98 Reviews

This is a yummy recipe! I added just a dash of flour to the apple mixture, to keep apple juices a little thicker. I also found the cooking temp to be a little too high. My crust was very dark brown after only about 15 minutes. I reduced the temp to about 350 and it cooked nicely.

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Sorrell October 15, 2001

This is the best apple pie I have ever made (and I have been baking apple pies for 25 years!). The crust is outstanding, absolutely delicious when made with real butter. Only change I made is that I used golden delicious apples, which I had, instead of the granny smith. Highly recommended.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Ludovici March 08, 2002

I also added a bit of cloves and nutmeg to the apple mixture, just because I like those spices, and it tasted great. I also brushed egg over the top of the crust before I cooked it to give it an old-fashioned dark and shiny look. Tasted very yummy, especially with vanilla ice cream.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Libby Sproat December 10, 2002

After making many creative apple pies my husband asked if I could make an old fashioned basic apple pie. This was the delicious recipe I used. The apples came out crisp and the pie was delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar as I mixed pears and apples into the pie since both fruits were falling off the tree. The crust came out well and was easy to make. Highly recommend.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain Gal October 17, 2002

Delicious pie recipe. My ds and I had fun making this pie. The directions were excellent and easy for both of us to follow together, however I followed one of the other reviewers suggestions of lowering the oven temp. to 350 after 15 minutes--cooking the pie for a total of 60 minutes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ October 14, 2002

loved this recipe... the reviews by others were helpful. I love lime, didn't have a fresh one or roses so I added about a teaspoon of lime ade concentrate. I knew by looking at this recipe I would like it so I made two!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki mullane August 12, 2002

This was a pretty "Incredulous" tasting pie. You might want to try it with some lemon zest and a light egg wash and sprinkel of sugar. I also added two table spoons roses lime juice. Scrumptious!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stubbiesfur May 21, 2002

This was an average pie. I really liked the idea of using wax paper for rolling and transferring the pastry - it worked perfectly! The pastry tasted good, as did the filling, although it was nothing outstanding. I did add 1 tbsp flour to the filling but it was still runny and the bottom layer of the pastry was soggy. I think the filling could be tastier and wonder if brown sugar instead of white would make a difference? Perhaps more cinnamon and nutmeg (I used freshly grated nutmeg) as well? As other reviewers suggested, I brushed the top pastry with beaten egg and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar over top. I think this made for a nice top. I baked, covered in foil, at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, the uncovered at the same temperature for another 30 minutes. I might make this again, but will try some changes to make it better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC January 10, 2011

This is an excellent recipe. I have a pie crust recipe I usually make, but this one intrigued me so I tried it. I was impressed because rolling it between the wax paper eliminated all of the flour mess normally left on my counter. Also this would be a good recipe for first time pie bakers as the dough lifts up with the paper. I had Gala apples on hand so that is what I used and it turned out very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy September 21, 2010

I picked this recipe because it had Kentucky in the title, lot of great home cooking happens here. Didn't disappoint. This recipe finally gets me over the hump, because now I'm no longer intimidated by the task of creating my own homemade pie crust. My 89 year old mother liked the finished product very much, as did I.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. September 05, 2015
Kentucky Apple Festival Apple Pie