97 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a yummy recipe! I added just a dash of flour to the apple mixture, to keep apple juices a little thicker. I also found the cooking temp to be a little too high. My crust was very dark brown after only about 15 minutes. I reduced the temp to about 350 and it cooked nicely.

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Hayward October 15, 2001

This is the best apple pie I have ever made (and I have been baking apple pies for 25 years!). The crust is outstanding, absolutely delicious when made with real butter. Only change I made is that I used golden delicious apples, which I had, instead of the granny smith. Highly recommended.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Ludovici March 08, 2002

I also added a bit of cloves and nutmeg to the apple mixture, just because I like those spices, and it tasted great. I also brushed egg over the top of the crust before I cooked it to give it an old-fashioned dark and shiny look. Tasted very yummy, especially with vanilla ice cream.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Libby Sproat December 10, 2002

After making many creative apple pies my husband asked if I could make an old fashioned basic apple pie. This was the delicious recipe I used. The apples came out crisp and the pie was delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar as I mixed pears and apples into the pie since both fruits were falling off the tree. The crust came out well and was easy to make. Highly recommend.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain Gal October 17, 2002

Delicious pie recipe. My ds and I had fun making this pie. The directions were excellent and easy for both of us to follow together, however I followed one of the other reviewers suggestions of lowering the oven temp. to 350 after 15 minutes--cooking the pie for a total of 60 minutes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ October 14, 2002

loved this recipe... the reviews by others were helpful. I love lime, didn't have a fresh one or roses so I added about a teaspoon of lime ade concentrate. I knew by looking at this recipe I would like it so I made two!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki mullane August 12, 2002

This was a pretty "Incredulous" tasting pie. You might want to try it with some lemon zest and a light egg wash and sprinkel of sugar. I also added two table spoons roses lime juice. Scrumptious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stubbiesfur May 21, 2002

This was an average pie. I really liked the idea of using wax paper for rolling and transferring the pastry - it worked perfectly! The pastry tasted good, as did the filling, although it was nothing outstanding. I did add 1 tbsp flour to the filling but it was still runny and the bottom layer of the pastry was soggy. I think the filling could be tastier and wonder if brown sugar instead of white would make a difference? Perhaps more cinnamon and nutmeg (I used freshly grated nutmeg) as well? As other reviewers suggested, I brushed the top pastry with beaten egg and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over top. I think this made for a nice top. I baked, covered in foil, at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, the uncovered at the same temperature for another 30 minutes. I might make this again, but will try some changes to make it better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC January 10, 2011

This is an excellent recipe. I have a pie crust recipe I usually make, but this one intrigued me so I tried it. I was impressed because rolling it between the wax paper eliminated all of the flour mess normally left on my counter. Also this would be a good recipe for first time pie bakers as the dough lifts up with the paper. I had Gala apples on hand so that is what I used and it turned out very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy September 21, 2010

Proof that simple is sometimes best! Ok, ok, so I'm not a crust person (an aversion I have about rolling food out on my counter...), but I needed a filling and this seemed simple enough and I had all the ingredients on hand! I made the first one for Thanksgiving (using frozen crust). Must have been good, I only got one slice of apple before I put the apples in the crust; hubby only got a sliver of the pie...kids ate the rest). This time--Christmas--I'm making 2 pies, so maybe hubby and I will get a piece! They are in the oven right now. I still used refrigerated crusts, but the apples taste as good as before!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
randimiller December 25, 2013
Kentucky Apple Festival Apple Pie