Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kentucky Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kentucky Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2008

      This is now my only biscut recipe! They turn out so fluffy! I have switched between using lard, and butter flavor crisco depending on my mood, lard makes them more fluffy and I think they turn out better with that, but either way they are fantastic! Thanks so much for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      I have always felt, as a Kentuckian, that traditional biscuits should ALWAYS use buttermilk, don't settle for anything less, even if it's from Kentucky Fried Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      These biscuits were great. I wasn't paying too much attention when making them and added the shortening before adding the liquid. I also did not have any milk, which is odd, so I used cream. They turned out just fine. They didn't rise too well, but they were great nonetheless. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      I just made these biscuits for supper and I have to say it was the first time I've ever made biscuits from scratch that turned out this good! Even my husband enjoyed these and he doesn't usually like biscuits! They baked up high and they were very tender...unlike any other time I've made biscuits. They were simple to make and very tasty. This will be the biscuit recipe I use from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      I wish I'd read the other reviews prior to making these, as I'd have definitely cut back on the salt. Other than being a bit too salty for our tastes, they were terrific! Will definitely be making again! Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I've tried several biscuit recipes on this site and this is by far my favorite one. Other than useing soy milk I followed the recipe. The biscuits were light and had a really good flavor. Next time I will cut back on the salt, a bit salty for me. I'd probably reduce the salt to half. Definitely a keeper, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      can you say WOW!? theese biscuits were wonderful and I can't emphasize that enough. I was addicted and eating them like chocolate chip cookies. These are my new dinner biscuits that I'll be making again and again! I think i'm going to go make some more :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      Quick, easy and delicious! My DH loves KFC biscuits and he just raves about these. I am going to try two other variations: one is to add some shredded cheddar cheese and the other is to add some charred rosemary for herb biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I've been making this recipe from the KFC website for some time now. These biscuits have become my tried and true recipe. I make them using whole wheat flour, and they are still light and delicious. I've added savory ingredients, like garlic and rosemary, to go with soups or other dinners. They are great to make breakfast sandwhiches with, etc. Love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      my second post within 5 minutes.. i read thru some of the other comments and saw that many thought the salt was too much.. i agree.. it struck me as too much as i was mixing it... i used half, 3/4 tsp salt, and the result was fabulous... this recipe is simple. from ingredients to execution, the yield is an enjoyable biscuit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I made the dough for a chicken pot pie and it turned out GREAT! I used butter flavored shortening. I doubled the recipe and saved some aside to make biscuits and gravy for breakfast. Lookin forward to it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This was my first attempt at biscuits (other than with Bisquick), and I was so pleased. I used the recommendation of the previous reviewer and cut the salt back to 1 t, and it worked out well. I was surprised how quickly the shortening was incorporated just by using my hands. Next time it will be a double recipe for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Oh, these are VERY nice and easy traditional-tasting biscuits! I made a batch for creamed turkey over biscuits and they were just great. The next time I will double the recipe to get a total yield of 14-15 biscuits and I think I'll cut back on the salt just a tad to one teaspoon per batch. Other than that, my wife and I found this recipe to be perfect. Thanks so much for posting it! pat, the old bone man

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      I made these last night to accompany the venison and wild boar sausage I made. Trying to give my city kids a bit of the country I guess. They LOVED them. I will say they are very simple to make also. I didn't do it exactly like the directions says to. I just kind of dumped everything in to the mixer and let it work while I did other things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I thought I had made a mistake, because lots of reviews said these were so good, and they would have been but they were so salty I couldnt even eat one. I thought it was a typo. But sure enought I followed the recipe exactally. Even my four year old say bah too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      These are good! I have never made biscuits before so I was impressed. I was hoping they would be a tad more fluffy, but these were still great! I always have all of the ingredients on hand so i will be making them again! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      easy to throw together- baked up great- I made one batch as directed and the second I rolled flat- tossed on cinnamon and brown sugar and rolled cinn roll style and cut- YUMMY !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      This is a GREAT recipe. I cut the salt to a teaspoon after reading all the comments and they turned out GREAT. You will never need another bisquit recipe. So light and fluffy. So quick and easy!! I doesn't get any better!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      Since I have to rate the recipe as written, I can only give it 4 stars because the biscuits were WAY too salty. Seriously, I could hardly eat them and I followed the recipe exactly. My boyfriend even commented on the salt. I will definitely be reducing the salt to 1/2 teaspoon next time, but I will make them again because other than that they were perfect. They rose very high, were light & crumbly, and had a wonderful consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      I DID IT! Yippie! As I first started mixing this in the bowl it was really sticky and I thought, "Not again"! My poor biscuit skills almost got me, but when I turned everything onto the floured counter and started kneading, it came together almost magically! It really does make exactly 9 biscuits. Very fluffy but just a little salty. I'll cut back on the salt next time. There will finally be a next time!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kentucky Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    47%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 517.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes