16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made 1/3 the recipe (1 cup) for my Asian cooking. Used in Nasi Goreng and enjoyed the sweet-salty taste. I will be storing in the fridge to use in Bourbon Chicken also. I love that I can "make" the condiments to keep on hand. Made in memory of Silent Cricket.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn May 28, 2010

All I can say is WOW!!!! This is so yummy! I made it to use in a recipe I saw on TV yesterday and it's all I can do not to eat this straight with a spoon! I decreased the molasses (used 4T of fancy) and it's wonderful. I do a lot of asian inspired cooking and won't be without this wonderful condiment in my fridge from now on! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andrea185 May 04, 2010

Incredibly easy, and has a distinctive sweet-salty taste that should lend itself well to Bourbon Chicken #305109. It was a lot faster to make than all the stores I checked in vain! I plan to revisit this review after I have made Bourbon Chicken. Made for Asian Forum's Cooking with Sauces Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 30, 2009

A guest complained of the smell cooking this caused, I agreed that it smelled just about the furthest thing from appetizing you can get lol. I also used less then half the molasses amount called for and it still smelled strongly of it. I dared not taste this on its own but used it instead to make Bourbon Chicken, I've got the small amount I have left stored in the fridge still since it keeps for so long to use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle April 07, 2009

I liked this just like the recipe was. But here in finland our molasses can be little milder, I´m not sure. This was better than store bought. Thank for you recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kotiäiti from Finland March 16, 2009

We miss you SilentCricket and may you rest in peace. I made this delicious recipe to use in Bourbon Chicken it was just awesome. I cut this down to 1 cup and after the reduction I had 1/2 cup, just enough for the recipe I was making. I did use a bit less molasses based on some of the other reviews. This is so very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas December 23, 2008

Yes the molasses flavor is too dominantfor our taste. Next time I would start with one Tbsp. and go up with it as I tasted it. Molasses may be a wonderful and accepted flavor in much of the world but I don’t that is the case in the US. I’d also like a little more ginger added to it. Interesting and unique flavor that unfortunately tastes like a molasses sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim November 28, 2008

Easy and handy. I made one third the recipe and it worked out great for the recipe I made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. May 28, 2008

Delightfully yummy. I love this on bok choy and to flavor meats and I really try hard not to drink it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoolMonday May 15, 2005

This is really great! It's actually not quite as sweet as I'd expected (which is a good thing, really because I expected it to be rather sweet). I halved the recipe and used it in place of the sugar/soy sauce called for in Sharon123's Vegetarian Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice) [#44512] which was good. I had to add a bit more soy sauce than called for to get the proper flavor, but I think this is because I used blackstrap molasses which tends to be very strongly flavored. I still have about 3/4 cup left in the fridge and am looking forward to trying it in other dishes. Thank you for posting, Martha. Rest in peace.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie July 16, 2004
Ketjap Manis