Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kentucky Biscuits Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kentucky Biscuits

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2009

      I didn't know biscuits could be so easy to make. I get best results using butter instead of shortening. I make this often. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Excellent biscuits. Have to admit, I used a pastry cutter-I didn't want the mess on my hands. Very sticky dough, ended up adding at least 1/2 cup more flour on the board and got sticky hands anyway. It was worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This is the best biscuit recipe I've ever made! They came out very light and fluffy and rose beautifully in the oven. Any biscuit recipe I usually try leaves me with flat biscuits. I really liked the method of mixing the milk and shortening in at the same time; it cut prep time and kept the shortening from melting as I cut it in. Next time I make these, I will use Splenda instead of sugar (we are diabetics). I will update my review for that change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      Very good but at 14 minutes still not very brown. May make again and brush with butter at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      The texture was good and crumbly like I like but I would cut the salt next time as i felt they were a bit salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      Yum! Very east to make and they rose beautifully. Did taste a little bitter though. Maybe needed more sugar?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      These were good! Mine turned out thin though. But I had a schedule issue and had to let them sit before cooking - I am sure that is what caused it. I used only 1 tsp of salt after reading other peoples reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      easy!! easy!! easy!! This recipe is easy to handle, and makes up a great looking biscuit!! The reason that I can't give it 5 stars is because they are quite salty in my opinion. Next time I make them... and there WILL be a next time, I will skip the sugar and half the salt. I used butter flavored shortening... and yum, yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

    • on August 07, 2009

      Now, this is the definition of the kind of biscuit you pour peppered white gravy over. Good eatin'! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Great flavor! I really loved the test, however they were a bit too thin. They were perfect for crumbling up and pouring gravy over, but it would have been hard to cut them to put sausage or anything inside. I'm not sure what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Chose this recipe since I was running low on butter. I got more then 9 with a cutter, but they ended up a little small. Found they work just as well if you roll them into balls and flatten them a bit, and that way you get the 9 and they'll be bigger. Only complaint I have is that we found them to salty. They've got a great fluffy texture though. May or may not make them again. Good alternate when you're out of butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I loved this biscuit! Everytime I have made other recipes they turn out hard but these were not. They weren't very thick but I'm sure I must have done something a little wrong for them to be so thin. They have a wonderful flavor and worked great for biscuits and gravy on a Sunday morning. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Just made a batch of theses biscuits and while they were okay, I didn't find anything special about them. To me they just tasted like Bisquick biscuits. I was hoping for something lighter and fluffier. PS: as a lot of other people have said, the recipe calls for too much salt. You don't notice the salty taste if you make a sausage biscuits or dip them in gravy, but if you eat them with jam (or anything sweet) you really notice the overabundance of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Love! Love! Love! These are great! I will never buy biscuits from the store again . . . who would need to with a great recipe like this one?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Great recipe! I made these tonight-doubled the recipe and replaced 1/3 of the flour with Wheat Flour. Now, there is only one left...and its mine : ) This is by far the easiest biscuit recipe I have tried. I thought the order of the recipe was odd (not adding the wet last) but it turned out better than the old standard recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      these were easy and the whole family loves these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I love this Biscuit recipe, but it far too much sodium. I will have to use this reipe with CAUTION!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      These were good. Finally I made a good biscuit. I did cut the salt to 1/2 tsp as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kentucky Biscuits

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.7
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    47%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 517.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites