14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe...thanks Cyn!! This is VERY easy. I am not much for baking and it turned out great! One warning: The pie will not be set when cooking time is up, it needs to cool to set. Don't make the mistake of overcooking or thinking you can take it right out of the oven and serve! I allowed to cool over night and it set up perfectly. I did add 3/4 tsp. of vanilla. Took to a family reunion and got rave reviews!! Thanks again!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
metz1974 October 25, 2008

I made this for the Cake Walk at my kids' school Fall Festival. I made one for home, too. The only thing I did differently was I partially baked my crust first and covered the edges with foil for most of the bake time. It was great. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Punky Julster October 31, 2005

I must have done something wrong. I'm so disappointed because the little bit of this pie that I tasted was delicious. I baked this pie for at least 20 extra minutes and it still seemed really liquid-y. But after reading Chef #904794's review, I thought it was okay to take it out without being totally set and let it sit overnight. But it's still complete liquid inside. I'm so sad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub November 25, 2010

The pie was a hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. I left out the bourbon, but followed the rest of the recipe as written. Great combination of flavors! Thanks for sharing, Cyn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roggins November 28, 2009

i don't know about the reviewer who said it was "runny&UNedible" i don't think the amount of eggs had anything to do with it turning out runny..i suck hard at baking and this pie turned out perfect for me!! thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bugged out bird November 18, 2009

This recipe was unedible! The "runny" issue is more than likely there are too many eggs used in the recipe. I have never been so disappointed by a Zaar recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maj2000 February 13, 2009

I had a Derby party for my Dinner Club and served this for dessert topped with ice cream. It was moist, sweet and rich. I had pr-baked the crust for 8 minutes and I also spread a thin layer of preserves on the bottom of the crust to keep it from bubbling. It gave the crust a lovely flavor. I also covered the edges of the crust with foil. Raves only Raves!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rockoutriva May 06, 2007

I might try this pie again with less bourbon. I added 3 tablespoons, and it seemed to be too much. The texture of my pie was a little runny, I think it might have been due to the bourbon, but I'm new to pie-making, so I'm not sure. Otherwise, a very sweet, tasty pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schwabina January 27, 2007

Wow, so simple & so good! I made it to take to a dinner party and it was loved by all. It took about 55 minutes here, maybe a higher elevation issue. Anyhow it was perfect in every way. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue July 29, 2006

Very sweet, very good, very sweet, very easy, very sweet, very rich and did I already say very sweet? Too easy for the end results to be this delicious! I did use walnuts and 3 Tbsp of Jim Beam bourbon. A great pie to serve aside of vanilla ice cream or a cold glass of milk. Great recipe; thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook February 06, 2006
Kentucky Chocolate Pecan Pie