82 Reviews

I didn't know biscuits could be so easy to make. I get best results using butter instead of shortening. I make this often. Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesCookingHatesDishwashing September 15, 2009

Excellent biscuits. Have to admit, I used a pastry cutter-I didn't want the mess on my hands. Very sticky dough, ended up adding at least 1/2 cup more flour on the board and got sticky hands anyway. It was worth it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea January 11, 2004

This is the best biscuit recipe I've ever made! They came out very light and fluffy and rose beautifully in the oven. Any biscuit recipe I usually try leaves me with flat biscuits. I really liked the method of mixing the milk and shortening in at the same time; it cut prep time and kept the shortening from melting as I cut it in. Next time I make these, I will use Splenda instead of sugar (we are diabetics). I will update my review for that change.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy - Ellie's Mommie January 10, 2004

Perfect recipe! I put the dry ingredients in the mixing bowl and swirl it around a little bit. I then add the shortening and milk to the dry ingredients. Mix with the dough hook until incorporated. Scrape down the bowl. It's going to be a little sticky. I put a 1/4 cup of flour on the counter for the dough. Flip the dough around and make a 1/2"-3/4" disk. With my 2" circle cutter I'm able to get 6 biscuits! Perfect for my family of four. Bake for 10 min and I turn it off. Leave the biscuits in there for an additional 2-4 minutes. Perfection!!! The kids love it with white country gravy or honey butter. Yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeny S. May 25, 2015

Just made biscuits and gravy using this recipe for the biscuits! They are delicious. I used butter instead of shortening. They came out great, not dry and nice flavor. Thank you for sharing Ron & Joyce! This is a keeper and will be making them again. :-)<br/><br/>Lisa

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinkladychef January 27, 2015

Very good but at 14 minutes still not very brown. May make again and brush with butter at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves To Cook but NOT clean up December 17, 2012

The texture was good and crumbly like I like but I would cut the salt next time as i felt they were a bit salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blacksky_ms January 17, 2011

Yum! Very east to make and they rose beautifully. Did taste a little bitter though. Maybe needed more sugar?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell January 16, 2011

These were good! Mine turned out thin though. But I had a schedule issue and had to let them sit before cooking - I am sure that is what caused it. I used only 1 tsp of salt after reading other peoples reviews.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccatheny November 02, 2009

easy!! easy!! easy!! This recipe is easy to handle, and makes up a great looking biscuit!! The reason that I can't give it 5 stars is because they are quite salty in my opinion. Next time I make them... and there WILL be a next time, I will skip the sugar and half the salt. I used butter flavored shortening... and yum, yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penny-Sue October 04, 2009
Kentucky Biscuits