Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kettle Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kettle Corn

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2001

      This is terrific stuff, we used to make a trip to the local farmers market to get it. Now whenever the wife's feeling glum I whip her up a batch and it bring a smile to her face. I use 3 tblspns of soy bean oil + 1 tblspn of butter for the popcorn (oil type does make a difference)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

      I've been buying Jolly Time's Kettle Mania microwave popcorn for awhile now and I love the stuff. This is equally good, not to mention much cheaper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      Hey, thanks for posting this, we found this popcorn last year and really love it!!!! Now we no longer have to buy it all the time, we can just make our own. My FIL is a midwest farmer and in the past has grown his own "popcorn".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      I love homemade popcorn of any kind and enjoy experimenting with seasonings. I'm watching my caloric intake, so the fact that I can eat a high volume of low-cal popcorn and control the sugar (I reduced the quantity) is wonderful!

      For those who have trouble with scorching/burning, consider this approach:
      Heat the oil and one kernel of corn. Once that kernel pops, then add the sugar and the remaining kernels. This allows the sugar to caramelize as the popcorn is heating/popping reducing the amount of time it's on direct heat. The color of your final sugar-coating may be clear or light brown depending on the heat/timing - but it will be crunchy and sugary either way.

      Other helpful tips:
      *Use a Teflon-coated pan until you master the technique. It's much easier to clean burned sugar off Teflon than metal.
      *Use a lid with a steam hole or keep the lid slightly ajar when not shaking, to allow steam to escape. Steam can hinder the popcorn's true crunch potential.
      *Use an over-sized pot to allow the popcorn to circulate and promote even caramel coverage.
      *If you prefer to use olive oil, look for one that is NOT labeled as "virgin" or "extra-virgin." Non-virgin olive oil can be heated at a higher temp without smoking. Many oils these days will indicate their heat factor on the label.

      Happy Healthy Snacking!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      So simple, and so delicious. I took it to a party and had everyone clamoring for the recipe (no one would believe it was that simple). I used about 2 Tbsp of canola oil in my Whirlypop machine, and managed to have no scorching. All I added was a few shakes of salt while it was still warm. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This is yummy, a real treat! I've made it twice - the first time I didn't shake it constantly, so the sugar scorched some in the bottom of the pan. The second time I used Steve G's suggestion for the amount of oil and kept that pan in motion while the corn popped. Much much better than the bags of kettlecorn fixed in the microwave. Thanks for the recipe, James.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      This was fantastic! I tried using a different, more complicaetd recipe for this before with disastrous results that ruined my cooking pot! This recipe was easy, and delicious! Just like the kind you buy at the zoo or the fair!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Good recipe that I will use again. I needed to add salt. Also, we did end up with the black gunk at the bottom of the pan. This is good stuff though, seriously. Made my kids' day! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I'm clearly missing something because all I get is severely burned "sugar" that has turned jet black. I end up with charcoal popcorn. Tried this twice. Is there some trick the recipe is leaving out? I wish it was a little more specific so I could know what was going wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Like Mystia,I like coconut oil because you can bring it to higher temp.without burning and get a complete pop(no old maids).Raw coconut oil isn't a promotor of free radials like many veg.oils.I have seen soybean oil go rancid in after a few months of storage.I use raw sugar and less sugar is ok because I don't care for clumps of carmelized corn.If you want cracker jacks then by all means increase the junk but it has to be added after the corn is popped.The idea is to have a light,sweet and salty treat and not kill your arteries.LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      This was really,really GOOD! I was searching the site looking for something to suit my mood; something sweet...but not overly sugary, something salty but not too savory. And then I found this recipe, it was JUST what I was looking for. And it helped that I normally make my popcorn over the stovetop, so I pretty much knew what to do. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      THIS IS SO GREAT! I'm 7 months pregnant, so having cravings go bad is extra devastating. I was prepared for another tear-jerker with this recipe, and DIDN'T GET IT! I used Mr. G's advice on 3 tablespoons of oil and shook, shook, shook. The results were perfect. Don't forget the salt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Easy to make and tastes great. I find that using a splatter screen (like the kind you use over a frying pan for bacon) keeps the oil and popcorn from going all over and yet lets it get the air it needs to pop correctly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I too spend a boatload of $$ at the fair on this stuff...........EASY, and definitely just as good as what you can buy. just make sure the oil is hot (drop a kernel or two in the oil, when it pops, add the rest) THEN add the sugar......:-) YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      it was really good, but not like the microwave bag type. maybe i did it wrong, but i ended up with more of a crunch'n'munch style popcorn- where there was a hard sugary coating on each piece of popcorn. maybe i should have let the oil get hotter first? anyone have any thoughts? it did taste good, just would rather have it without the hard coating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      I had no idea this could be made at home! Kettle corn is our favorite microwave corn. This recipe was great, no chemical taste, inexpensive and super easy! I don't think I could eat the microwave stuff again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      Wonderful! I made this with coconut oil and added salt in with the oil in the beginning and it was GREAT! Nice texture, awesome taste and no yucky chemicals, like in microwave popcorn! This recipe is going into my private collection to pass down to my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      Easy and delicious! Make sure and add just enough popcorn, not too much, or it won't pop (I usually overfill and just dump the popped kernels into a bowl and put the pan back on the stove until I have more popped kernels, but the sugar makes it sticky and you can't dump some out without dumping it all out!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      Fantastic, cheap and incredibly easy, plus no strange ingredients. The kids loved it for movie night. Two tablespoons of oil was perfect in my whirly pop stove top corn popper..and no unpopped kernels or burnt popcorn. It's important to let the popcorn and oil get hot before adding the sugar to prevent burning. We'll make this often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      This was OK. My husband liked it. Maybe I got the oil too hot, but the sugar seemed to carmelize and burn a little too soon leading to a slightly burnt taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kettle Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 29.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes