe in half to serve four people and now I wish I didn't. My friends couldn't get enough of it. I'm going to make it again soon, but this time I will make a full portion. I'm sure it won't go to waste ;-) Hmmm, I wish I had some right now to make a Reuben. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      Good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kevin's Best Corned Beef

    Serving Size: 1 (631 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 756.5
     
    Calories from Fat 398
    52%
    Total Fat 44.2 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 222.1 mg
    74%
    Sodium 2783.7 mg
    115%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 46.9 g
    93%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coarse grain mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites