83 Reviews

these were easy and the whole family loves these!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrettyMess September 30, 2008

I love this Biscuit recipe, but it far too much sodium. I will have to use this reipe with CAUTION!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef#530327 September 24, 2008

These were good. Finally I made a good biscuit. I did cut the salt to 1/2 tsp as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks so much for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann September 11, 2008

This is now my only biscut recipe! They turn out so fluffy! I have switched between using lard, and butter flavor crisco depending on my mood, lard makes them more fluffy and I think they turn out better with that, but either way they are fantastic! Thanks so much for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alhardin August 15, 2008

I have always felt, as a Kentuckian, that traditional biscuits should ALWAYS use buttermilk, don't settle for anything less, even if it's from Kentucky Fried Chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinezebell August 05, 2008

These biscuits were great. I wasn't paying too much attention when making them and added the shortening before adding the liquid. I also did not have any milk, which is odd, so I used cream. They turned out just fine. They didn't rise too well, but they were great nonetheless. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auvan July 14, 2008

I just made these biscuits for supper and I have to say it was the first time I've ever made biscuits from scratch that turned out this good! Even my husband enjoyed these and he doesn't usually like biscuits! They baked up high and they were very tender...unlike any other time I've made biscuits. They were simple to make and very tasty. This will be the biscuit recipe I use from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetie 91 June 17, 2008

I wish I'd read the other reviews prior to making these, as I'd have definitely cut back on the salt. Other than being a bit too salty for our tastes, they were terrific! Will definitely be making again! Thanks for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasey'sMom June 02, 2008

I've tried several biscuit recipes on this site and this is by far my favorite one. Other than useing soy milk I followed the recipe. The biscuits were light and had a really good flavor. Next time I will cut back on the salt, a bit salty for me. I'd probably reduce the salt to half. Definitely a keeper, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carryberry April 12, 2008

can you say WOW!? theese biscuits were wonderful and I can't emphasize that enough. I was addicted and eating them like chocolate chip cookies. These are my new dinner biscuits that I'll be making again and again! I think i'm going to go make some more :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse April 09, 2008
Kentucky Biscuits