14 Reviews

1st try, I burnt it. 2nd try I added the sugar salt combo after the 1st kernal popped. 2nd time I also kept it on low and it worked fabulous. The kettle corn tastes just like the farmers market. It's addicting! PS used canola oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpeppin May 15, 2009

A little too salty, but not a problem to cut back. I would use 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon next time. Can't say enough good things about the Whirley Pop. On my electric stove top, I set it on "8" with 10 being the highest. Never have a burn problem, but I stir most of the cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haniski January 18, 2016

I have to add to the "I burnt the first batch list"! After that, it was a real winner in this house. Electric stove, keep it on 4 or 5 (had it much higher at first, as when doing regular popcorn), and remove immediately. As an added bonus, I was able to (shortly after) compact it into popcorn balls! Careful, can burn hands easily!!! Thank you for the great idea and recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newsome.matt79 December 19, 2015

This was easy, great tasting, kettle corn. Followed another reviewere comment to let the oil coat the sugar and voila, perfect on 1st try with no burning! Used 3/4 tsp of salt which was perfect for us. Flame was medium low on gas stove. Love my whirley pop!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
divasjl-Pittsburgh January 08, 2015

Just tried this and burnt it :( was so disapointed. Going to take other reviewers suggestion and dump the sugar in after the first pop and try on low<br/>I bought the whirley pop to specifically make kettle corn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiec May 07, 2013

I've had my Whirley Pop for years, but I always lose the recipe. I found this perfect formula today, and popped 2 beautiful batches of kettle corn. I use Orville Redenbacher corn, and it pops a full to the top pot. I add the corn, oil, and sugar to the pot off the heat, and crank it until the sugar is wet from the oil. This prevents sugar from burning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaronsmom May 31, 2012

First try... kids loved it. Our corn kernels were a little old and I was afraid they wouldn't pop, so we put in extra and it made a ton. I think I would have liked it better with less popcorn (higher ratio of salt and sugar to popcorn)... my bad!

Thanks... we have had the Whirley pop for years and now I have finally used it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW November 20, 2011

Turned out great! I am making it as Christmas gifts this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenk December 22, 2010

Oh THANK YOU for posting this! I had tried another recipe, but it was nothing like this. SO yummy!!! I used coconut oil, and had mixed reviews on the salt factor, so will decrease a little for next time. Everyone wants me to make it again tho... many times! :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdantoinette April 13, 2010
Kettle Corn in a Whirley Pop