Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kentucky Fried Chicken Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kentucky Fried Chicken Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2001

      Excellent recipe!!! After the chicken was done I used the leftover mix to make gravy.Chicken and gravy tasted awesome.My hubby was impressed.lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2002

      I had high hopes for this recipe. I am the owner over over 100 cookbooks and subscribe to 3 cooking magazines. When instructions call for "bake in foil", I wrap the item in foil. The chicken came out a steamy, soggy mess. I should've known better. Before anyone else makes the same mistake, bake in a foil, metal or glass pan, uncovered for 45 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      Brilliant,My sons devoured them very very quickly!HAve made a batch of the mix and kept it in the fridge as I,ll be making these often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      It wasn't as tasty as I'd expected it to be. However, if you reduce the flour by half (or double the spices) and added more spices, such as parsley flakes, rosemary or whatever you prefer, it could be improved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      I got called to work before the chicken was done. I returned home to find that every piece had been eaten. I was told the recipe was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      Very Good. I cut the spices in half and the flour in 1/4. I used two chicken breasts cut into strips and I still had alot left over. I also tried the spice mix minus the flour over popcorn. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2001

      Excellant!! I added some hot chili powder to it, with great results!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      I agree with everyone else, this is a great way to season chicken. I am also going to keep the extra for pork chops!! I did reduce the amount of flour and I added some seasoned bread crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      6 tsp/parts salt (2 TBS) 6 tsp/parts pepper 8 tsp/parts paprika 1 tsp/parts garlic (salt) 3 tsp/parts mustard 3 tsp/parts french thyme 3 tsp/parts sweet basil 1 tsp/parts oregano 1 tsp/parts jamaican ginger 32 tsp/parts total spice 96 tsp/parts total flour thats a 1/3 ratio of spice to flour.. for those of you that would like to make a bulk spice and add to flour later..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      fried chicken is about my favorite meat, besides fillet mignon. This was as good as the Kentucky fried, less greasy and no left overs! I made it for company, using 2 whole skinless chicken breast split. Thanks alot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Very good on oven baked chicken. I made a mix without the flour so it can be stored and used as needed, adding it to flour later. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I am so glad I cut the salt in half. I used one tablespoon, and it was salty enough. I didn't have any sweet basil, so I used a tsp of rosemary instead. I also ground the thyme, oregano, and rosemary in a spice mill. I used dried ground ginger, since it wasn't specified to be dried or fresh. I skimped a bit on the flour, so maybe 1 and 1/2 cups. I also added some sour cream to the eggs, to try to thicken it up a bit. I thought it was pretty ok tasting. I don't think it ever met KFC before though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      We tried this recipe. We didn't use sweet basil. We thought this was too salty and didn't taste like KFC at all. We did double bread it so that may have made the seasonings too over powering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      No, this wasn't EXACTLY like KFC but we've tried a lot of the clones & this by far is our favorite. I chose this one tonight because it doesn't require MSG, pre-packaged spice mixes or dry soup mixes. We fried bite-sized pieces of chicken in canola oil, in the deep fryer for 3 minutes each batch, & they were perfectly cooked. Not soggy or greasy. We loved the ginger in this recipe. I also made dipping sauces to use with the two flavors of chicken but the chicken coated in this recipe needed no sauce at all. Thanks for sharing, Kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      This Recipe tastes great! Just like KFC! I crave it all the time now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This chicken would have gotten five stars, had it tasted exactly like Kentucky Fried Chicken (as the name implies). However, I cannot say that I was disappointed because, although it wasn't the real thing, this chicken fried and baked up quite beautifully. Nice golden brown color, perfect crispness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      This recipe was o.k. It didn't taste like Kentucky Fried Chicken. The chicken fried up very nice in color. Taste was a little bland. I will use it in the future with a little twinking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      Very good. My chicken turned out very well in the oven; it's always a problem to get it cooked to my doneness in the skillet without burning. This is also excellent on cube steak; "chicken fried steak". A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      This was a great recipe,I thought it as going to be a pain to fry and Bake,but it was no trouble at all,and the spices were just perfect. Thanks, Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      This was easy to make and had good flavor. I'm going to try it on chiken fingers and pork chops. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kentucky Fried Chicken Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 347.7
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    82%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4717.1 mg
    196%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.5 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French thyme

    jamaica ginger

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes