Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Ketjap Manis Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Ketjap Manis

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2010

      I made 1/3 the recipe (1 cup) for my Asian cooking. Used in Nasi Goreng and enjoyed the sweet-salty taste. I will be storing in the fridge to use in Bourbon Chicken also. I love that I can "make" the condiments to keep on hand. Made in memory of Silent Cricket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      All I can say is WOW!!!! This is so yummy! I made it to use in a recipe I saw on TV yesterday and it's all I can do not to eat this straight with a spoon! I decreased the molasses (used 4T of fancy) and it's wonderful. I do a lot of asian inspired cooking and won't be without this wonderful condiment in my fridge from now on! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      Incredibly easy, and has a distinctive sweet-salty taste that should lend itself well to Bourbon Chicken #305109. It was a lot faster to make than all the stores I checked in vain! I plan to revisit this review after I have made Bourbon Chicken. Made for Asian Forum's Cooking with Sauces Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      A guest complained of the smell cooking this caused, I agreed that it smelled just about the furthest thing from appetizing you can get lol. I also used less then half the molasses amount called for and it still smelled strongly of it. I dared not taste this on its own but used it instead to make Bourbon Chicken, I've got the small amount I have left stored in the fridge still since it keeps for so long to use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I liked this just like the recipe was. But here in finland our molasses can be little milder, I´m not sure. This was better than store bought. Thank for you recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      We miss you SilentCricket and may you rest in peace. I made this delicious recipe to use in Bourbon Chicken it was just awesome. I cut this down to 1 cup and after the reduction I had 1/2 cup, just enough for the recipe I was making. I did use a bit less molasses based on some of the other reviews. This is so very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Yes the molasses flavor is too dominantfor our taste. Next time I would start with one Tbsp. and go up with it as I tasted it. Molasses may be a wonderful and accepted flavor in much of the world but I don’t that is the case in the US. I’d also like a little more ginger added to it. Interesting and unique flavor that unfortunately tastes like a molasses sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Easy and handy. I made one third the recipe and it worked out great for the recipe I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      Delightfully yummy. I love this on bok choy and to flavor meats and I really try hard not to drink it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      This is really great! It's actually not quite as sweet as I'd expected (which is a good thing, really because I expected it to be rather sweet). I halved the recipe and used it in place of the sugar/soy sauce called for in Sharon123's Vegetarian Nasi Goreng (Fried Rice) [#44512] which was good. I had to add a bit more soy sauce than called for to get the proper flavor, but I think this is because I used blackstrap molasses which tends to be very strongly flavored. I still have about 3/4 cup left in the fridge and am looking forward to trying it in other dishes. Thank you for posting, Martha. Rest in peace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      The best way I can describe this is as a not-so-sweet teriyaki sauce with a twist. The interesting thing about Silent Cricket's recipes is that it's difficult to identify the ingredients - her dishes blend together SO well. Like riffraff, I made half a recipe so I could make Silent Cricket's Peanut Sauce; but now I wish I had made more. I'm going to try this for marinating salmon, I'm thinking a mixed-seafood dish, too, like shrimp and scallops. I think it would work well in a veggie stir-fry, too (asparagus, snow peas, etc.?) Very different with a really unique taste. I truly loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I love the taste of this and will make it again. I have seen recipes calling for ketjap manis but didn't know what it was. Now I know! Yummy flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I felt the molasses was too dominate in this recipe but that means next time I will reduce the amount. However, I must explain that I have never tried ketjap manis before, so I had no reference for what the taste should be like. Nevertheless, it was quick and easy to make. I poured some of this over spare ribs and used the remaining ketjap manis as a dipping sauce. Next time I will actually marinate the sauce a few hours to see if the molasses flavor mellows at all. Very different and quite a welcomed treat from the ubiquitous and most often times boring "teriyaki" sauce. Cookgirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      This was great,I've never had this before.But I will make again.Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2004

      I cut this recipe in half and made it twice, once with treacle and once with dark molasses. The dark molasses works out really good and comes out fairly close to the real thing, I preferred the molasses to the treacle. I think I will just use this recipe in future and not buy the original. I do use ketjap manus quite a lot with my cooking and for marinades.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      I made this to use for Sate', Sate another by Silent Cricket. I cut it in half as I did not think I would be needing a large quantity. I was right although this will be an excellent addition to marinades.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Ketjap Manis

    Serving Size: 1 (889 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 446.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    43%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5418.7 mg
    225%
    Total Carbohydrate 105.6 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 72.2 g
    288%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites