82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been making this recipe from the KFC website for some time now. These biscuits have become my tried and true recipe. I make them using whole wheat flour, and they are still light and delicious. I've added savory ingredients, like garlic and rosemary, to go with soups or other dinners. They are great to make breakfast sandwhiches with, etc. Love them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugarmagnolia_fl February 03, 2008

my second post within 5 minutes.. i read thru some of the other comments and saw that many thought the salt was too much.. i agree.. it struck me as too much as i was mixing it... i used half, 3/4 tsp salt, and the result was fabulous... this recipe is simple. from ingredients to execution, the yield is an enjoyable biscuit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pitofbits January 31, 2008

I made the dough for a chicken pot pie and it turned out GREAT! I used butter flavored shortening. I doubled the recipe and saved some aside to make biscuits and gravy for breakfast. Lookin forward to it!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connor's Mom January 17, 2008

This was my first attempt at biscuits (other than with Bisquick), and I was so pleased. I used the recommendation of the previous reviewer and cut the salt back to 1 t, and it worked out well. I was surprised how quickly the shortening was incorporated just by using my hands. Next time it will be a double recipe for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammamia #2 December 20, 2007

Oh, these are VERY nice and easy traditional-tasting biscuits! I made a batch for creamed turkey over biscuits and they were just great. The next time I will double the recipe to get a total yield of 14-15 biscuits and I think I'll cut back on the salt just a tad to one teaspoon per batch. Other than that, my wife and I found this recipe to be perfect. Thanks so much for posting it! pat, the old bone man

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bone Man November 25, 2007

I made these last night to accompany the venison and wild boar sausage I made. Trying to give my city kids a bit of the country I guess. They LOVED them. I will say they are very simple to make also. I didn't do it exactly like the directions says to. I just kind of dumped everything in to the mixer and let it work while I did other things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deelisas November 13, 2007

I thought I had made a mistake, because lots of reviews said these were so good, and they would have been but they were so salty I couldnt even eat one. I thought it was a typo. But sure enought I followed the recipe exactally. Even my four year old say bah too salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcMom October 16, 2007

These are good! I have never made biscuits before so I was impressed. I was hoping they would be a tad more fluffy, but these were still great! I always have all of the ingredients on hand so i will be making them again! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Lumpy October 05, 2007

easy to throw together- baked up great- I made one batch as directed and the second I rolled flat- tossed on cinnamon and brown sugar and rolled cinn roll style and cut- YUMMY !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
staceyelee September 09, 2007

This is a GREAT recipe. I cut the salt to a teaspoon after reading all the comments and they turned out GREAT. You will never need another bisquit recipe. So light and fluffy. So quick and easy!! I doesn't get any better!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TEJx3 September 03, 2007
Kentucky Biscuits