Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kentucky Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kentucky Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2006

      i also used cookie cutters and they were kinda small so i got 24 delicious minibiscuits!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      These are the biscuits I have always eaten. They are very delicious! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      You've just replaced my tired old biscuit recipe!! I did they that they were a bit salty so next time I will cut it back to 1 tsp. Other than that they were perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      These were delicious! I also cut down on the salt and grated frozen butter into the mix instead of shortening because I find that makes them very puffy. I added some bacon that I had left over from breakfast that I chopped into little pieces along with some grated cheddar. I added about a quarter cup more milk and a touch more baking powder to make up for this and they cooked about 5 minutes longer. I buttered them and served alongside some Manhattan Clam Chowder and they were so goooood! Thanks for the great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      This biscuit had a nice flavor and the crunchy outside that I like. Reminded me of my Mom's biscuits. I served this with sausage gravy on top. I liked the easy preparation for the dough. It seemed a little quicker than the way I usually mix my biscuit dough. Thanks Ron&Joyce. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Great biscuit recipe! Crispy on the outside and flaky inside! Great jam crevasses! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      Very nice flavor. Will definitely make again. I also cut the salt amount at the suggestion of the other reviews. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Yeah baby! This is the one. the ingredients are basically similar to other recipes, but the gentler mixing by hand makes the difference I think. Yeah, your hand will get gloppy, but it's kind of fun to mush it up. Very light and fluffy inside, nice crispy outside, perfect texture and flavor. I was thinking of using butter flavored crisco, but I used plain instead and am happy with that choice. I also cut the salt to 1 tsp. I made 6 good size biscuits. OK, so maybe making perfect biscuits isn't the answer to life's larger dilemmas, but it makes a hell of an egg and cheese sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      These were very tender and had good flavor but I agree with an earlier review about the salt. They were very, very salty . next time I will cut the salt by more than half. Raised up really light and high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      This would have gotten 5 stars, but 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt is a bit much for only 1 1/2 cups of flour. We used the stated amount of salt the first time and the 9 biscuits were just too salty. The second time we used 1 tsp and they were still a bit salty. We think 1/2 tsp might be better (compare amounts of salt in other biscuit recipes). Otherwise, the biscuits were great! (I will ask if the 1 1/2 tsp of salt is a typo.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      I fixed these for my husband for breakfast this morning and he loved them! Nice and soft, just the way he likes it. I served these topped with butter, with scrambled eggs and veggie bacon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe. My daughter helped and used large cookie cutters instead of biscuit cutter and we had the greatest teddy bear, star and choo choo train biscuits! Tons of fun and yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      Very nice. Using lard gives you a flakier crust, I think. If you can eat lard, try it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      Very good biscuits. I have made these often :) Last time I was out of shortening and use butter in its place. Very good! Thanks for such a great recipe. Definately in my cookbook forever! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      This was a good biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      These biscuits were very tasty. I like how the bottom crisped up, but didn't dry out. They had a great texture too. The only thing that I adjusted was the salt. I thought my first batch was a bit salty, so I only added 1 tbsp. to the next batch. All in all- a great biscuit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2004

      These were great! Light and tender, but they didn't fall apart when I put butter on them. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      Yum....Loved it. Very easy, light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      These are great! Wonderful flavor. I made some for breakfast and served them with sausage gravy. Easy to make too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kentucky Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    47%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 517.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites