12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

1st try, I burnt it. 2nd try I added the sugar salt combo after the 1st kernal popped. 2nd time I also kept it on low and it worked fabulous. The kettle corn tastes just like the farmers market. It's addicting! PS used canola oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cpeppin May 15, 2009

This was easy, great tasting, kettle corn. Followed another reviewere comment to let the oil coat the sugar and voila, perfect on 1st try with no burning! Used 3/4 tsp of salt which was perfect for us. Flame was medium low on gas stove. Love my whirley pop!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
divasjl-Pittsburgh January 08, 2015

Just tried this and burnt it :( was so disapointed. Going to take other reviewers suggestion and dump the sugar in after the first pop and try on low<br/>I bought the whirley pop to specifically make kettle corn

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiec May 07, 2013

I've had my Whirley Pop for years, but I always lose the recipe. I found this perfect formula today, and popped 2 beautiful batches of kettle corn. I use Orville Redenbacher corn, and it pops a full to the top pot. I add the corn, oil, and sugar to the pot off the heat, and crank it until the sugar is wet from the oil. This prevents sugar from burning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaronsmom May 31, 2012

First try... kids loved it. Our corn kernels were a little old and I was afraid they wouldn't pop, so we put in extra and it made a ton. I think I would have liked it better with less popcorn (higher ratio of salt and sugar to popcorn)... my bad!

Thanks... we have had the Whirley pop for years and now I have finally used it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW November 20, 2011

Turned out great! I am making it as Christmas gifts this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenk December 22, 2010

Oh THANK YOU for posting this! I had tried another recipe, but it was nothing like this. SO yummy!!! I used coconut oil, and had mixed reviews on the salt factor, so will decrease a little for next time. Everyone wants me to make it again tho... many times! :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdantoinette April 13, 2010

I just made 2 batches of this Kettle Corn for a girl's slumber party tonight. Love it! I have to stop snacking NOW.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dona England October 02, 2009

1st try, I followed the recipe exactly, but found it a bit too salty and a bit too sweet for my taste. (The amount of sugar was halfway to caramel corn, and a little too sticky for my house!) On the second try I used about 1/4 tsp popcorn salt, which evens out the salt dispersion! Sugar reduced to about 1 1/2 tsp, which turned out perfect for me. The popcorn was really light and airy, with a nice sweet crunch that isn't overwhelming with a really good ratio to salt. Easy to eat!! God bless the makers of Whirley Pop...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tgundale September 16, 2009
Kettle Corn in a Whirley Pop