10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i ran across this pie at some food/taste show back in mid 90's and knew that my dreams had come true. this pie rates really high on my list. my occupation is a Chef and i would say everyone needs to check out this recipe!! glad to see it posted on the internet.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen ryan June 22, 2002

What a simple, luscious, sweet, pie! I'd have to say it is a chocolate chip pecan pie because you have pecans on top, chocolate chips in the middle, and that lovely pecan pie filling on the bottom. My 5 yr old had two pieces of pie last night and said, "My favorite part is the chocolate and the bottom but I like the nuts too." I didn't take the time to use a homemade pie crust but imagine the pie would be even better had I not used a store bought crust. You can bet I'll be making this pie again!!!!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn June 02, 2002

Made this into a slice instead of a pie. Worked well, delicious. Definite keeper. Great taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie August 25, 2002

Today I took this pie to a local spaghetti dinner and I was "mobbed" for the recipe before I could sit down! My oven is predictable and I find the time should be 40 minutes, not more. Also, I used two store bought 8 inch shells; this recipe makes enough filling for both. Do not pre bake the crust. I do believe the recipe could only improve if I had made the crust myself! The pie is better served room temperature with chilled whip cream .

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judy 1020 April 26, 2003

I was born and raised in KY and needed a slice of home. This is a KY classic. A glass of milk is a must with this sweet sweet sweet pie! 5 stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punky Julster April 25, 2011

I have made this pie for every event since i got the recipe. Everyone absolutely loves it! The first time I made it, I actually saw a grown man lick the tin (after a few mint juleps).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzyshark January 15, 2004

It was a easy to make.It's like a pecan pie just sweet from the chocolate.I not much on chocolate but my kids liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle in TN August 17, 2003

This was great! I used 1/2 light Karo syrup, and 1/2 dark Karo syrup since it didn't specify. Next time, I may try all light syrup. Also, I sprinkled the chocolate chips on the bottom of the pie crust instead of mixing them in the batter so they would stay put. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma May 03, 2008

As a Kentuckian, I can certainly vouch for the authentic flavor of this pie. Your friends will think you worked over a hot oven for hours. This ones a definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHomeTechnician February 02, 2008

Served this to dinner guests for dessert. I was not disappointed. I think I used slightly more chocolate chips and slightly fewer pecans. I was worried when I first cut it as it seemed a little soft, but then the remainder held its shape and was absolutely wonderful! I will definitely make this again...it takes no time at all to prepare, but looks like you went to great lengths...my favorite kind of recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DogAndCatDoc October 19, 2006
Kentucky Pie