Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kermakakku (Finnish Sour Cream Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kermakakku (Finnish Sour Cream Cake)

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on July 27, 2012

      Gosh, I must have done something really wrong because this cake came out quite damp and dense. It did raise well, though. I made it thinking it would go well with fresh strawberries. Sorry, ElaineAnn, but we didn't like it at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I love love love this recipe! I grew up with Finnish cooking and baking and this cake is perfect exactly as written! I have made this twice now, the first time was for an international potluck, everyone loved it, second time was for a scandinavian choir, and again, everyone loved it! I wouldnt change a thing! thank you ElaineAnn for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Made as directed and I got a fantastically gorgeous cake that is moist through and through. Thanks, ElaineAnn! Made for Aussie Kiwi Recipe Swap #46, November 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      What a wonderful cake. I made mine in mini cake pans, they turned out perfectly. What a great texture, crisp and tender and the flavor was incredible. I made the cakes exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Recommended by a friend and I am so glad that I listened. Into my keeper box this goes ElaineAnn. Thank you so much for sharing a new family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This is nothing short of perfectly delicious and it rose so high that I needed to trim off the top to have it sit on the plate. Very simple to make and it has a very mild flavor of the warm natured spices. I replaced the sugar with Splenda and used fat free sour cream. The best thing is that the sugar used to line the pan caramelizes so that the cake almost self frosts. It doesn't take a lot of sugar either I put 1.5 Tbsp in the pan and after shaking it around the pan to cover I was still able to remove some that wasn't used up. It's a smash hit here. Everyone (including DH who "hates" sour cream fell in love with it!). Thank you buddy for a real keeper :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I made this yummy cake to bring to bingo for my friends to try. They loved it and complimented me on it. The cake was moist and I really loved the cardamom and cinnamon mixture! This cake is so delicious, you have got to try it! I must confess that I did add pecans in with the cake mix. I frosted the cake with a cream cheese frosting and then decorated with pecans also. This is one recipe I will be making again and again in the future... Thanks for sharing it with us ElaineAnn!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kermakakku (Finnish Sour Cream Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 634.3
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    18%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 76.4 mg
    25%
    Sodium 370.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 52.0 g
    208%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites