18 Reviews

Hi, I'm Indonesian. In my opinion, I will only use soy sauce and brown suggar for making kecap manis. Each one part, for example 1/2 cup soy sauce and 1/2 cup brown sugar. That would be enough. If you make it too complecated like this, I'm afraid it won't taste authentic Indonesian kecap manis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne P. May 30, 2016

I love my ketjap but moved to a country where it is basically unavailable (except for over expensive and far-away expat-import shops). This recipe was my saviour. It tastes very good and very similar and the ingredients list is very simple. Thanks a lot!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coffee&Rusks November 17, 2015

I made 1/3 the recipe (1 cup) for my Asian cooking. Used in Nasi Goreng and enjoyed the sweet-salty taste. I will be storing in the fridge to use in Bourbon Chicken also. I love that I can "make" the condiments to keep on hand. Made in memory of Silent Cricket.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn May 28, 2010

All I can say is WOW!!!! This is so yummy! I made it to use in a recipe I saw on TV yesterday and it's all I can do not to eat this straight with a spoon! I decreased the molasses (used 4T of fancy) and it's wonderful. I do a lot of asian inspired cooking and won't be without this wonderful condiment in my fridge from now on! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 May 04, 2010

Incredibly easy, and has a distinctive sweet-salty taste that should lend itself well to Bourbon Chicken #305109. It was a lot faster to make than all the stores I checked in vain! I plan to revisit this review after I have made Bourbon Chicken. Made for Asian Forum's Cooking with Sauces Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 30, 2009

A guest complained of the smell cooking this caused, I agreed that it smelled just about the furthest thing from appetizing you can get lol. I also used less then half the molasses amount called for and it still smelled strongly of it. I dared not taste this on its own but used it instead to make Bourbon Chicken, I've got the small amount I have left stored in the fridge still since it keeps for so long to use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle April 07, 2009

I liked this just like the recipe was. But here in finland our molasses can be little milder, I´m not sure. This was better than store bought. Thank for you recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kotiäiti from Finland March 16, 2009

We miss you SilentCricket and may you rest in peace. I made this delicious recipe to use in Bourbon Chicken it was just awesome. I cut this down to 1 cup and after the reduction I had 1/2 cup, just enough for the recipe I was making. I did use a bit less molasses based on some of the other reviews. This is so very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas December 23, 2008

Yes the molasses flavor is too dominantfor our taste. Next time I would start with one Tbsp. and go up with it as I tasted it. Molasses may be a wonderful and accepted flavor in much of the world but I don’t that is the case in the US. I’d also like a little more ginger added to it. Interesting and unique flavor that unfortunately tastes like a molasses sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim November 28, 2008

Easy and handy. I made one third the recipe and it worked out great for the recipe I made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. May 28, 2008
Ketjap Manis