Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kentucky Apple Festival Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kentucky Apple Festival Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2001

      This is a yummy recipe! I added just a dash of flour to the apple mixture, to keep apple juices a little thicker. I also found the cooking temp to be a little too high. My crust was very dark brown after only about 15 minutes. I reduced the temp to about 350 and it cooked nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      This is the best apple pie I have ever made (and I have been baking apple pies for 25 years!). The crust is outstanding, absolutely delicious when made with real butter. Only change I made is that I used golden delicious apples, which I had, instead of the granny smith. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      I also added a bit of cloves and nutmeg to the apple mixture, just because I like those spices, and it tasted great. I also brushed egg over the top of the crust before I cooked it to give it an old-fashioned dark and shiny look. Tasted very yummy, especially with vanilla ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2002

      After making many creative apple pies my husband asked if I could make an old fashioned basic apple pie. This was the delicious recipe I used. The apples came out crisp and the pie was delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar as I mixed pears and apples into the pie since both fruits were falling off the tree. The crust came out well and was easy to make. Highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2002

      Delicious pie recipe. My ds and I had fun making this pie. The directions were excellent and easy for both of us to follow together, however I followed one of the other reviewers suggestions of lowering the oven temp. to 350 after 15 minutes--cooking the pie for a total of 60 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      loved this recipe... the reviews by others were helpful. I love lime, didn't have a fresh one or roses so I added about a teaspoon of lime ade concentrate. I knew by looking at this recipe I would like it so I made two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      This was a pretty "Incredulous" tasting pie. You might want to try it with some lemon zest and a light egg wash and sprinkel of sugar. I also added two table spoons roses lime juice. Scrumptious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This was an average pie. I really liked the idea of using wax paper for rolling and transferring the pastry - it worked perfectly! The pastry tasted good, as did the filling, although it was nothing outstanding. I did add 1 tbsp flour to the filling but it was still runny and the bottom layer of the pastry was soggy. I think the filling could be tastier and wonder if brown sugar instead of white would make a difference? Perhaps more cinnamon and nutmeg (I used freshly grated nutmeg) as well? As other reviewers suggested, I brushed the top pastry with beaten egg and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over top. I think this made for a nice top. I baked, covered in foil, at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, the uncovered at the same temperature for another 30 minutes. I might make this again, but will try some changes to make it better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe. I have a pie crust recipe I usually make, but this one intrigued me so I tried it. I was impressed because rolling it between the wax paper eliminated all of the flour mess normally left on my counter. Also this would be a good recipe for first time pie bakers as the dough lifts up with the paper. I had Gala apples on hand so that is what I used and it turned out very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Proof that simple is sometimes best! Ok, ok, so I'm not a crust person (an aversion I have about rolling food out on my counter...), but I needed a filling and this seemed simple enough and I had all the ingredients on hand! I made the first one for Thanksgiving (using frozen crust). Must have been good, I only got one slice of apple before I put the apples in the crust; hubby only got a sliver of the pie...kids ate the rest). This time--Christmas--I'm making 2 pies, so maybe hubby and I will get a piece! They are in the oven right now. I still used refrigerated crusts, but the apples taste as good as before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Beautiful pie. I added 2 TBS of tapioca instead of flour, to thicken. Works great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      I had never made an apple pie before and this was absolutely to die for! I won't say it was pretty but oh my... the taste was spot on and it was so, so easy! Thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      love this apple pie recipe I have used it many times and my kids love it. As I refuse to buy store made baked goods this is number 1 recipe very easy to make and good for our health.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      While the inside of the pie was delicious, the way to make this crust, following these directions-simply did not work for me. It was awful. I was even told by several people to use ice water when making the dough not boiling it etc, it didn't make sense and it did not turn out and I was disappointed. While it was edible, it look mutilated...ugh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      This was my very first time making a pie. I really love apple pies and was amazed that I could make a tastey one. The recipe was very simple and very delicious. I didn't need to add anything else, as recommended by others. Using wax paper was a good idea to roll the doe out and transferring to the pie plate. My family ate it up in just a couple of hours. I would definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      Best apple pie I have ever made. Only change was to add a couple of tablespoons of cornstarch to the apple mixture to thicken the sauce. I also brushed a good quantity of caramel sauce (ce cream topping) over the crust 1/2 way through baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      Wow, this has a great easy crust. It made a really nice high apple pie. I used the seven apples called for and my crust was about 3 inches above my pan. Perfect! It looked great when taken out of the oven. I served this with vanilla ice cream. Thanks so much for this great pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      This was the perfect simple apple pie! My fiance and I loved it! I added some cinnamon to the top of the pie crust before baking. I followed the temps suggested of 425 for 15 minutes and then only 45 minutes on 350 and it turned out perfectly. The only thing I noticed was the crust seemed a little dry when rolling it out. The next pie of made, I just added a bit more of water (1/2 cup total) to the crust recipe and it helped drastically. I liked the pie crust so much that I used it when I made a homemade pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      This was amazing!

      Seven apples seemed excessive to me, so I used 4 Fuji apples, which was more than enough, but I didn't adjust the sugar so it came out a little sweet. Based on the other comments about temp, I baked mine at 410 for the first 15 and 350 for the remaining 40, and my crust came out perfect. Boyfriend's assessment was that it's good enough to be sold for at least $18-20, high praise coming from a picky eater like him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I cannot believe how well this turned out for my first ever apple pie. I didn't have any wax paper so I rolled my dough on a cutting board for easy transfer into the pie dish. My neighbours and family loved it. I omitted the cinnamon completely because I don't care for it and reduced the sugar a bit since I used Red Delicious apples and it turned out fantastic. I have already made this twice and look forward to making it again, especially the crust! It is so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kentucky Apple Festival Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (321 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 576.4
     
    Calories from Fat 227
    39%
    Total Fat 25.2 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 34.7 mg
    11%
    Sodium 342.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.5 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 47.1 g
    188%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes